We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Catania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    195
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
427
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Khobar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile


We booked this hotel 6 months in advanced. Got a package ..flight and hotel with Expedia. I checked reviews among TA community and it was mixed. As described, its quite a walk up hill from the bus stop to the hotel with a heavy luggage. However, when we found the hotel, we got all excited. The reception desk was very friendly, took our luggage to our room! (You don't see that hospitality anymore.)..then when we got into our room....wow! It's really awesome, with really tall ceiling and baroque style. Hotel is 4 star but has 5 star amenities. Breakfast is good, the hotel manager and all the staff were attentive and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The decor is elegant and the rooms are large and very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpfull, professional and courteous.There is no languague problem the staff is fluent in english. Our stay of 7 days was very comfortable

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room with a balcony it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed - in fact it exceeded my expectations! The area wasn't that 'run down' at all, and an easy few minutes walk into the centre of Catania. We had a very warm welcome when arriving, including drawing sights of interest and restaurants on a map. We found that the attitude and friendliness of all the staff was really excellent, and went a long way to making our stay so special. The hotel itself is beautiful, with Art Deco style and antiques, and our room was large and very quiet, with excellent air conditioning. We found the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice in cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and pastry - and the coffee was excellent! I would certainly stay here again, and have no problem recommending the Liberty Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Affafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, N.Y.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were in Catania for one night in order to catch our flight early the next morning. The hotel is
perfectly located for walking to the center of town to see the sights.
The Liberty is a beautiful hotel with old world elegance and modern conveniences. People working there are most helpful. We needed to leave the hotel an hour before they begin to serve breakfast. They were so kind to set up a beautiful small table, fine linen and all, in the gorgeous lobby so we could have something to eat befor our flight. So thoughtful. If you are in Catania
this is the very best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed two nights at Liberty and was very pleased by the friendly and helpful service. The location is great but seems a bit odd at your firts glance. The street is pretty rough but I felt completely safe and the old town and Dome Square is a pleasant 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are big and comfortable. Still a bit overpriced considering the average pricelevel on Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The rooms at Hotel Liberty are large and well laid out. It is easy to walk to nice restaurants and good shopping. And the staff and service we received was excellent. It was no trouble for them to arrange a small breakfast for us at 04:20, and the taxi was there on time to get us to the airport for an early flight. All of our requests were handled cheerfully and professionally.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing