We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fusion food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ciciulena

Ciciulena
Ranked #61 of 955 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$44
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Centro Catania
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fusion food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very friendly service but the food is so average. For me is over price and for the same price i can get better food. Not doubt the atmosphere is good and is newly renovated so it looks very high end but the food is no way compare to the price. We have citrus risotto with shrimp but there is no shrimp. The fish is hard. Fish soup become seafood soup. Not recommended

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniegmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    229
    80
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little more unusual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Safe to say this restaurant was unlike any other we ate in during our week in Catania, very high end, the meals were different to your usual Italian/ Sicilian 'traditional' tourist restaurants and you could tell everything was fresh and well put together, the waiting staff and chefs were excited about the dishes and it showed. We first tried to visit on a Saturday night, not having any idea it was necessary to book as we'd not been turned away from anywhere else all week, instead we booked for another night and when we did arrive had the pick of tables. As it was starting to rain we chose an indoor table and I'm glad we did as it was far more scenic, like being in a well kept garden with all the faux foliage inside.
Food was a little unusual, my fillet was wrapped in cheek and came with pureed potatoes and my partners pork was in a cheese 'fondue' but both dishes were well cooked and tasted good. I think this is the only place I've ever had a bottle of beer served in an ice bucket and a waiter pouring it for me, but it was good beer so who cares! As the portions here were smaller than any other place we ate we both had room for dessert. Tempted as I was by the 'special' aubergine mousse with rice and chocolate (!) I opted instead for a pineapple and ginger sorbet which was delicious (not quite as nice as gelato but not far off!)
Giving 4 rather than 5 as they didn't have my partner's first choice of dish, and the restaurant was a good bit more expensive than anywhere else we went and smaller portions, but if that's you're kind of thing then go for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caz5froggy1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went there on a Saturday night without making a reservation first (we didn't know) but we were served after waiting for a few minutes. The food was very nice and fresh and service was also great. We sit outdoors and next to the kitchen, so we could see everyone working passionately in there! It is an expensive restaurant, but we enjoyed our dinner there. We ordered meat dishes which were a bit overcooked for what we had asked, but still tasty. When the waiter asked us about the food, we mentioned this 'complaint' and he immediately went to the kitchen and told the chef. To sum it up, it is a good restaurant with nice food and friendly staff, and if you can afford paying a bit more than usual, you could visit it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guest8604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top Quality Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent little restaurant beside the hotel we were staying in. Luca and the other waiters could not have been more attentive. We had chicken stuffed with veg and meatballs in lemon for our mains and they were divine. Tiramasu and cheesecake deserts were delicious. I had a bottle of the local brown beer and although dear at 12e it was lovely. Your looking at approx 80-100e for two 3 course meals and a couple of drinks but it's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Seamus1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Sicilian classics with an original twist: Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Another fantastic meal (we had 10 or 11 meals during our short stay in Sicily and it's no exaggeration to say that every single one of them was fantastic!). This place is a 10-minute walk from the tourist traps around the Duomo. It's brilliantly modern, with lovely plants inside. The service is terrific, and the food even better. I can't remember what we ate (should have made a note), but it was genuinely brilliant. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megahose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciciulena also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Ciciulena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing