We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms, while small were clean and adequate for the rate we paid. The parking is handled quite well and the breakfast is good. There is no restaurant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Dan R, thank you for writing about us and for recommending us to other TA travellers.
As you stated you would stay here again, we wait for your next visit.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We booked here on the fly, based upon TA reviews and were not disappointed.

The front desk staff was tremendous! Antoninia (I think) took care of us expertly and was incredibly helpful.

The room was clean and very nice. The breakfast was standard Italian continental breakfast, but was good.

A good base for seeing Mt. Etna.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear wolf19d, thanks for your review that demonstrates how most of TA reviews are true-to-life pictures of the Hotels visited. In fact you were not disappointed. Thank you also for the words of appreciation for our staff.
We hope you'll come again to Catania to see something else, and stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is modern, clean with helpful staff and spacious rooms at a fair price. There is a breakfast room with quite adequate fair. Unfortunately there is no restaurant but there is a lively local Trattoria a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bewildered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you Bewildered1 for your review. We are glad you appreciated our staff, our rooms, and that the price you paid was adequate to the services you enjoyed.
Therefore we invite you to return soon and stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The highlight of this hotel was the front desk staff. they were especially knowledgeable and helpful. The room was clean and completely functional. Nothing fancy but comfortable and predictable. Although the location wasn't central it didn't slow us down. Maybe a 10 minute walk to via etna. Breakfast was good. Loved the orange juice
machine and the cappuccino.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Peanut M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Peanut M, thanks for appreciating our front desk staff. We read also that you enjoyed our breakfast service. The orange juice machine is something many people like. Even now that we are in summer and there are no more fresh sicilian oranges, and therefore the machine cannot be operated, we serve 100% juice from Sicilian Oranges, pre-packed by a local producer.
Please, come again and stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Taking the bus from the airport it's a long walk from the bus stop on via etnea to the hotel. So beware if you've got heavy or awkward luggage. The rooms are dated but sufficient. The best thing about the breakfast is that they have an automatic do-it-yourself fresh orange juice maker, it takes a few minutes to squeeze out a couple glasses though and can create congestion if busy. Loved Catania!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stampy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Stampy2013, thanks for your review. Many people appreciate our machine for do-it-yourself orange juice (although in a few more days sicilian oranges will be no more available till next winter...) and that sometimes might create a bit of congestion in the breakfast room. But waiting a couple of minutes is worth the effort! As for the bus from the airport, next time you'll come to stay in our Hotel (we hope soon), you can switch from bus 457 (Airport-Train Station) to bus 431/Black (Train Station-Hotel) and stop 50 meters far from the Hotel entrance, all with the same ticket.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed there for two nights during our car trip in Sicily. The hotel is well-positioned, within walking distance to the city centre. Whole interior is well-designed to reflect the beauty of the colours and touch of Mediterranean.Rooms are well equiped, clean and pleasant.Staff is efficient and cordial. Hotel can be highly recomended - high quality at very reasonable price!

Thank zvonimir m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you zvonimir m for your nice review about the position of the Hotel and its design. Our staff thanks you for your kind words you wrote about them. Please, come back soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived quite late - but the welcome was warm and all the facilities as good as we have come to expect from Best Western all over Europe. The room was spacious and spotless, the breakfast superb - and more than enough to see us through more or less until dinner in the evening! A very good experience all round.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Gerry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear 29Gerry29, we are convinced that the warm welcome of our staff can make the difference, as it happened in your case. Thank you also for appreciating our breakfast service. We wait for the next time you'll stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
582 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing