We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to many sites” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Walking distance to many sites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel is located in an OK area and in walking distance of multiple interesting destinations.We (two females) felt we needed to be a bit more "on guard" when in the immediate area of the hotel as we walked, but were fine. The hotel room was good. Breakfast was good with plenty of food. Staff was fluent in English and helpful. Taxis were readily available from the hotel.

Room Tip: We took the train from Sapri to Catania through Messina. What fun to be aboard the train as it was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wivoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you, wivoyager, for your review. We appreciated the comments of a Senior Contributor like you regarding the central location of our Hotel, ideal for walking to the best spots of Catania. We are also glad that you appreciated three of the most important things we offer: clean rooms, rich breakfast and helpful staff.
We hope you'll come again to visit us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    386
    89
    12
    7
See reviews for
172
276
37
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We've chosen the Mediterraneo as start & finish of our 2-weeks Sicila holidays. It provides clean & cool rooms of sufficient space (we had a 2 & a 3 beds room). Staff is very friendly and gives support where required. The hotel is app. 15' by foot away from the center, close to the (shopping stree) Via Etnea and therefore a good basis to explore Catania. The airport is app. 20' by car away. Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAT872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you, MAT872, for reviewing the positive aspects you enjoyed staying in our Hotel in Catania and for defining it "a good basis to explore Catania".
We hope you'll come back again!
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I want like to thank the entire staff of the Hotel Mediterraneo in Catania for their professional and friendly service. Whenever I needed something they went out of their way to provide for me.. Room was clean and cool. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Service first rate and done with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphonso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
And we thank you, Alphonso F, for your kind words of appreciation, especially because you wrote that service was always done with a smile.
We hope to host you again soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

i think that breakfast could have been better nothing cooked as they have no resturant.. . clean rooms ok.some of the showers have a shower curtain which i don"t like and water runs out in the bathroom . staff ok and english speaking.

Room Tip: take higher rooms . less noisy. take higher rooms less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you "maria117" for reviewing our Hotel and we are happy to read that you found our rooms clean. We have 4 rooms in all the Hotel with a shower curtain in the bathroom to make them accessible to people on wheelchairs. You will certainly understand that in those rooms we had to remove any barrier that might limit access to people with reduced mobility. You probably slept in one of those rooms, as evidently all the others were fully booked.
As you correctly mentioned, we have no restaurant and therefore we have no cooked items for breakfast, but we offer a large variety of cheese, coldcuts, bread and cakes together with boiled eggs.
We hope you can soon spend another long weekend break at our Hotel.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Everything was just great.room was cool. Staff excellent, and very smart. I must say that,if the breakfast would improve a little more,the hotel should be awarded as a 4 star.thx guys siete I piu forti :) ...nicolai attard polizia militare Malta.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank militarypolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you Nicolai Attard for sharing with us the reasons why you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and for awarding us with an additional star. We are happy to be a very good three star Hotel in Catania, with a staff that you defined 'excellent'.
See you soon!
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

A good clean hotel, decent sized rooms and good amenities. Nothing fancy, but the free pay TV is a bonus, and there's a decent breakfast buffet. Hotel was nice and quiet for light sleepers.

People at recption were friendly and helpful. Only drawback is that the wireless Internet is only free for the first 24 hours.

Interesting colour scheme in the rooms. It's like spending the night with the Bananas in Pyjamas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Desmond H, thank you for reviewing our Hotel and for sharing your experience regarding our stay here, including your feelings concerning the colors of our bathrooms. You well described our free services such as all the SKY Gold TV channels (with movies and news also in English) and the free wi-fi. Please let me correct one detail: our WI-FI is ALWAYS free. The access code you get, when you check-in, lasts 24 hours but, after that, you can get as many more access codes as you wish, always for free, for 24 more hours, with no limitations. I am sorry you didn't have a chance to ask our Reception to clarify this matter.
We hope you can come back soon and use also our WI-FI for all your stay.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My friend and I stayed for three nights on a short break. The staff were all excellent and extremely helpful. The rooms were fantastic as was the breakfast. My fellow Americans should note that it was a European breakfast, which is not cooked but a selection of meat, cheese, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, toast, boiled eggs, coffee and tea

Room Tip: We had the business rooms which tend to be corner rooms and slightly larger than standard room. Wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Daer Jerry N, thank you for reviewing our Hotel services and for specifying to the American travellers what our brekfast includes. Thank you also for suggesting our Business Rooms that, for a minimum supplement, offer more services in larger rooms. All your observations were very timely. We hope you come back soon to visit us.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing