We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. We loved everything about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just wanted to say that me and my husband stayed her for 3 nights in the modern block from the 25th to the 27th July. This hotel's logo is something along the lines of one building two souls as there is a modern and a classic side. We enjoyed everything about this place. The staff were very friendly and dressed very smart. We had a porter bring the car round every morning and the receptionist were always eager to help with whatever we needed. We ate in the hotel on the first night and really enjoyed that too. For the price we paid, it was a great bargain. The breakfast was very enjoyable also. Everything you would expect and more. We had a choice of about 6 cakes one morning but did not have room to try them all. Would definitely recommend this place to someone who is traveling with a car as its a quite place away from the hectic city of Catania. Would definitely stay again if we ever go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChanBald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is situated in a busy suburb of Catania about 40 minutes walk from the city centre. We parked our hire-car round the corner by the side entrance to the hotel and later walked into the city. We did not find the area threatening, as others have said, but decided not to walk through the nearby park after dark!

The hotel is in two old palazzos, one has been kept in a traditional style with a beautiful lounge bar with a baby-grand piano and a huge marble fireplace, across the terrace is a small plunge pool and then the modern side of the hotel. When booking online I had been asked which type of room I wanted, traditional or modern and I opted for the modern side. Our standard double room was compact but had a stylish modern feel to it with a nice bathroom. Breakfast the next day was in the rooftop restaurant with views of Mount Etna and the city.

The staff were all helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and to stay there again myself if in Catania again.

Oh, and I commend the city council & tourism department on the hotel signs around the city, we had no problem finding the hotel which was signposted on most of the of the roundabouts and intersections around the city.

Room Tip: Standard double rooms are on the small side but for an overnight stop we found the room fine. Perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOCH-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Catania in July and stayed at Hotel vdb next. We didn't really think in advance how we would get round places or where to go, when we reached the hotel they were so helpful. They printed out all the bus timetables we needed, gave us recommendations for places and were just really pleasant and helpful in general. The room was cleaned thoroughly everyday with fresh towels and sheets on the bed. I think this hotel is good value for money and we went there because not many places have a pool in Catania in our price range, however we were worried about the location being just out from the city center. The location turned out to be great and was just a 15 minute bus journey for 1 euro that stopped literally outside the hotel and the hotel runs a free bus at certain times of the day to the center and the private beach. We also had a balcony with our room which was very spacious and enjoyed many a evening on with a bottle of prossecco. Thank you VDB for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Design or charming room whatever you want..;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Upon arrival late in the evening the service at reception was excellent; my car was immediately taken care of and returned to me when I needed it.
The room was large and airy with a nice bath
Swimming pool was nice and hardly in use. The hotel has an agreement with one of the Catania beaches so that you can also have excellent time at a beach with all facilities.
Food was of high quality (evening meal), and breakfast was good. I should also like to mention the good service provided at breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horst T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

“A great hotel at a very cheap price... Marvellous rooms & wonderful design. Keep it up!” Perfect for a holiday! Breath taking views and awesome style... Spacious rooms... Rare to find hotel at this price... Very good breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMV818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Fabulous hotel. All the staff were super helpful and couldn't do enough to help. Hotel is amazingly good value - free Wi-Fi too! There is a courtesy shuttle service that takes you to the beach or the city centre every day (you can arrange to be picked up too) the beach was brilliant and the city centre too. We also used the buses and they were very frequent and never waited more than 10 minutes for one. It is a little out of the centre and uphill so a car or transport is needed, we did not have a car though and made use of the shuttle and local buses, as well as the train. Notes or coffee facilities in the room but lovely bar area and terrace as well as pool area, with staff always happy to provide anything you would like. Breakfast was really nice and we also ate at the restaurant which was very good.

Room Tip: Stayed in a modern room which had a balcony with a sea view - which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff here were always helpful and provided great service. The hotel was lovely, clean, spacious and comfortable. The surrounding area was very authentic and not crammed into the tourist area which we loved. There were plenty of shops and places to eat close by if you didn't want to go far. A little challenging to find in the dark, and the internet was a little slow, but otherwise a wonderful place to stay. We'd go back again as it was great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
264 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Address: Via del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Catania
#14 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £52 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Bosco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Hotel, two souls: the charm and the contemporary design… Situated at the top end of Via Etnea, the major street of the city, is a unique structure for character and atmosphere, the expression of a perfect blending between the opulent luxury of an old 19th century house and the more up-to-date area combining every comfort and exclusive design.Hydromassage tubs or showers, LCD TV, internet wi-fi and Sky pay-per-view are the standard for the 52 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Del Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Bosco
Villa Del Bosco Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing