We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bello!”
Review of Hotel Biscari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Biscari
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've stayed with my husband in this hotel for one night in the begining of April. So, this hotel is 3 minutes by foot from main Cathedral, it's a safe place, safe district. We came late in the evening, and it wasn't a problem for us to walk around u can do a little round trip in center for an hour and easily come back to the hotel. Staff. I've asked really million questions about everything; museums, streets, vulcano Etna, directions, etc, they know everything))) and always ready to help. Our room was one of the cheepest, I can't say that it was perfect, but just for sleeping - great (price - quality). And breakfast. That breakfast really is still staying behind my eyes: morning, terrace in flowers (maybe just in Aprile, but still), coffee and all that sweets, toasts, a bit of chese, and u see all that roofs and balcones of the near houses, town starts to wake up, magnificent. It's a worth-staying place. Also I saw by chance some other rooms (the doors were opened:) ), there're really nice rooms, but the price is a bit higher.

Olga and Dmitry

Room Tip: As i mentioned, our room was the cheepest, it was plain but just for good sleep and taking a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a very unique place with super friendly owners and staff. It's very secure place which was kinda important to me since I was alone. The area in general can be intimidating if you check in later at night like I did but during the day I found I was in a good location to walk everywhere I wanted to go. I read other reviews talking about tv not working blah blah blah, that didn't matter to me because I'm not going to waste time watching tv. The breakfast is awesome! The room I had was massive. Price was very good. If you want to see a video of the room I stayed in: http://youtu.be/zIpcHszccOs

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This must be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.
The only good thing about this hotel is its location.
Having read on trip. that view from the terrace was supposed to be amazing i was very
disappointed.
There must be a least 4 to 5 flights of stairs before you reach reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Really really lovely staff, helpfully and welcoming. Perfect location close to main square and airport bus stop near by. Rooms are big and light but the beds a bit lumpy . Above average breakfast with capuchino made on request . Would stay again as excellent value for money !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelcar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Overall, not terrible. I was impossible for us to find and driving in Catania is a nightmare so we dropped the rental off early and took a cab to the hotel. It's tucked away on a narrow side street in a central location. We had to walk up three flights with 2 weeks worth of luggage since there was no elevator but I guess that tends to happen in these cities. The staff was very pleasant but didn't speak English very well though I'm in their country so I try not to complain about that. Our room was spacious but we were apparently the only ones without a bathroom IN our room...we had to go down the hall. The bathroom smelled bad, the shower leaked and the toilet leaked and I almost cracked my skull after slipping on the water that leaked from the shower onto the ceramic tile. The door to our room wouldn't stay closed unless you locked it but that really wasn't a big deal since we tend to lock the door anyway. It has a beautiful sunny terrace where they serve breakfast or you can just lounge. It is connected to each on the rooms that face the inside courtyard by a narrow balcony. The only downside to this is every time someone walked to the terrace at night we could hear them laughing and talking as they passed our room. We stayed in Catania on a Friday and Saturday night so when we were trying to sleep we could hear very loud music from what I can only assume is a bar/nightclub close to the hotel. Breakfast was lacking a little...just toast and a few pastries with orange juice and coffee (though I have come to learn that this is apparently what Italian in genreal eat for breakfast, by our second day in Italy I was dying for bacon and eggs). I really is a good value overall. I wouldn't return to Catania, it's just to big and busy for me but if I had to I would probably stay there again just because of the unbeatable price

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel Biscari is situated in the heart of Catania. Superb house, with an incredible view on Catania's roofs from the upper terrace, you'll enjoy your stay there. A pity that the furnitures have not been chosen more in harmony with these so charming old stones...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenitoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed one night in Hotel Biscari. It is tucked away on a small side street very close to the central square in Catania. The accomodation is on the second floor up a grand staircase and is centred around an interior courtyard. There is a bright terrace for breakfast. We had a private bathroom which was outside of our room, but was large and clean. Staff were friendly and room was large and clean - perfectly comfortbale and good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandNBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
578 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Agathae
Hotel Agathae
#26 of 49 in Catania
110 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#29 of 49 in Catania
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#18 of 49 in Catania
436 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#30 of 49 in Catania
101 reviews
Art & Jazz Hotel
#8 of 49 in Catania
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biscari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biscari

Address: Via Anzalone 7 | ang V. Vitt. Emanuele, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Price Range: £36 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Biscari 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Biscari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biscari Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing