We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
381
472
109
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
472
109
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews via etnea minute walk very comfortable room recommend this hotel open market free wifi city centre bellini park cakes very nice hotel rented car mini fridge visit catania granita decent size small balcony fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my wife and 3.5 years old son with another couple.
In general the hotel has left a very good impression on us and I’d definitely
recommend it to everyone who is planning to stay in Catania. Here below are some Pros/Cons.
Pros:
1. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. I think room equipment deserves more than 3 stars.
2. Even there is expensive parking which belong to the hotel, we never had a problem to park 2 cars near the hotel in August.
3. Very reach breakfast – best I had seen in this hotel class.
4. Very generous and nice staff – this is especially appreciated for this region of Italy. In the evening we got all the required equipment
for preparing nice family supper (small kids go to sleep early) – even big knife to cut pineapple.
5. Hotel is not far away from airport, city center, sea shore and etc.
6. There is a free Wi-Fi though over the hotel.
7. Hotel serves Cappuccino other hot/cold drinks every morning.
8. We ordered dinner few times from the hotel restaurant - it was pretty nice.
9. There are few excellent Tratorias near the hotel - there you can get a taste of local kitchen and fill the Sicilian atmosphere !! We recommend Carl V which is just 300 meters away.
10. Flat TV with a huge number of channels on all languages.
Cons:
1. Dining room is a bit small. When the hotel is fully booked , it is crowdy and we had to wait for glasses, bread and etc.
2. Wi-Fi is slow in the rooms. But very good speed in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back side - there is a bit less noise there.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Fabricanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Fabricanto for your very detailed review. I guess that 10 good reasons to stay with us are enough to recommend us to other travellers and to invite you to stay again in our Hotel.
It is true that our breakfast room is a bit small and that is why we have a second one of the same size. We are sorry to learn that you had to wait a little bit. If you come again in another period of the year we are sure you'll experience faster breakfast service and wi-fi.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved this hotel. Looks small from the outside, however my triple room was a very spacious one with a big balcony (quite rare in Catania). Extremely clean hotel, friendly staff always ready to help. I found breakfast to be great too with various fruit to choose from amongst the cakes and croissants. At one point we even ordered a pizza from the restaurant, which turned out to be delicious. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Thumbs up and keep it up !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kri530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Kri530 for staying with us and for encouraging us to continue offering high quality services to our guests. We do not have an internal restaurant but, as you wrote, when we cater from nearby restaurant or pizzeria the quality of food is also very good.
Please, come back soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just stayed at this Hotel . It deserves more than 3 stars our room was very spacious with balcony and cleanliness everywhere. Breakfast is also very good including orange juices, bread, pastry, cereals, ham and cheese , fresh fruit, cakes, yogurts, coffee and tea. We ordered pizza and pasta from the hotel it was also good the only thing is that we couldn't get connected to the wifi from our room. will stay in best western hotel again for sure

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Maria D,
thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our Hotel.
We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the catering services we offer through our Snack-Bar.
I am sorry to read you had problems with wi-fi in your room. Next time you stay with us, please let us know because hotspots are everywhere, on all floors of the Hotel and often all that is needed it is just to reset the one closest to your room.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Best 3 star hotel we have ever been to! Cleanliness is a highlight, receptionists were all very very helpful especially one named Stefania :) Breakfast was impressive with a good variety and great quality. The room was exceptionally clean with a very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. It is situated not very far from a square with bus stops, maybe 3-4 mins walk. The air-conditioning was very effective especially with the heat in July.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Katya P,
thank you for your very nice review about our Hotel, its central position, its cleanness, our breakfast and especially our Staff. Stefania is great and very helpful with our guests' requests. That's why our guests voted for her smile as "Employee of the Month" in July, as you can see on our Facebook profile.
Please, come back and stay again with us soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This being my first visit to Catania, my hsb chose this hotel and I'm glad he did. It was good location to the center of the city~ markets, freeways, sights . We were lucky to have found street parking in the neighborhood, which is a plus. The desk staff spoke English; were very pleasant & professional and extremely helpful with directions. The breakfast was great, loved the juicer machine with fresh blood orange juice in the morning. The room was clean and quiet, with small balcony overlooked the street. It was quiet with minimal noise. One incident we had went we returned to room around noon, and found one of staff who works in the breakfast room, just coming out of our room. She was surprised to see us coming in the room; we checked and found nothing of our personal items missing (nothing valuable to take), but we also noted they did not clean the room. This person had no business in the room, as she did not clean or straighten it. No future incidents, after that run-in. We did not report it as everyone needs to keep their job. I would recommend this hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jclouie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jclouie2014,
let me express my appreciation for the fact that you and your husband chose to stay with us and to write such a nice review about our Hotel and its location in the center, our clean and quit rooms, and our helpful English speaking Staff.
Let me clarify the incident you reported here: our rooms are visited daily by two members of our trusted Staff. One of them, from the Bar Dept., soon after breakfast checks what was used from the in-room Minibar and eventually replaces any missing items from it (this is the girl you saw previously in the breakfast room and later in your room).
Another girl, from the Cleaning Dept., cleans the room, but this may happen from 9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.
Our staff expected you to come back later than noon, so they checked the Minibar first to clean the room only later. But I am sorry to learn that, when you came back, your room was not yet ready. Anyway that explains what you saw.
We have very high standards in selecting honest, hard working members of our personnel.
As you recommend our Hotel to other travellers, we look forward to your next visit.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews