We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable. Stay Here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Unbeatable. Stay Here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is amazing.

The Liberty Hotel is a beautiful little hotel, perfectly positioned away from the hustle and bustle in quiet Via San Vito, while still managing to only be a five minute walk from the Catania city centre.

The room was comfortable, clean and enormous! It was also charming, with a very romantic feel to it. We were greeted with a welcome letter on our bedside table – a very nice touch.

The staff at the Liberty Hotel are phenomenal. Quite possibly the best service I’ve experienced anywhere in Europe. They are friendly, outgoing, polite and overly helpful. No matter how nice the hotel, I find the staff and service are usually what makes or breaks the stay, and Liberty has service in spades.

Breakfast is served in a charming little sitting room each morning, with a good spread of foods. Remember, breakfast isn't a big deal in Italy. For them, lunch is the main meal of the day. For this reason, it’s tough to find an Italian breakfast that will really hit the spot for Aussies, Americans, Brits etc. Liberty, however, comes as close as you’d like without losing that Italian feel. Wifi is fast and reliable.

As mentioned, the hotel is literally five minutes walk from the city centre, and from Via Etnea, the main strip.

I would stay at the Liberty Hotel again in a heartbeat – and plan to in the not-to-distant future. An incredible stay that truly enhanced our Catania experience.

I simply cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    195
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
426
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel after reading all of the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor, have to say I was not disappointed. Received a lovely warm welcome when we arrived, our room was nicely decorated with a well appointed bathroom. The whole hotel seems to be absolutely spotless. Breakfast is served buffet style, there is a good selection of food and coffee served. The location of the hotel, although on a street that is a little downtrodden, is good, within easy walking distance of the centre.

Room Tip: We stayed here at both ends of our trip, the first time we had a room on the ground floor which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a very nice room, with separate bed room, sitting room, and bath. Very spacious by European standards. Staff was very helpful with arranging parking, restaurant recommendations etc. Easy walking distance to the sites. Breakfast was standard. Only down side was that it is located near a busy street, and there was some street noise. Would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the Liberty Hotel for three nights in July 2014. The hotel itself was an airy and spacious Liberty style building, hence the name. Our room was large and a cool oasis from the heat and craziness of Catania. It was the staff, however, that really made our stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, including getting 4 garments washed and ironed within 3 hours on a Wednesday night. They recommended a great restaurant, not a touristy place, but a local Catanese institution. They steered us in the direction of interesting local attractions which we'd never have found by ourselves and were generally just A grade. As a frequent business traveller, many of the so-called "five star" places could take a leaf for two from Liberty's staff training manual.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, they are not much more than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed only one night here but could not have been more please with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. The hotel is older in style but the staff was so helpful. The surrounding area is a bit run down but it is located within walking distance to many of the sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMFLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

after a fifteen minute 26 euro taxi from catania (taxi taken from strait outside the airport) we were checking into liberty. The photos of liberty worried me a little as I did not realize that the dated opulence of the hotel would transfer into a comfortable and clean hotel. I was wrong to worry. as soon as you enter the hotel you know that you are in sicily. The surrounding areas are a little run down, but do not let this worry you, you are simply in the midst of a hustle and bustle area which means that you are so well located for all of the duomo, shopping and restaurants!

The room was on the ground floor with a window that opens onto the street, but I did not hear a sound in the night! The beds and bedding were immaculate and towels replaced daily!

The breakfast served from 7-1030 was a buffet service of cold meats, cheeses, pastries and cereals but for 3 euros extra you can have a cooked breakfast, I never opted for this but my request for non dairy rice milk was met with no hesitation and no extra cost!

At reception you can ask for any help of information and they will help you and go an extra mile to make sure you do exactly what you want to do in Catania. A map is provided and they will draw out a route. Catania is really easy to explore on foot.

also half an hour walk away is the bus terminal, you could take a taxi but then you wouldnt see catania in the works, you may walk past groups of market sellers but no one bothers you or tries to enforce a sale - these are laid back sicilians!

At the bus terminal you can catch a regular bus to (no 9) taormina (50 mins drive) and explore isola bella, unless you want to just lay on a very quiet beach and then you can get the driver to tell you to get off at stazione
and you can walk by the pebble beach until you find a restaurant on the beach with sun-beds, for 5 euro per person you can lay on the beach all day and get drinks from the restaurant above, there is also a clean beach toilet (free) also at this spot is my fave restaurant il porticciolo

back to the hotel, the shower was good, beds were great, black out shutters in case you do not wake up with the sun and staff so helpful that they should have an award!

also another tip for sicily, if you want to cross the street, walk to where the street had white stripes across it and just start walking across with confidence, the traffic stops for you!

Will always refer friends or family to Liberty!

Room Tip: ground floor was great for us - no need for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night in early June, on our way to Ragusa. We had a traditionally styled room on the ground floor, overlooking the side street, but it was really quiet and comfortable. Surrounding area looked a bit rundown, but hotel was all old style comfort and elegance. Breakfast good. We can't speak too highly of the reception staff: all our luggage had failed to make the connecting flight at Paris Charles de Gaulle, and both evening and morning staff contacted Catania airport and Alitalia in an attempt to track it down. They gave us emergency supplies like toothbrush and toothpaste, and pointed us in the direction of the nearest supermarket for other essentials, and came up,with recommendations the next day for clothes shopping when it became obvious we would be without our luggage for at least 2 days. We would stay here again of we come back to Catania - which really merits more than 24 hours! Thank you Liberty Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemsa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing