We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Excursions Etna tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Catania
from US$101.03
More Info
from US$105.62
More Info
from US$63.15
More Info
from US$73.48
More Info
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
144
19
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
19
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning tour lava cave guide luigi picked up from our hotel local produce great morning lovely guide at short notice dropped off cable car olive oil half day excursion excellent tour hiking boots small group sunset tour private tour
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We had a great experience on the Mount Etna! Aristide was great, a lot of fun and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Valeb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

This excursion was the highlight of our trip. Our guide Luigi was very knowledgeable and friendly. We were worried it will be physically demanding but it was a very easy walk.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank leilan516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Great excursion "Etna Summit Craters Tour 3000 mt". My 16 y.o. son and me was delighted to be there with this company. Especially we liked a personal guide Luigi. He speaks fluent English and knows a lot about volcanoes and especially about Etna. The tour was in the 1st half of a day. And i recomend it to all in Catania who wants to see Etna close enough and in a very comfortable way. I decided to go on tour 12 hours prior excursion (to be honest i wasnt sure that is possible) but the company answered to my email and send me all the links and confirmed the possibility. You have to prepaid half the price through the website. It's about 60euro per person. Other half you pay to the guide.Etna excursion up to 2500 mt by cable car € 30 per person (€21 per children 5-10 years).
Etna excursion up to 3000 mt by cable car + jeep + mountain guide € 64 per person. (€ 47 per children 5-10 years). You can rent hiking shoes and other equipment up there on the mountain. It was really cold and windy so it was very convinient to have a warm clothes.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Tarasius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursions Etna E, Manager at Excursions Etna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for choosing us as your guide for your Etna excursion.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Had it not been for the food, this would have been a 5-star review. Our guide, Paolo, was extraordinarily knowledgeable, patient and had a wonderful, dry sense of humor. He had a graduate degree in vulcanology and an excellent command of English, so we learned a great deal about what made Etna special and very different from our rather simplistic understanding of volcanos. While the trip was not really strenuous, it did involve walking up some rather steep inclines on uneven ground on a path that occasionally was narrow enough that it required that we walk single-file, with steep drop-offs to either side. There was no real danger, but between the incline, a slight tendency to agoraphobia by some of our party, and the thin air at about 10,000 ft, we moved at a slower pace than many. James was consistently patient, encouraging and more than gracious about accommodating us.

As noted above, the only negative was the food. After the climb, we stopped at a roadside picnic area for lunch. Paolo put out a tablecloth on the picnic table and then brought out some red wine and a large box of savory pastries. Unfortunately, the pastries were all bread and almost no filling -- very disappointing! For not a lot more expenditure on their part, Excursions Etna could have made this a lovely lunch, but as it was, we ended up digging out what little bits of sausage (that seemed very much like hot dogs), cheese and tomato sauce we could find and tossing the tasteless bread in which it was enfolded.

One other note, we were surprised to find that the "a la carte" cost of the funicular and 4-wheel drive bus -- required for all but the most hardy souls -- was about 70 €, and thus a major piece of the cost of the tour.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank sjs1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursions Etna E, Manager at Excursions Etna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello. We think your review refers to an association different from ours. In our group we do not have Guides that are called Paul and especially in our tours or guided tours we do not carry out roadside picnics.
Can we ask you to delete this review and post it in the correct profile?
Thanks so much.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Climbing Etna was a trip highlight. The climb takes effort as you are walking through deep lava and at times snow/ice. We arranged the trip through our hotel at the last minute. If you call this company directly and arrange your own transportation to the base camp, you can save more than 100 euros. Multiple options are available, but going to the top and viewing the main crater is a must. You need to have reasonably good stamina but the guide takes good care to make sure that everyone keeps up. The company provides boots, socks, and jackets, backpacks and helmets. You will need to buy a lunch to pack at the base station as the hike up and down takes about five-six hours. I would have given five stars but the very beginning starts with confusion as to who to pay, when you leave and what comes next. Once you are hiking, everything is very professional. It is a stunning experience.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews