We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Biscari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Biscari
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We bounced through Catania for a 2 night stay to visit Mt Etna during some spare time in an otherwise busy itinerary. The hotel reception and rooms are on the third level, and only has stair access, so if you have heavy bags, you will have earned a beer once you get to there. Secure gate access from the road level (unlocked by reception). Some close attractions close by, including Castello Ursino, Duomu di Catania (Cattedrale di Sant'Agata) food markets. Also great food nearby, recommend De Fiore (Via Coppola, 24), a family Sicilian restaurant, where we had a very nice lunch after our Etna tour.
We were a group of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers), and our quad room with double bed, 2 singles and ensuite was large, and suited our needs well. Breakfast offered a variety of cereals, pastries and meats, breads, coffee/tea and juice, all we needed.
Special mention of the taxi driver who somehow managed to get 4 adult sized people, 4 large bags and 4 backpacks in a Toyota Yaris to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    76
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
81
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Catania where we stayed at the Hotel Biscari in Via Anzalone Street. The hotel is situated close to the city center and easy walking distance to the shops and and sites.

The hotel is situated at the top of a three storey 800 year old building with lots of character. The room we had was very spacious and clean. The staff were excellent. They spoke good english and were extremely helpful. They made our stay very easy and enjoyable.

The breakfast was self service with adequate choice.

However be warned that to get to the hotel you have climb 50 steps and THERE IS NO LIFT SO IF STAIRS ARE A PROBLEM this hotel is not for you.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can catch the bus to the airport (457) You buy a 1 Euro ticket from the bar next to it. The buses run about every 20 mins or so.

This is the second time we went to Mount Etna and it is stunning. To go by bus it leaves the bus station outside the railway station at 815 am and comes back at 4.30 pm. There is only one bus a day at this time of year so be prepared and wrap up warm. There are places to eat at the bottom of the mountain and reasonably priced.

If you want a snacky meal when you get back there is a place called the Chicken Spot as you get off the bus in Catania. Try one of their wraps. For E4.50 it is amazing. They go all sorts of food including curries.

All in all we had a great break.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Catania for an overnight stay that extended to 3 nights. There is so much to see in this city, and what better base than Hotel Biscari. It is in the centre of the city, making everything in the city within walking distance. Each time we arrived back at the hotel we were greeted with friendly smiles. Because we visited in winter, we could not eat breakfast on the terrace, but managed a picnic lunch there on a sunny day. This little hotel is a hidden treasure, great price, huge room, perfect location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

pros: 1. the room was huge! and easily accomodated 5 people. even the bathroom was huge.
2. the room had two balconies, one with a great view of cathedral
3. within in walking distance to many attractions
4. the staff was friendly and assisted with all our needs
5. the rooftop has amazing views
cons: 1. there are a lot of stairs and its a little confusing when you first get there
2. the matresses and linens need updated

We really enjoyed the city of Catania and staying at Hotel Biscari. Our room was clean the staff was cordial and very helpful in assisting us. The hotel dates back to the 1800s and one can imagine what it might have been like up on the rooftop, which was delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Because it was already dark and we had some trouble finding the entrance. Then we had to climb several flights with our bags. But we were met by a very friendly young woman who checked us in and it was all good from there. We had been looking for something near the Duomo and we couldn't have gotten much closer. Our room was quite large with a private bath. The young receptionist/owner? Recommended a nearby seafood restaurant which we loved. A word of caution to Americans though. Be careful with raw fish (which we love) when in other countries. The bacteria must be different and hard to handle for our American stomachs.

A simple breakfast was provided in either a small breakfast room or on one of several terraces. The young couple who run this hotel are friendly and anxious to please. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main street side with a balcony. You can see the Duomo from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingNana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is very good value hotel in the very center of Old city of Catania, so you can visit everything by foot. The rooms are big (our with small balcony). The breakfast is served on the terrace with the view of old town roofs.. Also perssonel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we have selected Catania for it's central location in Sicily, which suited perfectly our intentions to see the island. We did not expect much either from the city or the hotel. And what a surprise!
Spacious , airy room with a balcony on the street side of the 18c building- clean, simple, could easily house a couple with a child.
Breakfast terrace with the view of the port where cruise ships are moored daily.
At night we would take our bottle of local wine, bread, cheese and grapes for our supper and clime up the stairs to the terrace to see a fantastic night scenes of the area.
Family run hotel's staff was more then helpful in all of our inquires and needs, and in the mornings coffee was great and unlimited ;)
All this went hand in hand with the most unexpected Catania, a wonderfully planned and executed baroque city, most intact. Utterly walkable, with it's streets, sloping gently to the port, the city has opened up as a total surprise, - travellers guides are not being overly kind to it.
Yes, there is a lot of vacancies in the commercial ground floors, and yes, the buildings would benefit tremendously from a clean-up, but if one looks beyond the superficial, one would find himself enjoying the unique atmosphere Catania offers to it's residents and guests.

Room Tip: keep in mind that this is an XVIII century building where very limited interior renovations took pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
537 reviews
Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Rigel Hotel
Rigel Hotel
#20 of 49 in Catania
129 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#26 of 49 in Catania
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
544 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#30 of 49 in Catania
98 reviews
Art & Jazz Hotel
#10 of 49 in Catania
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biscari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biscari

Property: Hotel Biscari
Address: Via Anzalone 7 | ang V. Vitt. Emanuele, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Biscari 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Biscari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Biscari Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing