We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for turist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Centrale Europa
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location for turist”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed here last month, and was very satisfied with the location. It is just by the Duomo, and is good for sight seeing. The room was not gorgeous but clean enough to sleep.

The piazza Duomo is busy all night long, so it may be a little bit noisy. If you want a silent room for sleeping, this hotel may not be your choice. Breakfast was served at a bar at the piazza Duomo. Having breakfast just by Duomo might be a good experience. Cup of coffee and piece of bread is included in your price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    37
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
27
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong, australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely view. Cheap basic hotel. Dated but clean rooms. Quite ok for a night . Breakfast is a fresh pastry and good coffee from the cafe on the square. If you don't like noise, ask for a room at the back. We paid 60 euros. Value for money. The reception staff are very helpful and kept our bags for a day, organised a taxi to the airport and recommended a good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel has a great view of Fontana del' Elefante and is very well located to walk around Catania. The prices are far to the season and the rooms are clean. If you are looking for a simple room with a great view this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just came back from a 4-day stay in Catania. The hotel staff was friendly however they don't speak English. Rooms are ok: clean with comfortable beds, nicely decorated. The location is perfect: in the heart of tourist area, train/bus station is only 15 mins away on foot. I had a room with a view to Piazza Duomo - beautiful sight!

So much about positives.

My stay was just horrible because of constant noise! Closing windows does not help - you basically sleep on a busy highway. Weekends are the worst: Fri-Sat night there are concerts, events etc and there's not a chance to get ANY kind of sleep whatsoever.
I'm a young person who is not easily bothered with little inconveniences and I don't have any problems with sleep but THAT was beyond my imagination...

Another thing: NO BREAKFAST! You get coffee + a croissant and that's it. Probably works fine for Italian people though.. Still , I think the hotel is cheating - this is not a breakfast! this is what you can maybe call a snack after the breakfast .

I wouldn't come back to this hotel even if someone paid me for this.

Be careful !

Room Tip: don't take any room facing Duomo square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I didn't intend staying in this hotel but needed to go to Catania at short notice. I was in Taormina and tried to get a hotel in Catania at short notice. This hotel facilitated me. It is room only. There's no dining room or bar here but it is right in the heart of Catania overlooking the Piazza Duomo. When I arrived a man took my bag and carried it up to the second floor. (There's no lift). The room was spacious with 2 single beds. It's an old hotel but very clean. The furniture is a little unusual but adequate. The bathroom was good, although when the shower doors were closed the cubicle was a bit small. They overcame this problem by putting a curtain up outside the shower so you didn't have to close the cubicle doors. It seems to be run totally by men, I didn't see any female staff. All in all I found it good value (€45 per night for a single person) and would stay there again for its convenient location. I was able to take a local bus to the airport from here as the hotel is within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHappy_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

good location for the centre of town and only a 5-10 minute walk to some good restaurants and wine bars. just around the corner from the famous fish market and is right on the duome plaza where the taxi rank is. it is probably about a 20 minute walk from the train station.

reception staff were terrible. check in was efficient but staff very unfriendly, there is no breakfast (only a token for an espresso from the cafe next door) contrary to what we had been told.

when we checked out the guy on reception told us that we had already paid which we were not sure about and asked several times to confirm just to be told that our room had been paid for. we assumed that they had taken the payment from our credit card details which we had already provided to secure the room. fortunately we had left our bags at the hotel why we waited for our flight later that day only to be accosted when we returned to collect our baggage with accusations from another man on reception that we had tried to leave without paying. we tried to explain that we had tried to pay for our room in the morning but that the man on reception had not let us pay and had insisted that we had already paid. the second man was very aggressive and angry.

the room was a good size and beautifully decorated, sadly the bathroom was very dark and dingy with these kind of sheet like (very thin towels) rather than proper towels. shower was ok but in a tiny cubicle (i am only a slim 5"1) which i struggled to fit in to. we could also hear a couple in another bathroom (I think maybe in the room beneath us) very clearly as they were using there bathroom at the same time as us.

i also had the WORST night sleep that I have ever had in my life!! our room was on the top floor overlooking the road, probably one of the busiest roads in catania!! we might as well have slept with the windows open because closing them did not make hardly any difference. i have slept on busy roads in the past and am generally a very heavy sleeper but this was something else, we had trucks, cars, buses, people shouting all night long, i was exhausted the next morning and felt as if i had pulled an all-nighter i was so tired which really spoiled my last day in catainia.

we had a friend who slept on the side of the hotel overlooking the piazza who told us that the noise on that side was not as bad so maybe we were unlucky. the air conditioning also did not work so I was very hot during that night too. not a pleasant experience and i certainly would not stay here again

  • Liked — how the room was decorated
  • Disliked — the NOISE!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

The location is wonderful, facing the Piazza del Duoma at the bottom of Via Etnea. This hotel was great value (100 euros for a double with bath. Very clean but no frills!!...and no lift, so you need to be fit if you are allocated a room on the top floor!!!!. Some rooms can be noisy (traffic at night over a loose drain cover), but if you are a good sleeper youll be fine!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank njord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Hotel Biscari
Hotel Biscari
#21 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#30 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Catania Town
#24 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#47 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#31 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale Europa

Property: Hotel Centrale Europa
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele II 167 | Piazza Duomo, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Centrale Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Europa Hotel
Hotel Centrale Europa Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing