We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!”
Review of B&B GiRo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B GiRo
Ranked #13 of 314 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place is second to none! Roberto was the warmest and most helpful host. He really went above and beyond to accommodate us and help us feel comfortable. He recently opened the B&B fulltime, and he makes it a priority to ensure that his guests are happy. The room was absolutely gorgeous with sound-proofed windows, AC, and an incredibly comfortable bed and pillows (this is especially impressive given that Italy typically offers hard beds and thin pillows – bring a neck support if you stay anywhere else). It was very clean! Also, it has a great location to the few sites that Catania has to offer and an easy 15 minute walk from/to the train station. There are a lot of stairs to his apartment with no elevator, but there’s a lift specifically for bags so that you don’t have to carry them up. He’s flexible on when he offers breakfast, and although the croissants were fantastic, it would have been nice if there was more variety. Overall, it was one of the best B&B experiences we had in Italy – definitely in Sicily – during our month stay, and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scholarjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
66
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have spent 4 nights in B&B Giro beginning of August 2014.
It is complicated to say more than the different great opinions already available !
B&B is very well located in the city, next to the different things to see and next to the different bus stops (airport, beach, etc.).
Pictures posted on the website are completely representative of the reality, as you can see on the pictures we took. Rooms are spacious, clean, bed is confortable, air conditioning is working well, as wifi!
And the last but not the least : Roberto ! He was very caring for us. Always available, very kind, giving a lot of advices for the stay (things to see, restaurant, bus) and proposing a good breakfast every morning (coffee and cappuccino are excellent!)
Do not look for another place to stay in Catania!
Anne-Sophie & Franck

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi! Thank you for your very nice review! Your words are the best prize for all the hard work I'm doing every day since I opened the B&B. And they show me the right way. Thanks again and I hope to see you soon! Regards to AS and you: Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabka-Zdroj, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hostel has the best manager where I ever been ( I travel a lot) Roberto is truly hospitable, helpful, friendly , inteligent and very nice man!He help us when we had problems. He give us many advice, print maps et cetera.

The hostel has great location-everywhere is close by walk!The room are renovated and they are huge with nice furnishings and air conditioning. The bathroom is very cleane. He ave us very delicious breakfast- and it was everything for good price.


I recommend absolutely!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loluska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi girls! Thanks a lot for this splendid review but I don't think my B&B is the best. But I'm doing the best I can and it's a pleasure you have appreciated your stay here. You were very nice too and I hope to see you again, here or in Poland. Kisses to all of you. Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is beyond all doubt one of the best b&b's we have ever stayed at. Roberto is a great host who made us feel very welcome. He gave us thorough introduction to what we should do and where we should eat in Catania. He even took his time to give us an introduction to Italian culture and cuisine!

The room we had was large and clean. It had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

The b&b is located central in Catania and is a short walk from the railway station, airport bus, city center and good restaurants. Despite the central location it is quite and the neighborhood felt safe.

We will definitely return to Giro b&b if we return to Catania!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wulviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi! Thank you very much for your words! It's always a real pleasure receive a review like yours. M. and you were very nice and I'm happy you appreciated your stay here and my suggestions. I hope to see you again soon. Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We loved the journey to Roberto's sweet abode. Tucked neatly on the top floor of a classic old building. Everything is very clean, neat and the hospitality is the best.
Roberto made sure all our needs were met and above. We had great conversations and shared
wonderful stories.

I left a sentimental scarf behind and he promptly popped it in the mail back to London...

We are looking forward to our next trip to Catania! And we have a Great BnB to stay in...
Thank you Roberto! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi S&S! Sometimes guests become friends in a bit. And you are the example of this. Thank you very much for your words. I hope it's ok with the scarf. Kisses! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't come with huge expectations, other than the rave reviews and this mostly because the price was so very reasonable, almost too good to be true. Roberto, the host, was pleasant and helpful from first contact to last. The location is convenient, between bus terminal and Piazza Duomo, a short walk to both. The entry is not glamorous, nor does it need to be. Once we saw the room, we were pleasantly surprised. At a fraction of the price of other places we stayed at in Sicily, we had more space and luxury. The design is tasteful, the room bright, large and we even had a nice view (city, foliage and some sea) from two angles. Wi-Fi worked great, Roberto went out of his way to provide special, healthier, breakfast choices for my other half the next morning despite our early departure and insisted on seeing us off and helping us down with our luggage at 7:15 AM. We only had one night and were flying out of Catania early, but we'd stay here again a next time. Catania itself was a pleasant surprise as well - don't miss the Greek theatre! A different league from the ones in Syracuse and Taormina perhaps, but we loved its mystique, hidden behind residential walls, and it didn't have plastic chairs and wooden floor boards all over, nor the hordes of fellow-travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PistachioGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi! Thank you very much for your splendid review. You were very nice and I'm glad you appreciated my care. I hope we'll continue to stay in touch. See you soon! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Brilliant experience at this B&B in Catania, Sicily. Our host Roberto couldn't have been more helpful, sending very clear instructions on how to find the B&B. Roberto went out of his way to provide everything we could possibly want for our stay, printing off maps, giving clear instructions on how to find things and recommending excellent eating places.
Rooms were clean and well appointed and the bathroom was amazing. Cannot recommend highly enough, just disappointed we had only booked for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto M, Proprietario at B&B GiRo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi! Yes unfortunately you staied only one night, but it was enough to meet very kind people like you coming from a country so far from here. I'm very happy you liked your stay here and I hope to see you again. Thank you very much for everything! Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,719 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 49 in Catania
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat
#10 of 314 in Catania
129 reviews
OttoMood Catania Centro
#1 of 314 in Catania
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B GiRo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B GiRo

Property: B&B GiRo
Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 82, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your B&B GiRo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B GiRo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing