We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ognina Catania
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The rooms could do with a bit of attention in terms of maintenance, especially the bathrooms, this by no means detracted from the overall experience as they were clean and perfectly adequate for our stay.

We found the hotel to be ideally placed. Just outside the busy centre of Catania, so you avoid the noise and hassle of the town. There are good restaurants nearby.

The hotel has great views of Etna and the sea.

By far the biggest stand out feature of the hotel is it's staff. They are friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. (one even gave us her mobile phone number in case we got lost looking for the. Shopping malls).

In summary it's perfect for a short stay, to explore this region of Sicily.

Would we stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, ask for a sea view or a view of Etna on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skirmishmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    99
    97
    43
    27
See reviews for
42
119
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The staff was incredibly kind!! Right next to the sea, the scenery is incredible!Good breakfast! I would def come back :) But car is a must if you stay in this hotel, or you have to walk a lot to get to the center...Don't trust the buses :D But HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritibudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Dirty room-dust, Staines, grime
Fallen curtain
Lime scale stained and grime
Unsecured safe, easy to steal, why bother filling it to allow a theft to walk of with?
Staff toilets outside room, talking and smoking from 6am onwards.
Cleaners store and office outside room- staff arriving at 6am, 7am opening up, talking moving around 1 meter from our door. Multiple Black refuse sacks stacked up and left in corridor prior to being taken to outside bins, next to our room!
Smoking staff although signs up- smell
Room next to staff entrance and car park users, allowing door to slam causing vibration to fitted wardrobe which magnified noise. Truly not a place to enjoy and relax!
Small terrace with loose uneven astro turf, green plastic sheeting on 6 feet wire fence camouflaging car park was torn and blowing loose around.
Only three hotel fitted coat hangers in Wardrobe, why bother?
Bedside light did not work so couldn't read buttons on the Safe at night without moving the table lamp. No thought or care!
Cracks in walls, with loose plaster work, just a sad and poorly managed hotel!

Was advised, our room was amongst three which had been converted in recent times, which clearly was in an area where the hotel's utilities and services are located, with different metal fire doors and general appearance, not in keeping with standards.

Hotel situated beside double dual cartridge way, sharing a forecourt of a petrol station, with a rear back drop of sea view! If your looking for quiet and good surroundings you've only got a 5050 chance!! Although this trip was booked as a package with Easyjet, I was disappointed that given the flight arrival time we were kept waiting for over two hours for our room, surely they could co-ordinate better? There was no attempt to accomodate us or others each day! The hotel seemed empty from the amount of people either in reception and at breakfast, not enough cleaning staff to both turn rooms around one thinks, and maintain the general cleanliness of the rooms!! In our six night stay we only ate breakfast once, simply was not worth bothering!

I had requested Sea View however the hotel blamed the agent Easyjet for not passing this request on although the other details were? Our room was below upper ground looking directly at the car park, and with a slight damp smell, hence flaking paint and plaster in many places!

I know this Hotel is only rated as 3 star, yet I did at least expect it to be clean, safe and comfortable. Never again!

Good Points-

TV had plenty of channels
Shower was powerful
The end!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ram1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel was marketed as being close to the sea which was a little misleading. We (and our sat nav) found it difficult to find. The staff were fairly friendly and the impressive reception area would lead many to expect much more from this hotel. The rooms were very small although scrupulously clean. The breakfast was disappointing. No orange juice available during our stay and the staff did not replenish the breakfast buffet when items were left out. If you turn up for breakfast at 9.30 don't expect to have much choice. Also very disappointed to have to pay 7 euros a day per device for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days in Catania and got this hotel for 45 Euros a night and thought it was a good deal. A simple breakfast was included as well as free parking right in front of the hotel. You can see the beautiful water from your hotel window (ask for a room on the back side). We walked from the hotel to many parts of Catania and really enjoyed the experience. There is a little fresh seafood store very near the hotel where they also have some prepared options available and we enjoyed eating that right next to the water. We also had a couple of nice dinners out in Catania. Driving around Italy for Americans can be a little intimidating however I loved it, but my wife was a little stressed especially in the cities. We used Catania as our base and also drove over to Palermo which we also enjoyed a lot. We look forward to coming back to Sicily for many more things that we didn't have time to see this trip. This hotel is small, and quiet and we enjoyed it. We did ask for a different room after walking in to the first one which my wife immediately said smelled like bad cigarette smoke so be aware and make sure you get a non-smoking one if that matters to you.

Room Tip: Get one on back side for better view, and make sure it's a non-smoking room if preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadaBingosMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Thanks to all the service group for the hotel, who where very helpfull and nice. We spent three excelent days at the hostel, which offered excelent breakfast and very nice rooms for a very low price. It had also enough place to park and very good recommendations to enjoy the city.

Thank you all so much from a argentinean girl and a german boy!

Regards, Ivanna Z.

Room Tip: There are rooms with see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

酒店是连锁型的三星酒店,同样是三星比罗马的所谓三星家庭酒店好多了。首先交通比较便利,酒店有免费的停车场地, 对于开车游览西西里的人很方便,而车对于西西里而言几乎是必不可少的。酒店早餐很好,我们夫妇带3岁女儿定了一个 双人间,并没有为孩子支付任何费用,但是也能享受酒店的早餐,而且吃得很不错。肉类,牛奶,果汁。面包等等。 酒店有sky TV,甚至可以看到中文频道。入住酒店的凌晨两点,我女儿饿醒了要喝牛奶,我去前台找热水,前台 还有人兢兢业业的在服务,很好。酒店出门向左,第一个路口左拐,5分钟可以找到一个中餐厅。

洗澡间太小了,太小了。wifi是要收钱的。

The hotel is a Chain style 3stars hotel, much better than a family style 3stars hotel in Rome. The hotle has a free car park which is good. A car is Necessary in sicily anyway. The breakfast was very good, We did not pay anything (even city tax) for my three years old daugther, but the hotel provided breakfast for her as well. The hotel has shy tv, you can find channels in your own language. I was looking for hot water for my girl's milk powder at 2:00 AM, the front desk was still in service. and last you can walk to a chinese Restaurant just in 5 mins.

Shower Room is very very very small, wifi is not free.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen_peng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Villa Mater
#36 of 50 in Catania
185 reviews
Zeus Residence Hotel
#25 of 50 in Catania
30 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#46 of 50 in Catania
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence La Palma
#37 of 50 in Catania
37 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#29 of 50 in Catania
176 reviews
Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in Catania
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ognina Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ognina Catania

Property: Hotel Ognina Catania
Address: Via Messina 628, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ognina Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ognina Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ognina Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing