We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of Da Antonio

Da Antonio
Ranked #8 of 993 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an awesome restaurant with amazing, fresh, local, simple home-made like, very tasty food and wine. Antonio is really nice, helpful, a real expert in restauration, he speaks very good English. I absolutely recommend it, once you try it you will come back again and again, for us it was a real sicilian experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnesivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    268
    75
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Original Sicilian style”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In June I visited Catania and other parts of Sicily. The very best food I had on that trip was served by the family owned Trattoria Da Antonio in Catania - minutes from La Pescharia, the fish market and directly beside Castello Ursino - also a must see. But back to the food at Da Antonio. Fabulous Sicilian flavor and presentation all the way. I had a traditional meal of pasta linguini served in a cloth bag full of seafood and spices all fresh from the fish market no doubt. This little restaurant was such a find as it combines the best of Italian with the long developed Sicilian/Moorish flavours. Quite different from even southern Italian cooking but a must for dinner while in Catania.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very friendly good experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a very nice restaurant close to Castello Ursino. The staff is extremely friendly and the food is delicious. Prices are moderate a very good choice for regional cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leopold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our gorgeous apartment was only a few metres from this lovely restau and so we ate here twice. The food was delicious; perfect involtini, glorious veal, lovely wine and everyone raved about the tiramisu and profiteroles. A wonderful evening made all the better by charming and knowledgeable service.
However the following morning, my daughter was alarmed to find that she had left her handbag at the restau. Antonio had spotted this and kept it safe for us. He would have delivered it immediately but was unsure which buzzer was our apartment. It confirmed our plan to return for our last meal when our son joined us. Food just as delicious that night too.
A lovely relaxing place to eat with great food served by really nice people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprising local restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

They very good food for a reasonable price.
Also the open wines were very good.
Therefore we came 2 times back.
The restaurant was located a bit outside the tourist area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faber2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Antonio also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Da Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing