We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Catania”
Review of Antiche Volte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antiche Volte
Ranked #20 of 329 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated (great ceiling). The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast was very good with great ceramics from the owner's shop (ask the staff where to find the shop). We had a rental car so the parking was extremely convenient. Only negative thing I can say is that the bed mattress was a bit on the hard side. We would surely recommed this B&B for couples visiting Catania.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

Officially opened in November 2010, Antiche Volte is a wonderful B&B offering four rooms with remarkable ceiling work. Its proximity to the historical center of Catania and the shopping street Via Etnea make it an ideal accommodation option. My partner and I stayed here for a total of four nights in two different rooms.

The first three days of our two-week vacation were spent exploring the region of Mt. Etna, which made Catania the perfect hub. Our journey then took us to the Aeolian Islands, Syracuse, the southeast to then return to Catania before heading home.

Both rooms were spacious and well equipped with large comfortable beds, air-conditioning, TV, Wi-Fi and a mini bar, and each room had a French window opening to a small balcony. The first room had a smaller bathroom with a shower; the second room had a larger bathroom with a whirlpool bathtub which was a real treat on our last evening in Sicily.

Breakfast was delicious and included freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, a nice selection of teas, toast and croissant-like pastries from the nearby bakery.

Staff are friendly, dedicated and speak English and French. Upon our arrival at Antiche Volte, staff member Katia went out of her way to help us retrieve our lost baggage.

Owner Matilde told me of future plans to expand and renovate further rooms on the second floor so as to accommodate more guests.

So if you’re looking for the perfect place to stay while in Catania, look no further –THIS is it! Antiche Volte has a lot to offer and comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Found this B&B the night before leaving, they were very quick to respond to my room request and flexible with our arrival time the next day. The B&B is new and everything is clean and comfortable. The bed is a true king and not two twin beds pushed together like most other places-I am quite picky about mattresses and I slept great in this bed! The balconies were a nice touch, we had a lovely lunch out there one day. We stayed in the suite and the jacuzzi was a nice addition, especially considering the weather was rainy and cold. The ceiling of the room was gorgeous, very unique we thought. All of the recommendations provided by the B&B were excellent and close-by. We found a fish restaurant and wine bar, both right around the corner, that we loved (we went to the wine bar multiple times). The staff was all very friendly and accommodating, helping us make dinner reservations, calling us a cab that took credit card, etc. Breakfast was good-croissants, coffee, toast, juice. Location is very close to the bus station (good for getting the bus to Taormina) and is about 10 minutes to the main street. Total walking time was about 20 minutes to the main square, but it was a very enjoyable walk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADeLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at Antiche Volte for 4 nights. It was a very pleasant surprise after spending a night at a dirty place in Rome. We took a taxi from the airport (25 euros). You won't see a sign of the B&B from the street, but we could find it by the address. There is a small elevator to take you up to the first floor. There is no traditional reception area (not a problem at all), there is a table with brochures and maps. Our room was quite spacious, everything was exactly like in the pictures (www.antichevolte.it). Newly refurbished, tastefully decorated, pleasant scent everywhere. The only things we missed were another chair in the room and maybe some glasses. The owners speak English. Via Umberto is a very busy street day and night, so there is considerable traffic noise if the French window is open, but it is ok when you close it. Since this is a new B&B, the breakfast room is not yet ready, we recieved breakfast vouchers and had breakfast in a bakery (called Bar) right below the B&B (a croissant of your choice and coffee). Free wifi was available. There is a supermarket nearby, as you walk towards the sea front. If you walk in the opposite direction, via Umberto leads to Park Bellini and via Etnea, the main shopping area, about 10 minutes on foot. We attended a conference at La Ciminiere, which was also 10-12 minutes walking. All in all, I think Antiche Volte was a very good choice for us, especially compared to what our colleagues and other conference participants were telling us about their small, dark, cramped rooms where they were staying. Highly recommended to everybody.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anglomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alessandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank DIEGOSANDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Centro Catania
5 Balconi
5 Balconi
#18 of 329 in Catania
263 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 329 in Catania
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Eh13 B&B
Eh13 B&B
#7 of 329 in Catania
205 reviews
Etna Suite
#3 of 329 in Catania
362 reviews
OttoMood Catania Centro
#2 of 329 in Catania
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Volte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Volte

Address: Via Umberto 265, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £62 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiche Volte 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antichevolte is located in the city center of Catania in Via Umberto n. 265. The palace of the early '900s, recently renovated with free private parking. B&B is tastefully furnished with carefully selected furniture, paying special attention to the details. The rooms have bathroom, balcony, LCD TV, internet, radio, all adorned with frescoed vaulted ceilings and originals floors. Among the rooms also has a suite with Jacuzzi and a room dedicated to the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Antiche Volte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Volte Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing