We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique style hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Romano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Romano House
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for a week including Easter weekend. Our 'standard' room was very comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional at all times whether on reception, in the restaurant, in the bar, or the room staff. The breakfast was consistently very good. The hotel is modern, stylish, and small enough to be welcoming and personal. It was immediately home from home.

Catania is a fascinating place and richly deserves it's world heritage status. The place has great charm, lots of accessible history, some brilliant restaurants ( we enjoyed eating at EAT Pizzeria, Il Mara, and Street Food - all round the corner from Romano House), has great people, feels very safe and of course has the gem of Etna as its back drop.

The location of Romano House meant we could explore the key parts of the city on foot and reach the transport hubs to go further afield.

When we wanted to travel further afield the main bus and railway station was a 10 minute walk away. I would recommend using 'Interbus' to travel to places like Taormina and Syracuse. The service was always on time, used comfortable air conditioned coaches and the ticket prices were great value. The bus stations in both places were located a short walk from the historical centre of Taormina and Ortygia (the old city of Syracuse), respectively.

We visited Etna and we strongly recommend taking or wearing warm clothing. The contrast in temperatures was great and when we visited it snowed. We visited with Geo Etna Explorer (leaflet in hotel reception). Fabio our guide was fun, knowledgeable, and very pleasant.

On day one to get to the hotel we used the local bus (AMT Alibus Number 457) to travel to Catania Central Railway Station. To find the ticket office turn right out of the arrivals building, the ticket kiosk is the last of three on the right, and a ticket costs one euro for a single fare. The journey takes about 20 minutes. The ticket is timed and you should remember to validate it by stamping it in the machine on the bus. There is an on the spot fine if you do not. Obviously, if you have too many suitcases or for whatever reason do not fancy walking for 10 minutes to the hotel from the railway station there are plenty of taxis at the airport. Going home the hotel arranged our taxi and we were charged 23 Euro.

The driving is 'interesting'. The rule appears to be there are no rules and the horn is used as the force field that protects and the laser that cuts a path through the traffic. The pedestrian is probably lowest in the food chain. In the older part of down there appear to be few traffic lights and even fewer controlled pedestrian crossing points. Pavements can be narrow and have cars parked on them. You should take care. We followed the lead of local pedestrians - to step out and the traffic did stop or at least slow down. We survived. Fascinating.

Of course no place is perfect and we are all different in terms of our holiday expectations. I personally feel you have to be accepting of culture, people and place particularly if you are a visitor for a matter of days. We visited to experience not to criticise.

Some other reviews have commented on the prostitutes plying their trade a short walk from the hotel. This is true. There are beggars and homeless in Catania. There are street vendors who will try to sell you stuff. There are groups of young unemployed men (mainly) just hanging about as you go around the city. There does seem to be poverty and inequality. Catania clearly has some social and economic issues which I have no doubt in time will be resolved. And if I think about it all the above can be found in my own country!!!

Others might say large parts of Catania seem frozen in decay while others will say this is part if the rich heritage that lines most streets, alleys and squares.

It is for the City, its people, regional and national government to resolve and improve the social and economic opportunities for its people and to invest in renovation and redevelopment as it sees fit.

All in all you should visit Sicily and visit |Catania. It is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outandabout22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    210
    74
    22
    8
See reviews for
44
265
31
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

In January of this year while visiting family in a small town nearby, I decided to spend 2 nights in Catania to have some "city" time! I booked this last minute while looking up hotels on limited wifi access available to me. I was happy I did!! Breakfast was wonderful, just enough choices! Hotel was clean, modern yet you still experienced old world charm since it is located in an old historical structure and centrally located near all . Bathroom did have a crack in the marble but some things when they are in old structures can't be perfect....but I would go back in a heartbeat...Staff was professional , helpful and always with a smile!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipessaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Romano House is a quiet hotel in the residential district of Catania, Sicily. Although it's not exactly in a prime location like the UNA hotel, most tourist attractions are within walking distance. We got to the Bellini Theatre in 5 minutes and other major attractions such as the Cathedral in no more than 10-15 minutes.

The room and bathroom are both modernly designed and if you like a quiet environment to sleep like us, a room facing the back will suit you well.

Service is fairly friendly (depending on which shift to be honest). Breakfast is included and served from 7 to 10 (but don't expect too much.). Wifi is also complimentary but we found it a little annoying that it requires re-connection way too often.

We asked the hotel to arrange for airport pickup for us. Though they didn't have their own shuttle service, they arranged a taxi driver to pick us up at Euro25 one way. Not cheap considering that the airport is not too far from the hotel but we didn't want any hassle lining up for taxis after a pretty long flight.

There's a small grocery store called Euro Spin within a 2 minute walk from the hotel in case you need water / milk/ snack.

Not a five-star experience but definitely a decent choice for a short stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the backyard instead of the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedonist420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore l, Direttore at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for the review, I'm very happy that You have appreciated our services and our Hotel for his proximity to downtown. I' m sorry for the transfer but I inform You that we don't have a shuttle service, for that reason we arranged a taxi driver to pick you up and 25 euro is the best price what you will find.
Best regards
Hotel Manager
Michele Liga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Romano House in Catania for a full week between Christmas and New Year's and we sure will be back.

First of all Catania even with it's Unesco world heritage status is still an underrated gem. Few cities in the world can compete with the stunning combination of sea and mountain (the snow-covered Etna) and so much historic architecture.

And the Hotel Romano House is part of that rich architectural heritage and the vital city Catania has become today. We think the owners did a terrific job in converting a historic building into a hotel. It's a very beautiful hotel and a very well-working and well-run one, too. Every time we returned to a our room during the stay it was with the same reaction: One of the most comfortable rooms we ever had and one of the most beautiful, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreasUndMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direttore l, Direttore at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Andreas,
we thank you for your poisitive review about your stay in our hotel.
We are glad that you have apprecciated our services and the architectural beauty of the hotel. We hope to see you again.
Best regards
Michele Liga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Luckily, we had one one of the finest bedrroms with an 18th century ceiling, curved, featuring the painting of a young girl with a small boy. With the contrast of modern and high quality furniture and fabrics, it was breath-taking. Perhaps the best bedroom I ever had in my life, Th rest of the hotel is top class : design, marble, gold, stone... Perfect.
The persons at the desk are helpful and discreet, the location is top, very close to historical center. The apartment building facing the hotel is ugly and we loved that : at Romano House, you have the luxury of an exceptional hotel but the fun and reality of sicilian life. Breakfast is perfect, ask for double expresso. You have to go to a nearby family restautant called "Il Mare", Via San Michele, 7. Take the menu at 20 €, a 15 € bottle of wine, have diner in the first room with view on the kitchen and enjoy the kitsh decoration, the kindness of the chief, the incredible food for the price. Romano House and Il Mare, the combination of two sicilian worlds, to make you very happy.
Alain Guiol and Letizia, from Paris

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guiol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's a small boutique and unique hotel. Front desk staff was super friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was good and there is a nice roof terrace.
With its "walking distance" to everything that counts in central Catania, we had a great stay !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was very good and the staff extremely helpful. Friendly manager! They kindly intervened when a taxi driver attempted to rip us off for the short drive from the airport. All of a sudden the meter was on 33euros! They later got us an honest cab driver for another destination. Very clean, quiet with a great breakfast - one of the very best on our trip. There is a good supermarket nearby. Central location!! Recommended with enthusiasm!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano House

Property: Hotel Romano House
Address: Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#8 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romano House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located in the heart of baroque Catania, is a harmonious cross between historical 17th century architecture and the most contemporary and exclusive design. Precious 17th century art rooms combined with the most sophisticated design. Charming suites and comfortable luxurious rooms, each with an ad hoc atmosphere and typology, catered to your wishes.House Bar and "Il Riccio Restaurant" is part of Romano House Luxury Hotel, a place where tradition meets innovation. A rich Sicilian, and in particular Catanian traditional "cuisine", reinterpreted and modernised with complete respect for territory inspired flavours.To complete the offer, guests can find many modern meeting spaces.WiFi internet access is free in all rooms and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Romano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romano House Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing