We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ognina Catania
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Dirty room-dust, Staines, grime
Fallen curtain
Lime scale stained and grime
Unsecured safe, easy to steal, why bother filling it to allow a theft to walk of with?
Staff toilets outside room, talking and smoking from 6am onwards.
Cleaners store and office outside room- staff arriving at 6am, 7am opening up, talking moving around 1 meter from our door. Multiple Black refuse sacks stacked up and left in corridor prior to being taken to outside bins, next to our room!
Smoking staff although signs up- smell
Room next to staff entrance and car park users, allowing door to slam causing vibration to fitted wardrobe which magnified noise. Truly not a place to enjoy and relax!
Small terrace with loose uneven astro turf, green plastic sheeting on 6 feet wire fence camouflaging car park was torn and blowing loose around.
Only three hotel fitted coat hangers in Wardrobe, why bother?
Bedside light did not work so couldn't read buttons on the Safe at night without moving the table lamp. No thought or care!
Cracks in walls, with loose plaster work, just a sad and poorly managed hotel!

Was advised, our room was amongst three which had been converted in recent times, which clearly was in an area where the hotel's utilities and services are located, with different metal fire doors and general appearance, not in keeping with standards.

Hotel situated beside double dual cartridge way, sharing a forecourt of a petrol station, with a rear back drop of sea view! If your looking for quiet and good surroundings you've only got a 5050 chance!! Although this trip was booked as a package with Easyjet, I was disappointed that given the flight arrival time we were kept waiting for over two hours for our room, surely they could co-ordinate better? There was no attempt to accomodate us or others each day! The hotel seemed empty from the amount of people either in reception and at breakfast, not enough cleaning staff to both turn rooms around one thinks, and maintain the general cleanliness of the rooms!! In our six night stay we only ate breakfast once, simply was not worth bothering!

I had requested Sea View however the hotel blamed the agent Easyjet for not passing this request on although the other details were? Our room was below upper ground looking directly at the car park, and with a slight damp smell, hence flaking paint and plaster in many places!

I know this Hotel is only rated as 3 star, yet I did at least expect it to be clean, safe and comfortable. Never again!

Good Points-

TV had plenty of channels
Shower was powerful
The end!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ram1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel was marketed as being close to the sea which was a little misleading. We (and our sat nav) found it difficult to find. The staff were fairly friendly and the impressive reception area would lead many to expect much more from this hotel. The rooms were very small although scrupulously clean. The breakfast was disappointing. No orange juice available during our stay and the staff did not replenish the breakfast buffet when items were left out. If you turn up for breakfast at 9.30 don't expect to have much choice. Also very disappointed to have to pay 7 euros a day per device for wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davestapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days in Catania and got this hotel for 45 Euros a night and thought it was a good deal. A simple breakfast was included as well as free parking right in front of the hotel. You can see the beautiful water from your hotel window (ask for a room on the back side). We walked from the hotel to many parts of Catania and really enjoyed the experience. There is a little fresh seafood store very near the hotel where they also have some prepared options available and we enjoyed eating that right next to the water. We also had a couple of nice dinners out in Catania. Driving around Italy for Americans can be a little intimidating however I loved it, but my wife was a little stressed especially in the cities. We used Catania as our base and also drove over to Palermo which we also enjoyed a lot. We look forward to coming back to Sicily for many more things that we didn't have time to see this trip. This hotel is small, and quiet and we enjoyed it. We did ask for a different room after walking in to the first one which my wife immediately said smelled like bad cigarette smoke so be aware and make sure you get a non-smoking one if that matters to you.

Room Tip: Get one on back side for better view, and make sure it's a non-smoking room if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadaBingosMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Thanks to all the service group for the hotel, who where very helpfull and nice. We spent three excelent days at the hostel, which offered excelent breakfast and very nice rooms for a very low price. It had also enough place to park and very good recommendations to enjoy the city.

Thank you all so much from a argentinean girl and a german boy!

Regards, Ivanna Z.

Room Tip: There are rooms with see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

酒店是连锁型的三星酒店,同样是三星比罗马的所谓三星家庭酒店好多了。首先交通比较便利,酒店有免费的停车场地, 对于开车游览西西里的人很方便,而车对于西西里而言几乎是必不可少的。酒店早餐很好,我们夫妇带3岁女儿定了一个 双人间,并没有为孩子支付任何费用,但是也能享受酒店的早餐,而且吃得很不错。肉类,牛奶,果汁。面包等等。 酒店有sky TV,甚至可以看到中文频道。入住酒店的凌晨两点,我女儿饿醒了要喝牛奶,我去前台找热水,前台 还有人兢兢业业的在服务,很好。酒店出门向左,第一个路口左拐,5分钟可以找到一个中餐厅。

洗澡间太小了,太小了。wifi是要收钱的。

The hotel is a Chain style 3stars hotel, much better than a family style 3stars hotel in Rome. The hotle has a free car park which is good. A car is Necessary in sicily anyway. The breakfast was very good, We did not pay anything (even city tax) for my three years old daugther, but the hotel provided breakfast for her as well. The hotel has shy tv, you can find channels in your own language. I was looking for hot water for my girl's milk powder at 2:00 AM, the front desk was still in service. and last you can walk to a chinese Restaurant just in 5 mins.

Shower Room is very very very small, wifi is not free.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pen_peng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived tired after a late flight. Staff were welcoming and friendly - we stayed 3 nights using it as a base to tour Etna, Syracuse, Agrigento and Mosaics Villa. Excellent location - outside the main city but on the coast by a pretty marina & city beach. Next door to a petrol station which sounds bad but an easy visual landmark and easy to park. Acceptable restaurants next door or down the road on the marina but if you're there for just a night then its worth venturing into the city centre for atmosphere. We had an excellent view of Mt Etna from our room - Bonus! Reception staff booked us taxi into Catania 'Old Town' (lovely!!) and our choice of excursion to Etna. Large room with small bathroom - all clean and modern. Highly recommended for budget traveller.

Room Tip: Email for a room with a view - your choice of marina or Etna!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel Ognina gives you great value for your money. Rooms are a bit small but well equipped and clean. Breakfast is simple but a lot better than many other hotels in the same class in Italy. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is fine for a one or two night stay. For a longer trip I would prefer a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DimitriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Mater
#34 of 49 in Catania
200 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#46 of 49 in Catania
148 reviews
Hotel Residence La Palma
#38 of 49 in Catania
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#45 of 49 in Catania
30 reviews
Art & Jazz Hotel
#8 of 49 in Catania
167 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#21 of 49 in Catania
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ognina Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ognina Catania

Address: Via Messina 628, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £42 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ognina Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ognina Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ognina Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing