We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
375
466
106
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
466
106
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia etneasky tvvery comfortable roomrecommend this hotelminute walkcity centrebellini parkcakesvery nice hotelbase for exploringmini fridgevisit cataniagranitafresh fruitsmall balconyair connice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We've stayed here in August 2014 - my wife, 2.5 years old son and myself.
We chose this hotel as we thought it would be the best value for money - and we were not disappointed.
The location of this hotel is not far from the historical city center, but because it is on a hill - if you walk, keep in mind that you will have to climb up the hill.
We've traveled from this hotel to all our destinations throughout Sicily: to Palermo, Etna, Taormina and many more.
Pros:
1) very comfortable room
2) different pillows for your selection
3) good quality supper (for additional payment)
4) very friendly staff
5) very clean
6) wifi everywhere + PC and printer in the lobby
7) enough free parking around the hotel - even in August
8) nice and not expensive restaurants with local food around the hotel - especially Re Carlo V
9) large supermarket 5 minutes away from the hotel
10) close to the airport (by car)

Cons:
1) breakfast - everyday is exactly the same (we've stayed for a week).

Bottom line - I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koganam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you koganam for your nice and very detailed review. Mentioning 10 positive points is very encouraging for us. We also appreciate your suggestion to increase the variety of our breakfast especially during summertime when several people like you stay longer than usual for holidays.
As you recommended us, please come back and stay with us next time you'll be in Catania.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

これはホテルの評価とは、直接関係ないが、確かロケーションが良いと理解していたが、空港からバスで行った。空港のInfom.で25€のTAXIより1€のバスで行くでしょ!! その気になり、大失敗!!ベリーニ広場下から、重い荷物を転びそうになりながら、坂道を20分以上登った!!(バスも失敗したが)。疲れ果てて、ホテルに到着!! 広告のブロンド美女はいないものの、笑顔の素敵な方が笑顔で迎えてくれました。
部屋は広いし、バスタブは良いし、ベランダで煙草は吸えるし、大満足であった。4泊したが、バス旅行をしている私には、少々、バス停の位置だとか、市街地への移動には不便であった。
朝食の場所は広くはないが、グラニータ(アーモンド味、レモン味、コーヒー味)を提供とあり、初めて飲みました。お蔭でアーモンド味に嵌り、アーモンドのリキュールにも初挑戦、面白体験できました。
エトナ観光で疲れた夜、閉まっていたレストランを開けて、サラダとホットサンドを提供してくれました。
エトナ山半日観光の予約他、お願い事は全てAll Perfect!! 良いホテルでした。

Everything was OK, but not so conveniet for walkers & public transpotation users!!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiro1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Thank you Hiro1719 for your nice review about our Hotel and our Staff.
For travellers coming from the airport by bus, we advise to visit the page "How to reach us" on top of our website to check the number of the two buses (457 and then 431) reaching the hotel.
As you recommended us as a "good hotel", we wait for your next visit.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

City center (Piazza Duomo) is a 15 minute walk downhill. Breakfast is skimpy and can become crowded because of the small room. Soundproofing not so good. Excellent wifi and cable TV. If you need to use the garage, make sure you have a small car.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (i.e. room 112) are probably larger than average.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear garcini,
thank you for staying with us and for writing your review.
We are glad you appreciated our wi-fi and our SAT TV system (Sky Gold with hundreds of free channels in italian and original language). We are sorry to read you did not fully appreciate our breakfast service. We hope that, next time you come, you will notice that we have a second breakfast room of the same size of the first and that you spend a bit more time to examine all the items of our buffet, including all the typical Sicilian products. Concerning car parking, you can ask one of our staff to do it for you. We also host 9 seats vans in it.
Best regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

The staff here were some of the most helpful we have experienced, polite and nothing was a problem. All the services you might want were available, the room was very good, spacious, clean and well serviced. Nearby retaurant La Terrazza Del Barone is excellent for evening meal. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Thank you Chris J for your nice review. We're glad that our staff was polite and you enjoyed our Hotel and nearby Restaurants. We look forward to your next stay.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Just come back from a 4day stay at this hotel, room was clean, HD sky TV, air con, complementary tea/ coffee, mini fridge, the two young ladies at reception were so friendly and helpful , couldn't do enough for me. Breakfast was fresh and healthy . Defiantly going to stay here next time I go back , made my stay memorable, excellent value for money, I stayed in room 308, little balcony with a largish open space for a view so doesn't feel claustrophobic. Renato. Sept 2014

Room Tip: 308 is the room I stayed in and I would have it again.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Renato_Piccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Dear Renato,
thank you for reviewing the main features of our Hotel and for expressing your appreciation for our service, our staff and our breakfast.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews