We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Biscari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Biscari
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Overall, not terrible. I was impossible for us to find and driving in Catania is a nightmare so we dropped the rental off early and took a cab to the hotel. It's tucked away on a narrow side street in a central location. We had to walk up three flights with 2 weeks worth of luggage since there was no elevator but I guess that tends to happen in these cities. The staff was very pleasant but didn't speak English very well though I'm in their country so I try not to complain about that. Our room was spacious but we were apparently the only ones without a bathroom IN our room...we had to go down the hall. The bathroom smelled bad, the shower leaked and the toilet leaked and I almost cracked my skull after slipping on the water that leaked from the shower onto the ceramic tile. The door to our room wouldn't stay closed unless you locked it but that really wasn't a big deal since we tend to lock the door anyway. It has a beautiful sunny terrace where they serve breakfast or you can just lounge. It is connected to each on the rooms that face the inside courtyard by a narrow balcony. The only downside to this is every time someone walked to the terrace at night we could hear them laughing and talking as they passed our room. We stayed in Catania on a Friday and Saturday night so when we were trying to sleep we could hear very loud music from what I can only assume is a bar/nightclub close to the hotel. Breakfast was lacking a little...just toast and a few pastries with orange juice and coffee (though I have come to learn that this is apparently what Italian in genreal eat for breakfast, by our second day in Italy I was dying for bacon and eggs). I really is a good value overall. I wouldn't return to Catania, it's just to big and busy for me but if I had to I would probably stay there again just because of the unbeatable price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    73
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
70
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel Biscari is situated in the heart of Catania. Superb house, with an incredible view on Catania's roofs from the upper terrace, you'll enjoy your stay there. A pity that the furnitures have not been chosen more in harmony with these so charming old stones...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed one night in Hotel Biscari. It is tucked away on a small side street very close to the central square in Catania. The accomodation is on the second floor up a grand staircase and is centred around an interior courtyard. There is a bright terrace for breakfast. We had a private bathroom which was outside of our room, but was large and clean. Staff were friendly and room was large and clean - perfectly comfortbale and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandNBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great location, extremely friendly people at the reception and wonderful sunny terrace!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nice hotel managed by Oscar and Iliana, brother and sister who are really really sympathic and dynamic.
Nice view on top of the roof for the breakfast. Be aware that there is no lift to the hotel that begin on the second floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessia_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA U.S.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Biscari in Catania, and enjoyed everything about our stay! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very big. In the morning, the staff made a huge breakfast to order whenever we wanted it. There was a plant-filled terrace where we could eat breakfast or just hang out during the day. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main plaza and 10 minutes or less from markets, restaurants, and all sorts of attractions. Our 20 year old daughter stayed there by herself and they were so helpful that we stayed there when we came to Sicily. We had a great time at the Hotel Biscari!

Room Tip: There is one large, well appointed room you should ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljbayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Royal
#15 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#18 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Hotel Centrale Europa
#27 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biscari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biscari

Property: Hotel Biscari
Address: Via Anzalone 7 | ang V. Vitt. Emanuele, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Biscari 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Biscari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biscari Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing