We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liberty Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Royal(Catania)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rubens(Catania)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Domus Hotel(Catania)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Agathae(Catania)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
565
227
29
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
227
29
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosaic tilesart nouveau stylebeautiful hotelthe ground floorsitting roomquiet streethigh ceilingsshort walkboutique hotelbusy citythe hotel staffrestaurant recommendationssmall hotellarge balconyan oasispastriesbreakfast room is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Liberty Hotel for our first night in Sicily. The hotel is just lovely with fantastic, helpful staff. Our luggage was lost by the airline and the receptionist immediately offered to contact the airline for us. The next morning the receptionist on duty updated us on the situation before we even had to ask. We were also recommended 2 authentic, non touristy restaurants with delicious food. We found the food in Catania the best in all of Sicily.
Breakfast was delicious with a great choice. We had a lovely room with high vaulted ceilings.
Catania is a pretty full on town/city and rough around the edges but it has a certain charm. We also visited Palermo during our stay and preferred Catania out of the two cities. A visit to the fish market is really interesting - we'd never seen such fresh fish before!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD75London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Catania has undergone a miraculous transformation since my first visit more than 20 years ago and there could be no more fitting symbol of these changes than this absolutely gorgeous little hotel. Where once loomed dark, decrepit and faded mansions, are now beautiful refurbished baroque and neoclassic architectural gems and the Liberty is surely one of the most outstanding examples of this process of restoration.

Light and airy and surprisingly quiet, my room was a haven after the sometimes overwhelmingly boisterous street life. An exquisite attention to detail together with a cosy and serene ambiance envelop you as the doors swing behind you banishing the hustle and bustle outside. Charming staff are ever ready with a greeting and with solutions for any requests. Breakfast was a treat every morning and coffee in the lovely winter garden made for a special memory.

The Liberty is all a small hotel should be - and so much more! I am so pleased that Sicily - a unique and extraordinary island - finally is able to offer a level of hospitality that does it credit. Bravo to the owners, managers and staff of this wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eminvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We chose a hotel in Catania to spend only one night to get to the airport early and had a pleasant surprise. Not only the atmosphere at the hotel but mainly for the kindness and helpfulness of staff, offered us transportation options, indicate what to see around the hotel and although we left before the time of the breakfast, gave us a full breakfast with everything ... much kindness and professionalism .... CONGRATULATIONS

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inescarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We spent three days at the Liberty Hotel. The staff were extraordinary--helpful in every way. John Paul prepared a meal for us one evening which he served in the lobby. My wife cannot climb stairs so we were served delicious breakfasts in the lobby as well. They arranged a private tour of the Mt. Etna region and recommended a delightful and delcious osteria two blocks away for lunch. The hotel is beautifully appointed with art deco touches.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank atflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I can not fault the hotel great service, lovely clean and well decorated rooms but in the most awful location on the planet. if this hotel was in the centre of Rome then it would be the best hotel on the planet. The hotel is is set back from the main Catania centre in a dirty and war worn torn area not that Catania is anything to write home about - bad move on my behalf. I would go to Sicily again but not here in fact i would suggest the only reason to go to Catania is if you want to see the most awful town - black and dirty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinbarre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews