We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original residence retains old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Original residence retains old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wow,

At the tail end of our trip through Europe, mainly Italy, we stayed at the Liberty Hotel in Catania. We had a junior suite for an amazing price, including a separate bathroom and sitting room with bay windows complete with shutters. The decor is lovely including a beautiful marble staircase.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast spread bountiful and delicious.
If you are looking for a quiet hotel close to the centre of Catania from which to base yourself, (there are only 18 rooms), then this is the place to choose. You can walk to the centre of the city and then connect to all forms of transport including buses, trains, metro and taxis to travel to other places on the east coast of Sicily.
If we return to Sicily, we will definitely stay at the Liberty again.
Only missed 5 stars because the double bed was two beds pushed together but this is pretty standard we have found.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    195
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
427
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

A small boutique style hotel with some of the best service I have experienced on our trip. Lovely but a tad small rooms, with nice bathrooms. Fantastic and personal service from the front of house people, particularly Franscesco who, from the start of the direct booking process, was charming. Good central location, and I would start again. Great value.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a very clean, charming and welcoming hotel. The decor was beautiful and let me know I was in Italy. The staff is attentive and provided us with excellent service. They were able to direct us around town and arranged airport transportation at a very reasonable cost. The hotel is easy walking distance to the Duomo and the fish market, which is not to be missed. Catania seems like a down to earth, blue collar type of town. It might be a bit gritty for some, but we felt very safe and comfortable and found the people to be very friendly. We knew nothing about it but picked it to stay in because it was relatively proximate to places we planned on seeing(Taormina, Siracusa, Ortigia). We loved the city and this hotel and will stay here again if/when we return.

Room Tip: There are rooms with terraces that are light, airy and spacious. I believe 208 is one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eromkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is my second stay at Liberty and I brought friends. They loved it. The hotel is so charming and the staff are so helpful. It adds so much to a trip to know that your hotel will help you with anything. They also have a deal with the neighboring garage so you don't have to worry about parking. We shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Liberty Hotel is old-school charming. The staff are absolutely wonderful and helpful. We had problems with our AC the first night (it didn't work) but it was fixed first-thing the following day.

The hotel had few guests while we were there so we were upgraded to a suite. It was very large, two rooms and a bath and even though it was on the ground floor, there was very little street noise. The decor might not be to everyone's taste: think thick curtains, potted plants and antique furniture but the entire hotel was well maintained and spotless.

They like to spray the rooms with some powerful air-freshner and we asked them to tone it down and they did.

As noted in another review, there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby so if you only have an iPad you are going to spend a lot of time on their sofas.

They also do not have a restaurant on-site but, strangely, have a room service menu. I assume that they simply have food brought in. The breakfast is pretty standard for Italy: bread, sweet rolls, cold-cuts, cheese and coffee. It is very odd that they charge for eggs.

Another strange thing: in the breakfast room they had a tourist video being played in an endless loop and projected onto the wall. It was old and annoying and we asked them to turn it off (they did and we never saw it again).

Catania itself is a dump: covered with graffiti and with lots and lots of run-down buildings and dodgy neighbourhoods. The drivers are, in a word, insane. I don't think I have ever encountered more reckless drivers than in central Catania. Whatever you do, don't rent a car there- riding in a taxi is thrilling enough!

We only chose Catania for a weekend break because we wanted to see Mt. Etna. We went with Mt. Etna Excursions (reviewed separately) and had a great day out. The rest of Catania can be seen in a day; the fish market is interesting in a controlled chaos sort of way and offers some great opportunities for photographing people.

The duomo is also worth a visit- very impressive. It was first built in the 11th c. but it has been demolished by earthquakes and fire several times since then. The existing building is a grand Baroque edifice. Remember- no bare shoulders or shorts in Italian cathedrals.

Directly around the corner from the Liberty Hotel are a bunch of BBQ restaurants. We walked past them on our first night there and they were packed with people. We figured that it might be a good place to eat with the locals until we found out what they were serving: horse meat. We gave it a miss.

The central park is also quite relaxing even though it has its fair share of rubbish, graffiti and couples groping each other on the benches.

If the Liberty Hotel was in a city that was actually worth visiting the rooms would be 5x the price. As it is, it's a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leicamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Chose the Liberty after researching on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed as the hotel was very comfortable and staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. Everything we required was at our doorstep, and Messina was easy to get around. Will definitely stay at the Liberty next time we visit Messina.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel based on the reviews in Trip Advisor and it has been a great choice. The hotel is extremely beautiful without being overdone. You feel that old Italian charm when here. The hotel is very clean and my bathroom is so clean that it looks like I've been the first to stay here. The staff is very attentive and have made me feel welcome. I've been treated like their only guest. It's also very quiet.
I might have to come back to Catania just to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deloresthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing