We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B GiRo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B GiRo
Ranked #9 of 293 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Brilliant experience at this B&B in Catania, Sicily. Our host Roberto couldn't have been more helpful, sending very clear instructions on how to find the B&B. Roberto went out of his way to provide everything we could possibly want for our stay, printing off maps, giving clear instructions on how to find things and recommending excellent eating places.
Rooms were clean and well appointed and the bathroom was amazing. Cannot recommend highly enough, just disappointed we had only booked for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi! Yes unfortunately you staied only one night, but it was enough to meet very kind people like you coming from a country so far from here. I'm very happy you liked your stay here and I hope to see you again. Thank you very much for everything! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
63
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

An exceptional B&B. Facilities are super - a tastefully decorated, spacious room, full of light, comfortable beds, and very quiet. The bathroom provided the best shower we had in Sicily ; wifi was fast and reliable; breakfast excellent and we had access to the kitchen for tea/coffee making and use of fridge. Giro's generous and kindly host, Roberto, is outstanding. He collected us in his car when we muddled his very clear directions from the station nearby, carried our bags upstairs, ascertained our breakfast preferences, provided reliable information on good eating places in the locality and organised a taxi to the airport in the morning. He has created a beautiful and welcoming envionment for his guests. We could stay for only one night, but would certainly return and highly recommend Girò B&B to anyone visiting Catania.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi! I'm very happy for this fantastic review and thank you very much for your words. They make me feel proud and that I'm on the right way. Thanks a lot and hope to see you soon, maybe in Australia. Who knows? Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Roberto was our favorite B&B host during our two-week Italy trip. He was warm, friendly, sincere and very helpful. Few days before we are due to arrive in Catania, Roberto sent us an email to check on our time of arrival and if we need any help to get to B&B GiRo. We had already stayed with many hosts during our holiday, and he was the only one that took the initiative to reach out to us.

Upon arrival, he had this ingenious gadget that transports the luggage all the way up to the top floor (where the apartment is). So no worries, if you have any heavy luggage. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. Cheerful vibe to the room. They are newly-renovated with new furniture, yet still retain parts of the character of the old house. The bed was very comfortable. We had a good view of the street from the big windows. Every photo that is posted on the website, is true representation of what you will get in real life. Location of the B&B is also good, with just 10min to the bus terminal and walking distance to the main sights.

Roberto showed us to the kitchen (which you can use), and told us to help ourselves to the drinks in the refrigerator, anytime during the stay. He was also very nice to accommodate to our early breakfast request, as we needed to catch the bus to Mt Etna. According to my boyfriend, the coffee that Roberto made was the nicest, out of all the B&Bs.

But the thing we were most grateful to Roberto was that he allowed us to deposit our bags in our previously-occupied room for the whole day, as the new occupants would not arrive till the next day. He even trusted us with the keys, even though we have officially checked out in the morning. Because of his kindness, we were able to use the toilet and change out our clothes, after a long day out at Mt Etna.

This B&B may not be the most fancy B&B around, but it is a gem, for such a thoughtful and nice host are rare to find. If we go back to Catania again, it will be GiRo B&B we'll stay in.

(Sorry that the review took so long to come, Roberto!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ningleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi! Wow! Thank you very much for your words! Don't worry, it's never too late for fantastic reviews like yours. I didn't expect something like that. It was a real pleasure receiving such a detailed review and I can say that it's a big reward for the hard work I do every day with the same passion. I really love this job and I'm very happy you like your stay here and my b&b and I hope to see you soon. Thank you again. Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (yes, too short!) in B&B Giró and had a lovely time. The rooms are light and spacious with nice details from the old house. There is a possibility to cook your own meal in the kitchen and Roberto serves a good breakfast! And he is always willing to help with your trip or tips to see and eat in Catania. The B&B is located on walking distance from the train station and the center, so very convenient!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManyColour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi! I'm very happy you like your stay in Catania and in my B&B! Hope to see you soon. Stay in touch! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarslet, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This place is exellent value for your money. It is very clean and close to the center of town. Roberto is a very friendly guy who will help you with everything you need to know. Best not to arrive during rush hour if you can avoid it because traffic can be a bit caotic when trying to find the place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi! Thank you very much for your review! I hope to see you soon. Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Everything was perfect: apartment spacious (we had two-room apartment for 3 persons), clean, bright, furnished with great taste with all facilities you might need (good Wifi)! Ours had a beautiful view from balcony. The location is perfect! It is within a short walk from city's main attractions. The owner, Roberto, will take care of absolutely everything you need: give advice what to do in Catania, give a lesson in Sicilian history, organize your trip. Top man. So funny and careful. You will feel like home. B&B serves great breakfasts of guest's choice. If we come to Catania again, we will definitely choose Giro B&B and we recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paweł W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi! Thank you so much! I'm very happy I had the opportunity to meet the perfect Polish family! I envy you. We had a lot of fun together and I miss you! I hope to see you again soon! Maybe in Poland, but in March, not in November! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Arriving at 6pm at Catania Airport we decided to stay overnight at Catania Center before continuing our travel to the aeolian islands. We looked for a B&B close to the station and center. And the: WOW! Roberto is a wonderful host, helping us with the luggage (he has a funny electronic winch) and giving us plenty of tipps where to eat and what to do. Okay, carrying our 2 year old sleeping daughter into the 5th floor was daddys job. But than, entering the room: 5 Meter ceilings with plenty of antique decorations, a beautiful modern bed and a built in «box» serving as a spatious bathroom. Great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm very happy you like your room and your stay in my B&B, even if indeed it's located on the 3rd floor, not on the 5th. Regards to you and your wife and a kiss to your sweet little child. Hope to see you soon! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#10 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Centro Catania
5 Balconi
5 Balconi
#7 of 293 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B GiRo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B GiRo

Property: B&B GiRo
Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 82, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B GiRo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B GiRo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing