We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in center of historical district”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Biscari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Biscari
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value in center of historical district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

pros: 1. the room was huge! and easily accomodated 5 people. even the bathroom was huge.
2. the room had two balconies, one with a great view of cathedral
3. within in walking distance to many attractions
4. the staff was friendly and assisted with all our needs
5. the rooftop has amazing views
cons: 1. there are a lot of stairs and its a little confusing when you first get there
2. the matresses and linens need updated

We really enjoyed the city of Catania and staying at Hotel Biscari. Our room was clean the staff was cordial and very helpful in assisting us. The hotel dates back to the 1800s and one can imagine what it might have been like up on the rooftop, which was delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
74
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Because it was already dark and we had some trouble finding the entrance. Then we had to climb several flights with our bags. But we were met by a very friendly young woman who checked us in and it was all good from there. We had been looking for something near the Duomo and we couldn't have gotten much closer. Our room was quite large with a private bath. The young receptionist/owner? Recommended a nearby seafood restaurant which we loved. A word of caution to Americans though. Be careful with raw fish (which we love) when in other countries. The bacteria must be different and hard to handle for our American stomachs.

A simple breakfast was provided in either a small breakfast room or on one of several terraces. The young couple who run this hotel are friendly and anxious to please. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main street side with a balcony. You can see the Duomo from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingNana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is very good value hotel in the very center of Old city of Catania, so you can visit everything by foot. The rooms are big (our with small balcony). The breakfast is served on the terrace with the view of old town roofs.. Also perssonel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

we have selected Catania for it's central location in Sicily, which suited perfectly our intentions to see the island. We did not expect much either from the city or the hotel. And what a surprise!
Spacious , airy room with a balcony on the street side of the 18c building- clean, simple, could easily house a couple with a child.
Breakfast terrace with the view of the port where cruise ships are moored daily.
At night we would take our bottle of local wine, bread, cheese and grapes for our supper and clime up the stairs to the terrace to see a fantastic night scenes of the area.
Family run hotel's staff was more then helpful in all of our inquires and needs, and in the mornings coffee was great and unlimited ;)
All this went hand in hand with the most unexpected Catania, a wonderfully planned and executed baroque city, most intact. Utterly walkable, with it's streets, sloping gently to the port, the city has opened up as a total surprise, - travellers guides are not being overly kind to it.
Yes, there is a lot of vacancies in the commercial ground floors, and yes, the buildings would benefit tremendously from a clean-up, but if one looks beyond the superficial, one would find himself enjoying the unique atmosphere Catania offers to it's residents and guests.

Room Tip: keep in mind that this is an XVIII century building where very limited interior renovations took pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice and cozy hotel in center of Catania. Attentive personel, nice terrace for breakfast. A parking is small, but personel will help you to park your car into :) I think its good place to stay for low cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egidijusp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy/USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I travel often to Sicily and was extremely impressed with this hotel. Clean, central, wonderful rooms, beautiful terrace and professional management. Hotel Biscari is a gem - and I plan on staying there often in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have just come back from my holiday in Sicily, and it has been a pleasure staying in Hotel Biscari. From its central location just by the heart of the old town, to the warm and inviting family running the hotel, I can only hold the hotel in high regard. The price is very modest for rooms located in a rustic palace-style building, reminiscent of the Arab and Roman styles which are so prominent in the island. Our room was enormous, very clean and with two small balconies lending the room an al fresco dimension. The best part was the terrace where breakfast was served. Perched above the courtyard and overlooking most of the surrounding viewtops, it provides spectacular viewing of la citta vecchia. All in all, I can only thoroughly recommend this charming hotel, whose only fault is an average breakfast. Viva Hotel Biscari!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLADIATOR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#17 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biscari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biscari

Property: Hotel Biscari
Address: Via Anzalone 7 | ang V. Vitt. Emanuele, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Biscari 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Biscari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biscari Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing