We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must enjoy walking if staying in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
hamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must enjoy walking if staying in this hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Myself and wife booked into this hotel on a last minute 4 day break with BA.
When dropped off via taxi late the first night it felt like we were plonked in the middle nowhere in a large city. In the end we made the best of it. Hotel was clean which was the most important thing. No tea and coffee in room which was very strange. Make sure you order a cup before 10.30 or you will miss out as bar closes (although in book states 24hrs service). Sky doesnt have english speaking channels except news.
From this hotel You do have to walk everywhere but you do get used to it. Mabe a 15min walk to the main square. Mabe 25min walk to the main train station and bus depot. Not the most friendly City in the world. Helps if you speak Italian. Not very helpful otherwise so do your research of how what and when you want to visit things..
Take train to Gardinia Naxos for 10 euros return. Lovely beaches and restaurants.
TIP.. Make sure the hotel orders a taxi for you to and from the airport. Cost 20 euros each way. We paid 40euros before knowing this. Overal, we had a lovely time although legs still aching.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussygit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear guest,
reading your review we felt it can help other travellers who are searching for what you just mentioned: a clean Hotel a few minutes far, walking distance, from the most important spots of the city.
Checking-in late at night, as you mentioned, you probably didn't have time to notice a couple of things we'd like to mention.
Our guest directory in all the rooms indicates that tea/coffee making facilities are available (delivered to your room) at any time, free of charge, just calling Reception desk. It also indicates that Bar and Room Service are available from 10.00 a.m. to 11.00 p.m. but once you have tea/coffe making facilities in your room and a Minibar, still in the room, equipped with a variety of drinks and snacks, there should be no problem in this respect.
Concerning Sky channels (Movies, Entertainment, News, Sport), they do have Italian and English language. Also in this case, calling Reception desk you would have received instructions on how to use the remote control to switch from Italian to English on any channel you wished.
Thank you for mentioning that we work hard to provide an honest price for taxi drivers we call, as the problem of dishonest price for taxies is real, unfortunately. That's why, on our website, we offer the possibility to book this service at a fixed price as an optional service when booking also the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    395
    92
    13
    7
See reviews for
176
283
39
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived on the BA flight to Catania which lands after 9pm so wanted an easy first night and chance to visit the city before driving to the coast.

We received a warm welcome and clean and large room awaited. It's not the newest or plush hotel but that didn't matter.

The staff couldn't be more helpful which made a real difference.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citywurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you Citywurzel for aknowledging that our staff was helpful and welcomed you warmly. This is one of the things we desire the most: our guests feeling welcomed home once here!
We wait for you on your next trip to Sicily, maybe for more than one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hotel Mediterraneo was one of the best parts of my stay in Catania, Sicily. Centrally located with about a 10-15min downhill walk away from the beautiful park, Via Etnea Road, and the Piazzas (remember the walk back will be uphill). My room was always clean and the staff was incredibly helpful. They were always willing to help me with directions or calling to schedule tours. The gym was basic but had a few cardio machines and free weights.

The breakfast spread was always satisfying including deli meats and cheese, cereal, yogurt, fresh and canned fruit, jellies and other spreads, and my daily cappuccino (coffees are available as part of the breakfast).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

These are the gathered experiences as a young couple for the Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo in Catania, Itali (Sicilië).

The general service at the reception was good, any question or remark will be answered politely and any requests for information regarding tours are well handled. All personel we spoke to at the reception was fluent in English.

The breakfast choice wasn't very wide, but sufficient. Everything did seem to be real "Italian", which meant a lot was sweetend. There was not a lot of room to sit, the one time we went just before closing time, I think you could eat between 7 and 10 AM local time, there was no space to sit. Refills were done quickly, though the personel did not seem to speak English a lot.

The location is around 10-15 minutes from the centre of Catania, but to go to the beach you'll need to use a car or other means of transport. Finding it is relatively easy, there are a lot of sign throughout the city. It was located in between, or at least near enough, a hospital and/or fire department, because there were plenty of sirenes. It was situated next to a unfrequented road, so sleeping was no issue, even though the glass doors and steel frame didn't seem to hold out sound very well. Catania does not seem to be very touristic, the main centre street was composed of regular brandshops, most closed during the siesta.

The room was quite large, though sounds from nearby rooms were noticeable. There was a very big bathroom and a large bed. Television offered a Skybox with quite a lot of channels, some could be turned back to "English" from the Italian voiceovers which was a nice plus during the siesta. The bed was one of the best I've ever slept in, and I've traveled with some frequency to higher starred hotels. The pillow was also more than sufficient, and they offered a broader choice for those who require it. There was a small balcony and very small fridge. The balcony of our room was situated to get the nice afternoon sun, although comfortable chairs to sit on were lacking, which was a shame.

The hotel promises free wireless in the room, but ours didn't work from day 1 and wasn't resolved at all, it only worked on the ground floor which dulled our evenings a bit.

Additionally you'd have to pay extra for a parking spot in the garage, the hotel did not have a restaurant for the evenings (and oddly enough we only found 1 real restaurant in Catania in our 7 day stay), and the pizza that could be ordered (externally) was simply poor. A lot of food is cheap and plenty (16e~ per person for 2 large courses) in the many trattoria's that can be found spread out around the city.

In other words, the hotel is more than sufficient if you are on a business trip, but I'd advise against a prolonged stay as a tourist without a car or extensive wish to travel with public transport or otherwise.

Room Tip: We used room 501, which was the top floor in the left corner, giving us a balcony on the edge and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was professional, friendly and very helpful with things to do and places to eat. We felt very safe in the neighborhood walking at night and it was convenient to reach many places. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Business rooms are large and nicely appointed. Worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

What a great hotel and staff for the price. It is well located near Via Etna and the city center, but in a quite area where you can chill out on the balcony overlooking a beautiful garden. The hotel provides an excellent breakfast in their dining room, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, cheese, cold cuts and great capuccinos, bravo! Numerous daily papers were provided for free, English, German, Italian. There was a clean, neat excercise room and a cozy bar. Best of all was the staff. They spoke English well and were very helpful with directions and information. Thank you Stefania. The room was a good size, modern with a great washroom. I liked it so much I stayed for 5 days. Took a bus for 1 euro to Lido Beach.
Tony

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBeGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

PROS: Clean and comfortable rooms, good service, nice breakfast
CONS: Slow internet

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dart13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for highlighting the pros of our Hotel.
Concerning the problem with the speed of the Wi-Fi signal, the Company that provides the Internet Service in our Hotel acknowledged they had a technical problem. We waited until they finally solved it and we personally tested that our free Wi-Fi Internet now works fast because the speed is back to normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#5 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing