We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect stay for our Sicily holiday”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Etna Townhouse

Living-room: comfortable leather sofas and plenty of light.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living-room: comfortable leather sofas and plenty of light.
Our paved garden from the rooftop terrace Our paved garden is large and entirely private
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
10 reviews
Living-room: comfortable leather sofas and plenty of light.
Our paved garden from the rooftop terrace
Our paved garden is large and entirely private
Living-room: dining area for up to 6 (extensible table)
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Attic TV room and rooftop terrace
On our rooftop terrace
A corner of our paved garden in the afternoon
A corner of our paved garden in the evening
Main bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen and fireplace
Overall: Etna Townhouse with garden
Our paved garden by night
Picnic area just outside of the village
Just a hint on local food - street selling during the honey festival (October)
A remarkable piece of local architecture
Lots of hidden treasures inside local churches for you to discover
Catania's sandy beach La Playa is 20 km south of our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BritaSing...
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect stay for our Sicily holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a super house. Perfect for holiday with kids. The town is friendly and cozy, with a lot of restaurants, coffee places and others. The house is really nice with a big private patio, and lot of space indoors. It is very well equipped. There is a lot of things to do in the immediate area, such as walks and adventurous tree climbing on mount Ross. We will recommend this house to anyone going to Sicily!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Indeed one of the main amenities in the immediate surroundings is "Monti Rossi-Etna Adventure Park": that is the correct entry you have to search on the Internet and also here on Tripadvisor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bins617
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sicilian Splendor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we booked this town house in Nicolosi in April 2013, everything was arranged perfectly by Luca, despite many changes to dates and itinerary by me. We arrived at the house late in the evening following a late flight and a mess-up by the car hire company we had booked, but Luca was there to greet us with a welcoming smile.
The house has everything that myself, my husband and our 2 friends could need, plus more. The large kitchen, even larger lounge, bathroom, 2 toilets & 2 bedrooms were all immaculate, as were towels, bedding etc. There is even an extra room on the top floor to use as a bedroom/playroom/tv room, plus a veranda. The private walled garden is equipped with clean, comfortable furniture in sun or shade to suit your individual preferences and fresh flowers & plants grow in abundance (eg figs).
The house is situated at the base of Mount Etna, just a few miles to the top of the volcano or to the bottom of the mountain where you can join the motor way for journeys north and south. We particularly enjoyed Catania, about 30 minutes south, and Taormina which is 45 minutes north, but there are lots of other places there well worth visiting. Nicolosi is a beautiful village and the locals are very friendly & helpful, despite our failure to speak Italian.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The whole experience.
Liked least: Italian drivers.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notesguru...
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, well equipped and spacious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, a big thank you to Luca for his warm welcome and advice when we arrived, he really put us at ease. The Etna townhouse is a beautiful place to stay, much larger than the pictures make you believe, the size is quite deceptive! All of the rooms are furnished to the highest quality and they are full of all of the necessities to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Outside in the private courtyard there is a table and chairs with overhanging bushes, fig trees and strawberry grapes and if you're there at the right time to pick the fruit, which we were, the figs were delicious!
The courtyard gets plenty of sun by the way, so you could easily spend a full day there sun bathing if you wish and it's secured and private too.
I wholeheartedly recommend this house to any family wishing to stay in Sicily. The location of Nicolosi, 700m above sea level means it isn't as hot and stuffy as Catania and it's not far from the main attractions and cities on the east coast either. Just book it, you won't be disappointed ;-)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the private courtyard
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoytValle...
Stockport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely house for an authentic Sicilian holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Etna Townhouse was a fantastic place to stay for our family holiday. It is a lovely old house on a quiet road, hidden away behind big gates. The house is spacious and cool with 3 lovely bedrooms; my daughter particularly liked the little apartment upstairs with a vine covered balcony. Parking is easy on the road a short way down from the property.
The courtyard garden is large and beautiful, the pictures do not do it justice, it was lovely to relax there under the wisteria.
Nicolosi is a bustling and friendly little town with all the shops you need for everyday and several busy and lively restaurants. There is a marvellous bakery and lovely ice cream parlour 5 minutes from the house. It is ideally situated for a trip up Etna which was a thrilling experience for us. Catania is about a 40 minute drive away and it is approximately 30 mins to join the autostrada but be warned, you need nerves of steel to drive in Sicily (if you are from the UK).
Luca was a fantastic host, he gave us helpful advice before we arrived, met us at the property and was available to help if we needed him.
I would definitely recommend the Etna Townhouse; It felt very special to stay in such a lovely house.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beautiful courtyard garden
Liked least: The giant wasps
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdmfandab
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This house has great living space, a good kitchen if you want to cook, indoor living space and best of all the courtyard that has both sunny areas and shaded areas, perfect for the outside living. The owner made us feel very welcome and made himself available if necessary. He gave us some good tips about where to go and what to look out for. Great selection of restaurants within walking distance.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Courtyard
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exaussi#
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Close to Etna, view from outside front gate. Picking figs in courtyard.
Liked least: Street rather than on site parking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2012
Just to say that our house is at Nicolosi on Mount Etna close to Catania, and not at Nicosia, which is inland Sicily. Our guests have made a little confusion about the name of the place, but all the rest they say is absolutely true ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laird913
Cheshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday to remember sitting in the beautiful courtyard under the bougainvillea and summer jamine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent place to stay and excellent host. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Luca is very attentative to your every needs. Trip up Etna was fascinating and enjoyed being able to view it in the distance from where we were staying. Would certainly recommend your lovely house and because most of the accommodation was on ground floor level it suited my 89 year old mother in law who travelled with us

Many thanks Luca

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: We loved sitting in the courtyard surrounded by the fruit and flowers
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing