We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely Villa in a beautiful setting”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
31 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Villa 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 6 Pets not allowed Save
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool
Pool and Villa
Cook your own pizza
Gallery
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with bath and shower
300 year old former winery
View of Mount Etna from Grounds
Kitchen Area
Crocus beautiful walks from property
Etna In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Please come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josie_Jo...
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
Not quite as we expected

I had high hopes for this Villa after positive communication with the owners. Although I would still reccomend it as the location is amazing for exploring Mt. Etna, I have a couple of comments. Unfortunately the owners did not let us know that they would not be on site during our stay (even when we rang their mobile prior to arrival to confirm directions). We had a very friendly and helpful caretaker but given the reviews talking about the pizza oven etc, none of these were availble to us so I am guessing had we been there in peak season our experience would have been somewhat different. Also, I sent an email givng some feedback to the owners after departure which I allowed plenty of time for a reply (3 months) and received nothing. I have paraphrased the content below:

"Unfortunately, there were a couple of minor issues where I felt that the accommodation wasn't exactly as advertised. I was looking forward to doing a load of washing after weeks of hand washing but was told "there was a problem with the machine". Also, the lack of wifi which again I was told "there was a problem", meant we couldn't plan our travels for the week as well as we had hoped. As there was also no TV reception, we didn't even know what the weather for the next day was going to be. Had I been alerted to the lack of wifi and no washing machine (even in the days before) then I would have expected this hicccup and planned accordingly (ie gone to a laundromat before arrival). Also, you may not be aware but the oven doesn't work. We discovered this after preparing bruchetta that we couldn't grill. I know these all seem petty gripes but it really meant the difference between a great stay and a fabulous stay.

Unfortunately, I broke a wine glass the last day when I was washing up and although I dutifully paid the €3 fee to caretaker Ben on departure I was really miffed given the Villa did not live up to our expectations.

Again, I thank you for accommodating us but felt you should be aware of the above issues in case you were not. I would also like to add that our daughters loved your 3 dogs and had lots of fun with them. However, although the girls slept like logs, my husband and I were woken every night by the dogs incessant barking that went on for hours...not sure if this is common behavior but it again meant the difference between an average week and a great week."

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, close to Mt Etna
Liked least: Se review
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thanks very much for the lovely words. Sorry you couldn't get the oven to work. It seems that you had turned the automatic timer on the oven and this is why it wasn't working. The handbook for the oven was with all the other documentation and if you had mentioned this to Benson he would have sorted this for you. Washing machine has since been replaced, but Benson did offer for you to use another in another part of the Villa so I am sorry you did not take advantage of this
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the Pool
Liked least: Having no internet and the flies everywhere
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Welovesky...
Welwyn, Herts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
An unforgettable place
1
person found this review helpful

We were thrilled to have booked Villa Segreta for a week from a Tuesday (unusual we thought, but lucky we did) at the end Of July. We travelled by train and hired a car in Catania. We arrived hot and sticky and (despite this) were made very welcome by David who was looking after the place in lieu of Jason who was on holiday. The villa was all you could wish for really. Secluded, comfortable, in a quiet location and with Etna as a fascinating backdrop, though within easy reach of Catania, Taormina and a host of other places you're likely to want to visit. Sitting outside during the evening sipping wine was blissful, the pool was cooling and welcome. There were also two dogs and a cat who were friendly and characterful! There was also a BBQ which we didn't use. There's a pizzeria within walkiing distance which had a very "local" feel and served more than pizzas. We went twice; highly recommended. This is a unique place without the feel of a "holiday let" property. A car is a must (if you can cope with the "unique" driving style on Sicily), as is a visit to/up Etna. The heat during the day got to epic proportions, just plan your days accordingly. Also, if you can arrive by train in Catania all the better, the overnight sleeper from Rome gets put on the ferry for the 30 minute crossing to Messina..... All in all Villa segreta is highly recommended; come with an open mind, relax and enjoy.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and outside living
Liked least: Driving in Sicily!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: The heat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EwaMac
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
Unbeatable views of Etna and hosts to remember:)
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 10 great days in Villa Segreta; we were lucky that Maria & Jason (the owners) were on site as their hospitability and advice made our stay even more memorable. The whole family went a proverbial "extra mile" to make our stay enjoyable and stress-free. We will never forget the refreshing taste of cold Prosecco on those sunny afternoons (special thanks to Isaac:), the wonderful Sicilian dinner we have been invited to (Jason, the grilled prawns were to die for) and Maria's warm welcome and sense of humour:) It was great to become a part of their family and observe the life on the farm, seeing the pizza oven being built and sampling the final products:)
The villa is safe, comfortable and spacious; having meals was great fun as there are tables inside and outside; a kitchen was well equipped (utensils, spices etc.) so making meals for 5 people was very easy. If you find time to read, there is a good selection of English books in one of the bedrooms. We spent most of our time sightseeing or sunbathing around the pool, which provided a wonderful refuge during the recent heat wave in Sicily:) The location was fantastic; it is very close to Etna and a driving distance to Catania, Syracuse and Taormina. We followed Maria's advice and brought our own GPS as driving could be a bit difficult without it, although after 3 days we were getting familiar with the local shortcuts. A car is a must as there are a lot of things to discover in the area; the car hire was easily arranged at Catania airport. However, there are also some good restaurants within a very short walking distance from the villa e.g. "Pegaso" (pizzeria) and a more stylish yet reasonably-priced "Feudo Delizia" (beware - pizzas and calzones are HUGE). We would also recommend "The Eight Horses" in nearby Belpasso for their yummy bruschettas and pizzas. The local shops (e.g. ARD) have a good selection of fresh produce, wines, cheese etc.
It is a great house for people who are looking for a quiet and peaceful location with a touch of luxury (the pool and the views of Etna:); it is equally good for daily trips around the coast/across Sicily and relaxing days around the pool with a glass of wine and a book:)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views and location; the pool; the owners' genuine hospitality
Liked least: We had no complaints or dislikes about the place
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The villa and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.