We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Romano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Romano House
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for night & had pleasant stay. Check in was fast & room was lovely. Good size, modern and spotlessly clean. Hotel is in great location, close to bars & restaurants and only 10min walk to train station. Breakfast was fine. Would recommend for short stay to Catania

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear traveler,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on tripadvisor.
We are flattered You liked our hotel, breakfast and location. We do our best in order to guarantee high standards of comfort and efficiency.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You'll always be welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace, luxury hotel (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy n° 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima n°20
Thak You for Your attention,
Yours sincerely,
Cristina, Public relation officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    215
    75
    23
    8
See reviews for
45
269
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good breakfast, nice room and close to things worth seeing but also close to less nice quarters. Reception gave good service and were very helpful!! But the hotel is what you may expect in this category, okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner Administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Solna,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad You have appreciated our hotel, brakfast and reception staff.
Our main priority is our guests' satisfaction. We work hard to ensure high standards of comfort and efficiency.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You'll Always be welcome at our hotels:
-Romano Palace, (5stars) in Viale Kennedy 28
-Romano House (4stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima 20.
Vänliga hälsningar
Cristina, public relation officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location is good, although at first it seems like a slummy neighborhood. Once you take your first walk, you realize it is very well located within a short walk from the old city center and main street. There are really nice little cafes, bars and small restaurants nearby.
Room was comfortable and bed very large. Bathroom was very good.
We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and the food was delicious and reasonable priced.
This hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Seidner,
Thank You very much for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on Tripadvisor.
We are glad You appreciated our hotel. It has been a pleasure to read that You liked the room, our strategical location and our restaurant.
We try to do our best in order to guarantee the highest standards of efficiency and comfort.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You'll always be Welcome at our hotels:
-Romano Palace (5 stars), in Viale Kennedy 28, in front of the sea,
-Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, Via Giovanni Di Prima 20.
Kind regards,
Cristina, public relation officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As others have said the streets immediately surrounding Romano House are rather seedy and unattractive. This does however, have the great advantage of allowing the hotel to provide many more parking options than most other Catania Hotels and, once you walk a few blocks the charms of old Catania are quickly revealed.

The hotel itself is beautifully designed. The tone is set the moment you walk through the front doors and walk to the reception area - everything is minimal, stylish and spacious. As the building was once a private home it does have a few quirks in terms of strange passageways and oddly located elevators, but the rooms (if ours was any example) are extremely large and comfortable. The bathrooms too are very stylish although there were a few poorly conceived design faults, such as providing a shower head that could only be held by hand or bizarrely difficult to find switches, which let the quality of the fit out down. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The sense of space and quiet were a real joy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on Tripadvisor.
As I can read, You have appreciated our rooms and staff. It's a pleasure to note that You liked the design that characterises our Hotel. We are glad of it.
Our main priority is the welfare of our guests. We strive to provide the the best possible service and experience. For this reason, we are happy You gave us Your observations and personal points of view. They allow us to improve our efforts and services.
I hope You will come back and be our Guest again!
You'll Always be welcome at our hotels:
-Romano Palace, (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy 28
-Romano House (4 stars) in VIa Giovanni Di Prima 20
Kind regards,
Cristina, Public relations officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Romano House in Catania for four nights. It's a very nice hotel, centrally located. Breakfasts are excellent, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, and everything is very clean.
The interior looks brand new, with a sleek, modern Italian design that's quite impressive.
On the minus side, however, the standard rooms are small, with enough space for just a little more than the very big double bed.
The modern Italian design has a few practical problems, though. The closet is built for basketball players. My wife couldn't reach the hangars, and I had to stand on tip toes to hang my clothes, and I'm not short.
The bathroom is so sleek and spare that there are only 2 hooks for the bath towels. Our workaround was to drape our hand towels over the phone and hairdryer in the bathroom.
But you're not going to spend that much time in the room, and the food is good and the atmosphere is pleasant.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaw34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank You for sharing Your personal opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are glad You appreciated our location, carefully chosen in the heart of Catania. Moreover, it's a pleasure to read that You also liked our breakfast and staff. Our guests's satisfaction is our main priority.
I regret that the room didn't satisfy Your expectations, but i invite You to come back and be our Guest again the next time You'll visit Catania, i'll personally offer You a bigger room with a special price.
Furthermore, i wanted to tell You that we appreciate very much Your observations and suggestions. Guests' opinions allow us to improve our efforts and services.
We do our best to provide high standards of quality and efficiency.
At Your disposal in a future visit,
Kind regards,
Cristina, public relation officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fantastic, most beautifully lit hotel. Very clean, great location and the staff is amazing. The breakfast was wonderful and the dinner was to die for! Great waiter who took his time and made some awesome recommendations.

The one small downside was that the guests/staff were a bit noisy in the morning with opening and shutting doors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Steven,
Thank You for sharing Your personal experience on tripadvisor. As I can read You have appreciated our hotel and our breakfasts and dinners. We are very happy about it.
I'm very sorry for the noise created by our staff, but I guarantee You that it should has been a single episode, because the whole staff cares very much about our guests' comfort and relax.
The next time You come to Catania please contact me, I'll personally organize Your stay.
You'll Always be welcome at our hotels:
Romano Palace (5 stars) and Romano House (4stars). The first one in front of the sea, in Viale Kennedy 28 and the second in the heart of Catania, in Via Giovanni Di Prima 20.
Kind regards,
Cristina, public relation officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#14 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano House

Property: Hotel Romano House
Address: Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#8 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romano House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located in the heart of baroque Catania, is a harmonious cross between historical 17th century architecture and the most contemporary and exclusive design. Precious 17th century art rooms combined with the most sophisticated design. Charming suites and comfortable luxurious rooms, each with an ad hoc atmosphere and typology, catered to your wishes.House Bar and "Il Riccio Restaurant" is part of Romano House Luxury Hotel, a place where tradition meets innovation. A rich Sicilian, and in particular Catanian traditional "cuisine", reinterpreted and modernised with complete respect for territory inspired flavours.To complete the offer, guests can find many modern meeting spaces.WiFi internet access is free in all rooms and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romano House Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing