We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Romano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Romano House
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked online and were lucky to have a big room. The hotel is a old house which has been renovated in a modern way. The room was elegant and clean, bathroom with marble. The employees (almost only young and good mannered girls) are very servicing and helpful. The breakfast is rich.
The hotel is in the center of Catania, at walking distance of many restaurants.
I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Proprietario at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Dreux,
Thank You very much for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
We are happy You have appreciated our hotel. As I read You found our rooms elegant and cleaned. We do our best in order to guarantee the highest standards of comfort and efficiency.
Our staff is grateful about what You wrote. Helping our guests is our first mission, always with a big smile and courteous manners.
Moreover we are glad that You liked our breakfast and our location. Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. It will be a pleasure for us to host You again at our hotels:
- Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima 20.
Thank You for the attention,
Cristina. Public relations officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We couldn't believe out luck as not everywhere we book online turns out this good. Absolutely no complaints. We had a HUGE room with a very comfortable bed - so comfortable we slept for 27 hours out of 48. Yes, we needed the sleep but this was a tired travellers delight. Delicious dinner in the restaurant first night. Jovial, professional staff and extremely helpful. Perfectly located for all the major sites - strolling distance. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby too for others nights. Excellent all round. We'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Cheryl,
It’s an enormous pleasure to read Your words. Thank You for appreciating us and having shared Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
We try to do our best in order to satisfy our guests. it’s our main priority. The whole staff is grateful for Your beautiful review.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You will always be welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family and I stayed there for 3 days and had a great time. The rooms were nice, big and sunny. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast fresh. A good variety of products were available. It is conveniently located close to the city centre, in walking distance of many restaurants, cafes and shops. The disadvantages were that it is on the borders of a not so 'bright' neighborhood and that there were few (minor) things that needed to be fixed in the room. For example, one of the curtains was a bit torn and the door of a small closet did not work well, making it hard to either open or close it. Also, it was a bit hard to find, even with a GPS. It is located in an area where many streets around it are closed for vehicles after 20.00 because of the restaurants and bars there. We didn't know and arrived there on Friday evening, around 19.45. There was traffic, many streets were already closed and many other were one-way streets so we couldn't find the place easily. In addition, the address was printed wrong in the booking confirmation. The name of the street is Via Giovanni di Prima, while what was printed was Via di Prima, which corresponded to a different location, close to Catania as well. After asking some people for help and trusting the postal code instead of the street name, we found it! Parking was easy to find around the hotel and it didn't cost much. (Sunday is free). To conclude, it was a very nice hotel with friendly people, sunny and convenient. A basic renovation would make it perfect and a few more information about the area and the address would make it a lot easier to find.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guest8604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear traveler,
Thank You very much for choosing us and having shared Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
We are happy You have appreciated our rooms, breakfast and staff. We try to do our best in order to guarantee the highest standards of efficiency and comfort. Our guest’s satisfaction is our top priority. For this reason I wanted to answer to Your observations:
-Thank You for telling us about the problem of the curtains, and the closet, we have taken measures about it. We work hard and steadily to provide efficient services.
- I’m really sorry for the wrong address given You in the booking confirmation. It should have been a clerical error or a mis-spell.
- We are aware of the problem of the shortage of light in the neighborhood, and we are trying to solve it as soon as possible.
We hope You will come back and be our Guest again, . You will always be welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Romano House is a very smart, modern hotel - but, perhaps, it tries to be TOO smart: for example, the remote cannot work well because of the totally unnecessary surrounds on the TV, which is set into the wall. (And the nice, sunny, conservatory-like foyer is, in fact, terribly hot!)

That said, the room was both both large and comfortable, with care taken in the details, such as the decorated ceiling. In-room wifi is free, too. Other positive aspects are the pleasant staff and good breakfast.

However, if you intend to stay here - and I would recommend that you do - try not to walk from the station. If you do, you pass what look like condemned buildings full of squatters, and the feeling is not one of safety - although there was no threatening behaviour. Instead, take a taxi from the station or, indeed, from the airport.

In fact, the hotel is right on the borderline between THAT area and the city proper, with its excellent nearby facilities like restaurants (try Streetfood) and cafes (Razamataz). Our problem was on the Saturday night (2.30 Sunday morning, to be exact), when revellers walked down the middle of the street outside our window towards the not-so-good area, shouting at each other. (It was not until the morning that we discovered that our window didn't shut properly...)

The hotel is within easy walking distance, too, of the main shopping street, Via Etnea, and not far from the main square, with its impressive cathedral and nearby fish market. In fact, there are quite a few worthwhile sights in Catania, although it's not a place you would expect to stay in for more than one or two nights.

Romano House? Go for it - but perhaps watch how you get there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacomb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner Administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Jacomb,
We are happy You have appreciated our hotel, breakfast and staff. Moreover thank You for sharing Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
Thank You for Your observation about the window, I'm sorry it didn't work well, but we have already solved the problem.
Moreover I wanted to tell You that we have verified the efficiency of the remote, and it works well. However, our staff is always present and available to satisfy all Your needs. Our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.
We hope You'll come back and be our guest again. You'll always be welcome at our hotels:
-Romano Palace luxury hotel (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy, 28
-Romano House, (4 stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima, 20
Thank You for Your attention,
Yours sincerely,
Cristina
Public Relations officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were not planning to stay in Catania but our flight to Florence got cancelled and we had no other choice. We found the Romano House on Trip Advisor and the reviews were very accurate. It is a terrific modern, boutique hotel in the middle of a very old city. It was extremely quiet and there was only one employee at check in. She was lovely and provided a room upgrade and recommended a terrific restaurant. They have a small fitness center, modern amenities and the rooms are a mixture of old and new. There is beautiful old molding on the ceilings and steel modern doors to the rooms. It was a pleasure to be "stuck" in such an interesting hotel. There is a gorgeous bar/lounge area and a nice, but small, breakfast included.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a noisy street. Ask for a room on a higher floor or away from the front of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Denise,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you appreciated our hotel. We try to do our best in order to guarantee comfort, relax and efficiency.
We hope You'll come back and be our guest again. You'll always be welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace, luxury hotel (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy n°28
- Romano House (4 stars), in Via Giovanni Di Prima n°20.
Yours sincerely,
Cristina, public relation officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for night & had pleasant stay. Check in was fast & room was lovely. Good size, modern and spotlessly clean. Hotel is in great location, close to bars & restaurants and only 10min walk to train station. Breakfast was fine. Would recommend for short stay to Catania

Stayed: June 2014
Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, owner and administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear traveler,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on tripadvisor.
We are flattered You liked our hotel, breakfast and location. We do our best in order to guarantee high standards of comfort and efficiency.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You'll always be welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace, luxury hotel (5 stars) in Viale Kennedy n° 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima n°20
Thak You for Your attention,
Yours sincerely,
Cristina, Public relation officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good breakfast, nice room and close to things worth seeing but also close to less nice quarters. Reception gave good service and were very helpful!! But the hotel is what you may expect in this category, okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner Administrator at Hotel Romano House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Solna,
Thank You for choosing us and sharing Your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad You have appreciated our hotel, brakfast and reception staff.
Our main priority is our guests' satisfaction. We work hard to ensure high standards of comfort and efficiency.
Please, feel free to come back whenever You want. You'll Always be welcome at our hotels:
-Romano Palace, (5stars) in Viale Kennedy 28
-Romano House (4stars) in Via Giovanni Di Prima 20.
Vänliga hälsningar
Cristina, public relation officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,786 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 49 in Catania
752 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano House

Address: Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#8 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romano House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located in the heart of baroque Catania, is a harmonious cross between historical 17th century architecture and the most contemporary and exclusive design. Precious 17th century art rooms combined with the most sophisticated design. Charming suites and comfortable luxurious rooms, each with an ad hoc atmosphere and typology, catered to your wishes.House Bar and "Il Riccio Restaurant" is part of Romano House Luxury Hotel, a place where tradition meets innovation. A rich Sicilian, and in particular Catanian traditional "cuisine", reinterpreted and modernised with complete respect for territory inspired flavours.To complete the offer, guests can find many modern meeting spaces.WiFi internet access is free in all rooms and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romano House Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing