We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Catania Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faded”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Past its best. Very easy to get to using bus 457 from the airport.
Public transport very convenient and costs only 1 euro.
The carpets are threadbare and the 4 flags outside need replacing for a better image.
Breakfast very good except for the coffee which is poor.
Beware of the very expensive large Italian restaurant located in the next street towards NH Bellini.
The nearby Chinese restaurant is much better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower which is also quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RABLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Catania, in Excelsior Grand Hotel.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms, we have already chaged the 4 flags. Sorrry for the coffee, I will investigate.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    387
    226
    74
    38
See reviews for
94
274
39
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Clean and nice rooms, the location is not that central but still in walkable distance to the historic city center. Great breakfast. Service was alright. There were some problems with our room at first (there was sth broken and it was supposed to be fixed but we were accidentally still placed there), but we were directly put into another room after we went back to the reception to ask about it. From that side no complaints. We were a little disappointed that the personnel couldnt give much information in English though, also was not up to date about a bus connection we asked for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Sorry if some information wasnìt correct.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Excelsior Grand Hotel in Catania.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This centrally located hotel is ideal when visiting Catania. Situated close to most of the interesting sites and shopping area, made our stay hassle free as we walked around and discovered typical restaurants and cafeterias. The staff are extremely courteous and always willing to help. Rosa, Gianluca and Concetto at the front desk, Giusy and Fabio in the restaurant, they are always ready to help and assist you. Very good breakfast and good value for money. Will definitely return

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malena70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
We thank you, also, for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Catania.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
Our hotel is centrally located, ideal position to visit Catania. It is situated close to most of the interesting sites and shopping area, and made your stay hassle free as you can walked around and discovered typical restaurants and attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Overall nice hotel: clean and quiet rooms, breakfast could be a bit tastier and enriched by local products/recipes. Lobby is pleasant and clean but receptionists could be a bit more pleasant and interactive. It's conveniently located, about 5-10 minute walk from the commercial and/or historical center of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dionysisGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Sir, we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow .
We thank you for having chosen Excelsior Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Catania.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory, we are improving our breakfast with typical local products.
I
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more

Best regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

On approaching the hotel the immediate outside area is very shabby, complete with a homeless person sleeping on the floor…..
The staff were really great & welcoming we had booked to stay for 1 night in a superior deluxe double room - the door to the room was full of scratches , we entered and room was quiet spacious with a large bathroom and a wasted corridor space which was large between the bathroom and the bedroom. We were disappointed due to a few details , like the wall paper was peeling off in certain areas the furniture looked scoffed and the carpet was also worn out - also the bed was not very comfortable! Obviously it was not a room which has been recently renovated (319)- basically it needed a lot of care from housekeeping or its on their to do list….

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VallettaYozhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,
we received your comments and we thank you for your time dedicated to write your impressions on Grand Hotel Excelsior in catania, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations that caused also spoilt in you trip.
The cleanliness all over the hotel is our best focus.
During the breakfast service there a large choice of items and international blend of teas on self service or asking to the waiters.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible the renovation of the carpet is working progress.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best regards
G. Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This Hotel was a big disappointing, we had a reservation for 5 Nights buy we stayed only one. Needs a investment urgent... the rug have that typical smell of old, the showers have curtains that are too short..., the beds are small, old and too soft... The only positive comment is that the breakfast was real good. Prepare to pay for the Wi-Fi....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juantezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sir,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Catania
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations, the reservation was for three nights, but we understood your awkwardness, so you paied only one night.
we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
G. Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

Plovdiv
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excelsior Grand is situated in the expensive part of the city of Catania.The first glimpse of the hotel let me down as the flags over the entrance were torn and worn out,but that is the only thing that is the only thing that's not taken care of.Rooms are perfect,renovated.Free I-net in lobby fast.In the room-nowhere in Italy is free /9 euro/day/.
Breakfast is elegantly served in silver pots, with proseco for good morning and a machine making fresh orange juice.
I really had a good time.Our friends who chose hotel at the beach complained of mosquitoes.
Maybe they should check the AC in room 109.Now it was spring but in summer this might be a problem

Room Tip: the back side is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanesaPlovdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Mercure Catania Excelsior, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mrs Vanes,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us.
We thank you for having chosen Excelsior Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Catania
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. Hotel has a good postion to visit the town.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, maintanence dept, will check the room 109.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,652 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
701 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
530 reviews
Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in Catania
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Catania Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Catania Excelsior

Property: Mercure Catania Excelsior
Address: Piazza Giovanni Verga 39, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Catania
#13 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#14 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Catania Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRESTIGIOUS FOUR-STAR HOTEL SITUATED IN THE CITY CENTRE. Welcome to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Catania, a prestigious four-star hotel in Sicily's beautiful second city which lies in the shadow of Mount Etna. Black volcanic rock and white limestone have given Catania its own striking visual aspect, which makes it an ideal tourist destination. Our hotel is also well-adapted to meet the needs of business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Catania Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Catania
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Mercure Catania Excelsior Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing