We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We visited the hotel with a tour. Located in a quiet street, it is about 15-20 minutes away by foot to the center (Duomo), - no restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is clean, modern, spacious enough, has one free internet site in the lobby, 2 small elevators. Staff very helpful and accomodating. Shower is in the tub, unfortunately. The breakfast is cvery good, - I enjoyed the orange juice maker.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    404
    96
    13
    7
See reviews for
181
289
40
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

First off, I did not stay at this hotel, although it seems well located, clean, and very welcoming. (I was staying in an apartment in Catania; I was there on business for a while.) But I did happen to meet the Manager, Santi, and found him cooperative and extraordinarily kind and helpful. On that basis alone, I would commend the hotel to travellers. (I did visit the hotel--hence my impression.)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxf0rdTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I travelled for work, but took my 2 small children and husband with me. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accomodating. The staff speak English to a high level. They even organized a taxi to collect us from the airport, with child seats in.

The room was spacious, even with a cot and extra single bed, and the bathroom large and clean. The location is good. The breakfast is very good, with lots of choice.
I would definitely stay there again next time I go to Catania.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandLucian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed here for a week and found it very comfortable and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Don't hire a car. We did and after arriving at night in the pouring rain had problems following the one way system and then had to pay 13 Euros a day for parking at the hotel. Public transport is very cheap, we paid 6 Euros each for a bus to Etna and 7 Euros each for a train to Taormina. Driving in Catania is not for the faint hearted. The Sicilians are very friendly people until they are behind the wheel! We had great cheap food everywhere we ate apart from Taormina which was very expensive but worth a visit. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was good and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. What a lovely hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Rooms are morden with all facilities. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast with lots of choice including a fresh juice maker. Could not ask for more. Girls, boys and Manger Mr.S.Vento were all so congenial and caring. Choose this hotle if you visit Catania.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentheteaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The room was really nice, breakfast was excellent!! the personal was really helpfull they charged me the GPS ´cos my rented car recharger was broken.
It´s really easy to go by walk toy the city center, 10-15 walking.
We will consider always to saty in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diegojg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We spent 6 days in this hotel. We enjoyed the hospitality of Sicily. The staff were kind, helpful. They organised our visit to Mt. Etna, Taormina, Palermo, and booked restaurants for us as well. The whole hotel is clean, the breakfast contained the wide selection of foods, incl. fresh orange juice and excellent italian coffee too.
I recommend this hotel for everybody who want value at the reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidvegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,685 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
204 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing