We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - would stay there again anytime.”
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We just stayed 5 nights and it was wonderful. I was there on business and my wife wanted to be in the center of the city for exploring. We drove a rental car and no problem parking. 4 of 5 nights we parked on street for 2.40 euro. Staff arranged underground parking 50 meters up the road for the other night. Neighborhood was very safe and we were right where we wanted to be. 10 minute walk to the historic center of the city.
The hotel staff were just great and provided 5 good restaurant suggestions which we followed and were very satisfied. Food was fantastic at all their suggestions.
The room we had, on ground floor #103, had perfect 5 bar wifi internet in the room all the time.
The great staff set me up with coffee in the lobby before I had to leave for business in the morning even though it was before breakfast hours. Extremely helpful and warm always.
I am trying to come up with a good excuse to go back to Catania and the excellent Liberty hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place really is as good as most reviewers say and all the staff are very helpful.
It might be an idea to book a cab in advance from the airport to the hotel as this will save dragging bags up hill and also if you have not been to Catania before it takes a day or two to get your bearings so finding the hotel might not be easy but once you have found your way around the city the hotel is only a 10 min walk from lots of good food and wine.
Ask at reception and they will give you options of things to do around the city and there is plenty to do we spent five days walking everywhere and did not get to everything we wanted to see.
Last thing use the local shops and restaurants thirty seconds form the hotel both are good value for money.
We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile


We booked this hotel 6 months in advanced. Got a package ..flight and hotel with Expedia. I checked reviews among TA community and it was mixed. As described, its quite a walk up hill from the bus stop to the hotel with a heavy luggage. However, when we found the hotel, we got all excited. The reception desk was very friendly, took our luggage to our room! (You don't see that hospitality anymore.)..then when we got into our room....wow! It's really awesome, with really tall ceiling and baroque style. Hotel is 4 star but has 5 star amenities. Breakfast is good, the hotel manager and all the staff were attentive and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The decor is elegant and the rooms are large and very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpfull, professional and courteous.There is no languague problem the staff is fluent in english. Our stay of 7 days was very comfortable

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room with a balcony it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked the hotel based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed - in fact it exceeded my expectations! The area wasn't that 'run down' at all, and an easy few minutes walk into the centre of Catania. We had a very warm welcome when arriving, including drawing sights of interest and restaurants on a map. We found that the attitude and friendliness of all the staff was really excellent, and went a long way to making our stay so special. The hotel itself is beautiful, with Art Deco style and antiques, and our room was large and very quiet, with excellent air conditioning. We found the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice in cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and pastry - and the coffee was excellent! I would certainly stay here again, and have no problem recommending the Liberty Hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Affafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were in Catania for one night in order to catch our flight early the next morning. The hotel is
perfectly located for walking to the center of town to see the sights.
The Liberty is a beautiful hotel with old world elegance and modern conveniences. People working there are most helpful. We needed to leave the hotel an hour before they begin to serve breakfast. They were so kind to set up a beautiful small table, fine linen and all, in the gorgeous lobby so we could have something to eat befor our flight. So thoughtful. If you are in Catania
this is the very best place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
262 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
519 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £88 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing