We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best experience in Sicilia !”
Review of B&B Faro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catania
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Faro
Ranked #38 of 309 Catania B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our best experience in Sicilia !”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We travelled around the Amalfi Coast and South East Sicily mid-August, and we've been quite disappointed by the average comfort of the hotels, despite their high rates. The Faro B&B is certainly by far our best experience ! The apartment is in the heart of the city, one step from the Cathedral, the famous daily fish market and all monuments. Our bedroom was very spacious and nicely decorated. The owners are extremely nice and helpful, they both speak very good English and French.
We stayed two nights, as from Catania you can easily go to Taormina, to the Etna or other wonderful spots for the day.
One more thing : you should try the wine bar / restaurant just down the building !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
71
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the best B&B we've ever stayed at... Our host and hostess were delightful, the rooms were spacious and extremely well cared for, the breakfasts were excellent, and the location was perfect - right in the heart of town. While there was no Wifi (as another reviewer pointed out), there is a publicly accessible Mac desktop computer. The art work was also extraordinary - most of it created by the proprietors!

This one is a sure winner. I recommend it fully, and with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Suite 1 is the best available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is the best B&B we've ever been to. An extraordinary apartment beautifully furnished by Anna + Antonio who are both artists. Overwhelming breakfast with home made pies, freshly sliced fruit etc. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and make you feel at home. The location is also quite convenient, close to the city center but in a quiet street.
I can absolutely recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. Our room was huge, the shower was hot, out hosts were the loveliest people we met and brekky was heaven.

Unfortunately there was no wifi, but the wine bar in the square had it, so we just had to drink wine if we wanted to use wifi!

if you want to go Mt Etna I would definitely recommend the tour they promote. Alessandro, the guide is fabulous and there were only 4 of us on it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimellav63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This B&B captures the absolute spirit of how a B&B should be. Beautiful rooms with individual care to detail and to guest comfort. Owners who obviously care about their guests and view them as such, not as customers. Anna and Antonio were warm and helpful from the very first moment, helping us to park our car, get our bags in, find a place to eat, everything. They are both artists and the establishment is filled with beautiful things, generously shared with their guests. For the price we paid, 80 Euros, I still can't believe how nice it all was. Even taking care to illuminate the rooms with lamps and such instead of any kind of deadening wall or ceiling lighting.

Breakfast is a dream. Fresh fruit, good coffee, a huge selection of homemade sweets - pies, cookies, cakes - that are all excellent. It is also uniquely served around a communal table that allows you to interact with the other guests and the owners. They obviously truly enjoy running a B&B and making it a real community.

When we decided to stay one more night, they went out of their way to work out a solution even though they were nominally full. Above and beyond.

The location is really great, very central, yet tucked away a little. We were planning to use Catania more as a base of operations for a few days, but the location made us check it out a bit more than we planned. I have to say Catania is a beautiful city if you haven't been, and are thinking about whether or not to include it as a destination. It's lively, sophisticated, beautiful and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gjovik, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I would like to thank Anna and Antonio once again for a wonderful stay in their recidens (july 2012). This must be the best place to stay in Catania! A clean and large room (more like an apartment). A lovely breakfast in nice, relaxing surrondings of art and jazz. Not to forget all the green plants og the presence of Anna and Antonio making the good atmosphere. Perfect central location. Would love to stay here again.
Charlotte og Amund, Norway

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here and it felt like we were a house guest. We arrived late and were welcomed warmly, introduced to our clean and pleasant room. Anna and Antonio suggested where to eat and sent us off for the evening, which was easy given their central location. In the morning, a fantastic spread was laid out for breakfast and again it felt like we dropping in for breakfast with the family. We'd undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Crociferi B&B
Crociferi B&B
#27 of 309 in Catania
291 reviews
Gattopardo House
#22 of 309 in Catania
139 reviews
Habitat
#13 of 309 in Catania
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Doralice Catania
#33 of 309 in Catania
79 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B Stesicoro
B&B Stesicoro
#20 of 309 in Catania
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Faro

Property: B&B Faro
Address: Via San Michele 26, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Faro is located in the heart of Catania historical center, on the third floor of an 18th-century building.Once past our entrance gate, you will embark on a journey of the senses where music and contemporary art blend in perfect harmony within a charming residence. The spacious living room features numerous paintings, sculptures and design objects. Shapes and colors magically fill the entire environment. Guests will enjoy their stay in a place that offers a truly pleasurable experience. All bedrooms have their own separate entrance. Each one features a different decor characterized by warm colors and well-defined shapes.By finely blending contemporary art and design into this traditional space, the comforts of the present add to the allure of the past. All bedrooms are equipped with A/C and bathrooms with shower (hairdryers available in all rooms). At guests' disposal suite, triple and double rooms (also available for single guests).Breakfast is served in the dining room of the main Anna&Antonio apartment, a welcoming space with a view over the roofs and the dome of the cathedral. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Faro Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing