We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable views of Etna and hosts to remember:)”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool Pool and Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool
Pool and Villa
300 year old former winery
Gallery
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with bath and shower
Kitchen Area
Cook your own pizza
Godetevi un cocktail o due mentre ammirate la vista mozzafiato del Monte Etna
Forno per pizza e zona cocktail bar
Crocus beautiful walks from property
View of Mount Etna from Grounds
Etna In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
EwaMac
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unbeatable views of Etna and hosts to remember:)”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 10 great days in Villa Segreta; we were lucky that Maria & Jason (the owners) were on site as their hospitability and advice made our stay even more memorable. The whole family went a proverbial "extra mile" to make our stay enjoyable and stress-free. We will never forget the refreshing taste of cold Prosecco on those sunny afternoons (special thanks to Isaac:), the wonderful Sicilian dinner we have been invited to (Jason, the grilled prawns were to die for) and Maria's warm welcome and sense of humour:) It was great to become a part of their family and observe the life on the farm, seeing the pizza oven being built and sampling the final products:)
The villa is safe, comfortable and spacious; having meals was great fun as there are tables inside and outside; a kitchen was well equipped (utensils, spices etc.) so making meals for 5 people was very easy. If you find time to read, there is a good selection of English books in one of the bedrooms. We spent most of our time sightseeing or sunbathing around the pool, which provided a wonderful refuge during the recent heat wave in Sicily:) The location was fantastic; it is very close to Etna and a driving distance to Catania, Syracuse and Taormina. We followed Maria's advice and brought our own GPS as driving could be a bit difficult without it, although after 3 days we were getting familiar with the local shortcuts. A car is a must as there are a lot of things to discover in the area; the car hire was easily arranged at Catania airport. However, there are also some good restaurants within a very short walking distance from the villa e.g. "Pegaso" (pizzeria) and a more stylish yet reasonably-priced "Feudo Delizia" (beware - pizzas and calzones are HUGE). We would also recommend "The Eight Horses" in nearby Belpasso for their yummy bruschettas and pizzas. The local shops (e.g. ARD) have a good selection of fresh produce, wines, cheese etc.
It is a great house for people who are looking for a quiet and peaceful location with a touch of luxury (the pool and the views of Etna:); it is equally good for daily trips around the coast/across Sicily and relaxing days around the pool with a glass of wine and a book:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location; the pool; the owners' genuine hospitality
Liked least: We had no complaints or dislikes about the place
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leeBelfas...
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa with great Hosts”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We have just return from a lovely weeks stay at Villa Segreta. The villa is located approx two Miles from Belpasso and three from Nicosia, on the main road to Mount Etna. 40 Mins from Catania Airport. Sat Nav a must.
Although car hire is needed to get around this area. We feel that the villa is located in an ideal location to do this. The driving in Sicily is mad at times but if you ignore the horns and people up your back side and take your time. You should be fine.
I hired through Economy car hire who are the broker for Maggiore. They where great and we got a free upgrade to a new jeep.As long as no issues arise now that we are home. I would recommend them.
The villa is a beautiful extension to the family home and houses Two double rooms, kitchen/Living area (Sofa bed) and Bathroom.
There is a number of animals on site, all of which where great around my two baby daughters. There is also a horse who has been trained to be around children with special needs.
Maria, Jason and their family are fantastic and to be honest welcome you in to their very close and friendly home. A great privledge to be around.

Overall I would really recommend this Villa if you are planning to hire a car and dont have any issues with having animals on site. We hope to come back soon and thank you Maria and Jason for all you did for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and family
Liked least: Driving
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hkxpat196...
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, premium prices with cheapish undertones”
Reviewed 21 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We hired over Christmas and received a warm welcome from the owners who were helpful throughout. The setting was excellent...fine views of Etna on a clear day. The cottage was itself small with just enough room for a family of 4 to survive a week. Shoddy details of the property suggested minor nuisances.

As prices are significantly increased over the Christmas period we were prepared for the price hike. What we weren't prepared for was a limited supply of wood for the fire, enough for 3 days probably....then extra payment for anything initially supplied. We were also limited to 2 bottles of gas to heat the cottage, this was obviously not enough to heat it for one week over the winter so we had to purchase more.

All so unnecessary...I don't want to call round requesting more gas/wood and how much? Include it in the price and for the price we paid I'm sure it was just a mosquito bite. So for the sake of not being mean-spirited...make your rental all inclusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, swimming pool and the pets (for children)
Liked least: Hidden added extras
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2012
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed that you were required to pay for the extra gas and wood, above the amount we supplied complimentarily. This information was clearly listed on the website before you agreed to your booking. Clearly paying an extra €22 Euro's at the end of your holiday has marred your experience. In fact judging from other reviews by guests your experience is unusual. All guests are provided (included in the price) £44 worth of gas (about 62 Kg) and a large basket of logs. Additionally as this booking was for over 7 days we supplied an additional £22 worth of gas free of charge(£66 worth of gas). We make no mark up on the gas, it is supplied at cost.

At a cost per person for a family of four over a peak Christmas period of under £25 per night with nearly £100 of complementary extras included, Villa Segreta is highly competitive. It is not our aim to appear cheap by asking guests in a self catering accomodation to pay for extras they choose to use. We provide a guide in the accomodation explaining how best to use the heating system for maximum efficiency.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aalborg
Reviewed 23 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A little hard to find at first...
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;