We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tour with Marco.”

Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trekking, excursions, guided tours with taste of typical Sicilian products while discovering the highest European volcano: mount Etna.
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tour with Marco.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are a family of 4 from Denmark. We went on the Etna top tour with Marco as our guide. It was even better than expected and we learned so much about Etna that we didnt know. Marco's love for Etna is contageous and we were so amazed. The picnic was very tasty sicilian specialties and in a beautiful area. Marco is very good with children and our kids loved him and keep saying "Marco is EPIC!!". Driving off road in a jeep gives a much more exiting experience of Etna, and we are so happy we chose this instead of a bus tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VivianJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marco is terrific!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Marco did an amazing job turning a dodgy situation into a wonderful experience! Etna had been active for the week leading up to our tour and actively erupting while we were there. Was I a nervous Mom? You bet! Did a lightening storm ensue in the middle of the tour? Yep! Did it hail? Yes it did! And yet we had an amazing time. Marco took us up the mountain in his 4-wheel drive, explained the science of lava (and why we should not be concerned about Etna's behavior, "she is a good volcano"); we utilized a small hut for our lunch (to get out of the lightening storm) and enjoyed all of the local delicacies - cheeses, olives, mushrooms, sausages, bread, etc). We were able to walk around a caldera and hike up beautiful ridges - a terrific experience for my family (including my husband and two mature children - ages 17 and 22). Marco is very knowledgeable and friendly, and anticipated all of needs. We may not have had the chance to see everything given the weather but on the way back to our hotel he took us to a coffee bar for espresso and cannoli - an delicious treat. Safely back at the hotel we enjoyed watching the fires shooting up from Etna and felt very fortunate to understand more about her. Thanks again, Marco, for a wonderful day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisainNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great Mt. Etna Experience with Marco”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family of three went on a tour of Mt. Etna with Marco. It was one of the best tours we have ever been on. Marco picked us up on time in Taormina. He is very knowledgeable of the area and the mountain. He prepared a lovely lunch for us. I would recommend this tour to everyone. it was an experience we will never forget and we can thank Marco for this. His enthusiasm was infectious. Thanks Marco!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hiking around mt Etna is the best way to experience the nature of the area”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arranged a private tour with Marco. He was very responsive throughout the process of planning. Marco knows a lot about the area and gave us a full geography/geology lecture during the tour! It is great to have a guide on a tour like this who is ready and willing to share the knowledge. It is the details that can open different perspectives and make one appreciate the place differently. That certainly contributed to the experience. We had a great day. Picnic with the bread made in a local bakery was a nice touch. Would certainly recommend using Etnaround to anyone who would like to explore the area. Thank you, Marco!

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Anastasija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco P, Direttore at Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks for the review,I am very happy you have good memories of the day spent together.
thanks again from your new friend in Sicily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Thanks Marco for a great day out. We learnt lots and saw parts of Mount Etna that we wouldn't have seen if we hadn't gone with Etnaround, well worth paying a bit extra for. Amazing scenery and a fantastic experience. Thank you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing