We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Catania Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is definitely not a brand new hotel and probably not the best in Catania, but it's ok if you're thinking to spend one or two nights in Catania. They say wifi doesn't work on the room, but it worked in mine and I hadn't to pay the 10 euro charge. The room was quite wide and it was cleaned. The beds were confortable and shower worked very well. There is also a parking lot behind the hotel and it's free. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinaA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    368
    220
    72
    36
See reviews for
90
263
39
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We usually go to the Excelsior Grand Hotel since more than 10 years. It's a beautiful hotel and we like the location, the builfing, the rooms, the beds, all with good quality. But in these last years it seems missing quality, specially the rooms need gent maintainance , all the details inside the rooms keeped in the same state of 10 years ago, specially the carpet and also the wall paper looks very very old. Sometimes it is difficult also to reach somebody in the reception, you call but no answer.... If they don't maintain better we will choose for others hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The are rooms are big and clean.the staffs very friendly.Located close to zthe downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.The TV has also channels in german language.We had also room service and the service and food was excellent.

Room Tip: Take a room with Aetna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brione67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrhyndeudreath, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was surprised how nice it was for the money I payed. Staff were friendly and helpful. We wanted to go up mount etna and they arranged it all for us. The room was comfortable and the air con was great. The gym is only small has treadmill and cross trainer and a bike I think. The breakfast was really good! Had a big choice of things to eat and drink. The bar and restaurant is quite posh and only has a small menu didn't really fancy anything on it. Make sure you get a map from the reception and they will show you where to walk into town. we didn't do this and on the first night ended up walking into a horrible part of town. Only bad point was the wall paper in the bathroom was starting to peel slightly and the silicone around the bath was going black which didn't look to good but only minor thing. And the telly had one English Chanel called aljazeera which looped the news over and over. Our room didn't have a balcony which was a let down because there's nowhere else in the hotel to lye down in the sun. Overall given it a 5 because of the value for money and the great location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Before going to Catania I read a lot of reviews regarding this hotel and people created me a bad impression on it.
In spite of all reviews, my holiday was great!
The location of the hotel is on Corso Italia, a very nice boulevard with brand shops, vegetation and in front The Justice Palace.
The rooms are large, we had a balcony and the view to Mount Etna and the Justice Palace.
Breakfast was the same every day, but that wasn't uncomfortable for us because it was a wide range of choices.
Breakfast included bacon, cheese, tomatoes, a lot of cookies, croissants, tea, coffee, fresh juice etc.and you could also ask a waiter to bring you a free cappuccino, for example.
The staff, even if they didn't speak English well, we could understand each other and they were very helpful.
You could ask the staff to give you flyers with excursion offers to Taormina, Syracuse, Mount Etna etc.and the hotel was also making the reservation for you.
There were taxi drivers waiting for clients in front of the hotel.
In conclusion, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

the hotel location was great, very close to all the sites, neighboorhood seemed very safe. very nice and rich breakfast. we booked a room for 3 and the room was very big. i would definitely go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel; the service was very good, the staff courteous, the rooms clean and well decorated. In all a nice place to stay. Located close to the downtown area of town and the warf. Good for shopping and eating

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Catania Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Catania Excelsior

Property: Mercure Catania Excelsior
Address: Piazza Giovanni Verga 39, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Catania
#13 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#14 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Catania Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRESTIGIOUS FOUR-STAR HOTEL SITUATED IN THE CITY CENTRE. Welcome to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Catania, a prestigious four-star hotel in Sicily's beautiful second city which lies in the shadow of Mount Etna. Black volcanic rock and white limestone have given Catania its own striking visual aspect, which makes it an ideal tourist destination. Our hotel is also well-adapted to meet the needs of business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Catania Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Catania
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Mercure Catania Excelsior Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing