We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Catania has undergone a miraculous transformation since my first visit more than 20 years ago and there could be no more fitting symbol of these changes than this absolutely gorgeous little hotel. Where once loomed dark, decrepit and faded mansions, are now beautiful refurbished baroque and neoclassic architectural gems and the Liberty is surely one of the most outstanding examples of this process of restoration.

Light and airy and surprisingly quiet, my room was a haven after the sometimes overwhelmingly boisterous street life. An exquisite attention to detail together with a cosy and serene ambiance envelop you as the doors swing behind you banishing the hustle and bustle outside. Charming staff are ever ready with a greeting and with solutions for any requests. Breakfast was a treat every morning and coffee in the lovely winter garden made for a special memory.

The Liberty is all a small hotel should be - and so much more! I am so pleased that Sicily - a unique and extraordinary island - finally is able to offer a level of hospitality that does it credit. Bravo to the owners, managers and staff of this wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eminvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    210
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
449
59
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We chose a hotel in Catania to spend only one night to get to the airport early and had a pleasant surprise. Not only the atmosphere at the hotel but mainly for the kindness and helpfulness of staff, offered us transportation options, indicate what to see around the hotel and although we left before the time of the breakfast, gave us a full breakfast with everything ... much kindness and professionalism .... CONGRATULATIONS

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inescarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We spent three days at the Liberty Hotel. The staff were extraordinary--helpful in every way. John Paul prepared a meal for us one evening which he served in the lobby. My wife cannot climb stairs so we were served delicious breakfasts in the lobby as well. They arranged a private tour of the Mt. Etna region and recommended a delightful and delcious osteria two blocks away for lunch. The hotel is beautifully appointed with art deco touches.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I can not fault the hotel great service, lovely clean and well decorated rooms but in the most awful location on the planet. if this hotel was in the centre of Rome then it would be the best hotel on the planet. The hotel is is set back from the main Catania centre in a dirty and war worn torn area not that Catania is anything to write home about - bad move on my behalf. I would go to Sicily again but not here in fact i would suggest the only reason to go to Catania is if you want to see the most awful town - black and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbarre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

When you enter this hotel, you can immediately see the elegance and the love to the details which is the theme for the whole hotel. We were greeted extremely friendly, were given lots of useful information about Catania, things to do, etc.
The room was nice, decorated in palazzo style, lots of decoration everywhere, high ceilings and all the usual amenities. We had a room in the ground floor, the upper ones probably have a nicer view, as our window opened directly onto the street. What I also liked was the traditional almond sweet from "Donna Vincenza", which we found on our bed. The next day we went to the Donna Vincenza shop in Catania for some more... That's how you can win new customers…
The lobby is also great, you have wireless internet there, and you can enjoy the beautiful furniture. A good breakfast - including eggs - is served in a nice and small room, and they projected a film about Sicily on the wall, which was nice, as were just on the beginning of our Sicilian adventure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed for one night as we wanted to visit Mount Etna on an sunset trek.

The hotel was perfect for us. We received an upgrade to a suite with a balcony. It was a lovely couple of rooms, with impossibly high ceilings, wooden shutters to keep out the sunshine and nice furniture and decor.

The service could not have been better. Everyone was helpful and made you feel welcome.

Not much to add really. Just a really nice hotel and if we ever came back, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aglaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

service at the hotel is very nice. 5 min walking distance to the center. Conditioner worked just perfect. we stayed at this hotel in 2008 and 2010. taxi from airport costs 30euro. to the airport 25 if arranged by the hotel. Rooms are nice, big and clean. Good night live in walking distance, good restaurants and bars around. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,719 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
544 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing