We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We just stayed one nightingale d one day in this hotel.
The decor is verk dark and oldfashioned. Clean room. Nice garden and a ok pool area.
A very quiet place. Very good if you want to relax.
Breakfast buffe' ok, nothing special.
Close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner administrator at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Christina,
Thank You for choosing us and having shared Your personal experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy You liked our garden and our pool. We do our best in order to satisfy our guests: this is our main priority.
I’m sorry You have not enjoyed our internal atmosphere, carefully created manteining the Baroque style that is typical of Catania, (declared a World Heritage Site of Unesco) with the exceptional presence of the sea just across the street. We offer our guests an oasis of charm and peace, in order to guarantee the highest comfort and relax .
We regret that You have not appreciated our breakfast, our pastry-chef prepares every morning a wide variety of cakes, croissants, brioches, fruit tarts, fresh fruits, but also a wide variety of salty food, in order to satisfy different needs and tastes.
We hope You’ll come back and be our Guest again.( If You prefer special meals, just tell us, we try to fulfill our clients as better as possibile.)
You are always welcome at our hotels:
- Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28
- Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    160
    82
    51
    24
See reviews for
53
167
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were really looking forward to a couple of nights at this hotel but were so disappointed with our stay. We had a very bad experience with both reception and the manager and would warn people to be very careful before booking this hotel. We were misled by the hotel when making our booking and treated very badly when there was clearly an error with the booking. We had requested and paid for a bed for our daughter but were told on arrival that there would not be a bed available for her. They could only provide a baby cot which was both dangerous (she could easily of climbed out or tipped over the cot) and uncomfortable for our 3 and half year old daughter. Despite numerous attempts by us the reception and manager were both adamant that this was our problem and there was nothing they could do. We waited an hour and a half (having arrived at 9.30pm at night, I am 6 months pregnant and with a very tired 3 year old). Thankfully the concierge took pity on us (we had nowhere else to go) and attempted to help my husband locate a bed in the hotel. My husband helped him find a bed in another room and to move furniture etc and by 11pm we finally had a bed. 20 minutes later we received a call from reception to say that we would have to pay 40 euro for the additional bed. We were so shocked and insulted by our treatment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EKA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
Google Translation
Cher Jean-Paul,
Tout d'abord, je me excuse pour le retard dans ma réponse et surtout pour votre désagrément. Merci beaucoup pour avoir apprécié notre hôtel et la vue magnifique qu'elle offre. Cependant, je tiens à vous assurer que nous service à la clientèle est la priorité absolue, ce est pourquoi nous sommes profondément désolée qu'il était déçu de vos attentes et de votre séjour dans notre hôtel.
En ce qui concerne vos observations sur la chambre avec terrasse sur la rue, notre hôtel dispose de 104 chambres luxueuses, chacune de la taille, les couleurs et les différents points de vue. La nôtre est une structure qui offre divers éloges pour la qualité des services et du personnel, alors je vais vérifier que l'incident ne se reproduise pas.
Le petit déjeuner est également l'un des notre plus grande fierté, notre Chef Pâtissier prépare chaque matin depuis les heures 04,30 artisanat que brioches, croissants, tartes, tartes aux pommes, et nous demandent toujours les invités se ils aiment un café ou un cappuccino pour démarrer et il semble très étrange que le froid ont été servis.
De plus vous remercier de nous avoir choisi, le nouveau attendre pour lui montrer que les notes ont été mis en évidence déjà résolus.
Simona,
Directeur des relations publiques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely hotel with an incredibly wonderful atmosphere! A perfect place to relax and enjoy the peacefulness of beautiful gardens, amazing outside pool area with a nice bar, excellent staff - so caring, helpful and smiley. The hotel is conveniently located just 5 minutes away from the Fontanarossa Airport, and 5 minutes away from the centre of Catania ( there is a free shuttle offered by the hotel ). Sandy beach is just across the road with the umbrellas and sunbeds provided for the hotel's guests. The room is beautiful, quiet, and very clean with a nice terrace. Breakfast is absolutely delicious! The restaurants offers a great choice of dishes and wine, the service and food is great! WiFi works in most of the public areas of the hotel and in the rooms as well, which is very convenient for business-travellers. Overall, I must say that this hotel is really welcoming and gives you a very warm feeling of being at home. The unique and relaxing atmosphere makes the whole place a true Paradise! I will definitely stay there again! A very big THANK YOU to all the staff & management for doing such a great job!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena19791105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveler,
It’s an enormous pleasure to read Your words. We are happy You have appreciated our hotel and our staff. We do our best in order to sitisfy our costumers: this is our top priority. Reading such a positive and detailed review has been a huge satisfaction for us.
Moreover thank you for appreciating our breakfast, carefully prepared every day by our pastry chef - our pool and our closeness to the airport and the sea, especially chosen to allow our guest to relax and feel comfortable. Furthermore i remind you that the location is prime for excursions, tours, city rounds etc. You could easily reach cities such as Taormina, Siracusa, Enna, etc.. Our closeness to the airport facilitates these trips, beacuse You can take the bus from there to all these destinations.
We hope You will come back and be our guest again. You will always be welcome at our Hotels:
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28 and Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My first impressions:
Despite reading the information on TripAdvisor (presumably put there by the hotel) that there is a free shuttle bus service (as you would have no trouble believing when you book a night at a five-star luxury hotel), when I rang the hotel to organise it, they said the service to and from the airport doesn't exist any more. False advertising, perhaps? I spent 26 Euros on a metered taxi from the airport, even though it's only 3.4 miles away along some winding roads. I can't wait to pay the same to get back to the airport tomorrow... The room is ok: spacious and clean. The view out of the window is blocked out by foliage (though at least the sky far above is nice and blue). The WiFi in the room doesn't work (signal not strong enough to connect properly). I hope the pool is good! I'll find out when I'm settled in (and I'll update this if it changes my overall impressions of the hotel). Feeling slightly grumpy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelseaJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveler,
I’m very sorry about Your feelings towards our Hotel, we try to do our best in order to sitisfy our costumers: this is our top priority! For this reason I would like to answer to Your observations.
I’m sorry to tell you that at the moment the free shuttle bus service is not available. But you can easily reach the airport by bus (the ticket is only 1 euro).
I would like to thank you for appreciating our rooms. Moreover i want to guarantee You that the WiFi connection works well, if You will be our guest again, I invite You to talk to our staff about any eventuality. We are always present and available to satisfy our customers’ needs.
Thanking You for choosing our hotel, and inviting You to be our guest once again,
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Arriving at Catania airport took taxi to hotel 15 mins and 20 euros flat rate.Nice hotel on two floors only,huge gardens, pool and bar, Sky bar and then additional bar.Check in was fine did ask for twin beds but they did not provide.Rooms are spacious but bad lighting.
Breakfast is standard European style with scrambled egg/omellete/hot dog type sausages with chopped tomatoes.The hotel restuarant never ate there.Drinks are on the expensive side.Hotel has free bus shuttle to town centre and you can catch D bus from bus station last bus back is at 9pm 1 euro or taxi 15 euro.
Many thanks to Salvo/Enzo the poolside staff/Paula/Sabrina reception excellent service/Ajay the Bell Boy(man) and Getano gelato at Sky Bar.
Access to private hotel beech across the road with towels sun beds and umbrella.

Room Tip: stay on the second fllor or rooms on ground floor facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelin4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveler,
Thank You for appreciating our hotel and sharing Your personal experience on TripAdvisor. We do our best to sitisfy our guests: it is our top priority.
We are sorry that you never ate at our restaurant. We have obtained many awards for our excellent cuisine. Moreover, our breakfast is carefully prepared every day by our pastry chef, who starts at 4.30 a.m. to prepare cakes, tarts, brioches, fresh fruit, but also scrambled egg/omellete/hot dog type sausages with chopped tomatoes and much more.
Everyone is grateful for what You said.
We hope You will come back and be our guest again. You will always be welcome at our Hotels:
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28 and Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in June with my wife, I thought I had done my research but failed on a few accounts. The Hotel is not a 5 Star establishment, it is in a nice setting with beautiful grounds and pool but inside it's dark and gloomy. The rooms are reasonable in size with a decent balcony but there is a distinct lack of wardrobe/drawer space. We booked a deluxe room and had a pool view and balcony, I think that was the only difference between the deluxe and the superior and classic rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant as there was limited choice of food and it was quite expensive. Not a lot of eateries in the nearby area except for a Chinese buffet restaurant which is worth a look, otherwise it's a trip into Catania. If you plan to visit the beach you have to cross a fairly busy main road but don't be fooled by thinking you will be safe on the zebra crossing. The car drivers have total disregard for pedestrian safety so be very careful, a car stopped for me whilst I was crossing only to get horn blowing and abuse from the driver behind him. The one positive thing I will say about this hotel is that the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and courteous and the hotel management should be very grateful for their hard work and efforts. Talking of the hotel management, it would be nice to see a few comments/replies to the reviews posted about their establishment.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quiet as the Hotel is located in it's own grounds away from noise/traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MondoMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear traveler,
Thank You for choosing our hotel and sharing Your personal experience on tripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure for us reading that you have appreciated our staff, our grounds and pool. Our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority; for this reason i would like to answer to Your observations:
We are sorry that You have not enjoyed our internal atmosphere, carefully chosen in order to result quiet, comfortable and elegant. We have mainteined the Baroque style that is typical of Catania, (declared a World Heritage Site of Unesco) with the exceptional presence of the sea just across the street.
It’s a pity You have never eaten at our restaurant. We have obtained many awards for our excellent cuisine. If You found our choice of food limited, You could easily ask our chef to prepare something different, in order to satisfy Your needs and tastes. We are pleased to fulfill every request of our guests.
We regret that You have not appreciated the area in general. But our Hotel has a strategic site that facilitates many excursions, activities or city tours, such as Taormina, Siracusa, Enna, etc. (all destinations that could be reached by bus from the airport, which is near to us.) Moreover You could easily reach the city center from our Hotel. We offer a free shuttle bus service that brings our Guest to the centre of Catania in less than 10 minutes.
If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know. We deeply hope You will come back and be our guest again.
You will always be welcome at our Hotels:
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28 and Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Cristina,
Public Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My original booked hotel, another 'Palace'....turned out to be a huge exaggeration so I didn't stay, and eventually arrived at the Romano Palace Luxury Hotel around 10 p.m. Reception was dead. Bar closed 10.30. My room lacked the usual 5 star facilities; no kettle, tea/coffee, no comp. bottled water, no iron, worn out towels, and they'd given me a twin so just a single bed. Didn't feel luxury. Breakfast pleasant enough. Big room, big flat screen, big balcony. Pool looked clean & deep, & beach club over the busy road. And a free car park. If you are staying in the centro with a car expect to pay 12 euro a night parking. Romano seemed overpriced for its over-hyped stars but if you are touring by car & want both the city & sun-bathing then it could do. It's easy to find on the lido playa road out of town, but don't expect chocolates on your pillow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartSheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIUSEPPE R, Owner administrator at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for choosing us and having shared your personal experience on TripAdvisor.
I wanted to answer to Your observations:
Our reception is opened and available 24 hours a day. Maybe our receptionist was away for a moment, but it wasn’t dead, I guarantee You. The same for our Bar, it usually closes at 1:00 a.m.
Moreover, We provide kettle for free, just asking to our reception, and we also guarantee a laundry service that is available 24 hours a day. Our towels are changed monthly, and we buy them by Rivolta and Carmignani.
We do our best in order to satisfy our guests: their well-being is our top-priority.
If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know.
We hope You will come back and be our Guest again.
You will always be welcome at our Hotels:
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel (5 Stars) near the seaside, in Viale Kennedy 28 and Romano House (4 stars) in the city center, in Via Giovanni di Prima 20.
Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romano Palace Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

Property: Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Address: Viale Presidente Kennedy 28, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#4 Green Hotel in Catania
#7 Business Hotel in Catania
#14 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Romano Palace Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romano Palace Luxury Hotel rises in an ideal location on the seafront of Catania. Immersed in 25,000 square metres of private gardens, where the arabics fountains and a swimming pool with Jacuzzi create a charming and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is an enchanted oasis between the Baroque of the city and the sea, overlooked by the great and magic presence of Mount Etna .Just a few minutes far from Catania historical centre and Vincenzo Bellini airport, both easily accessible with the free shuttle service of the hotel and only three minutes away from the touristic port and motorway junctions. Romano Palace is the best place where to enjoy the attractions of Catania and the beauties of Sicily in absolute freedom and privacy.The style of the hotel is the result of a long search between West and East, thus creating a unique mixture of Arabic atmosphere that crowns in a huge Hall. One hundred and four are the rooms and suites, each with its own style and the top of all modern comforts.Outdoors and indoors spaces are all multifunctional, meant to reach the guest’s comfort and care his privacy. The gardens and the fountains, the lounge bar, the swimming pool with its bar, the summer restaurant “Tokai Garden” and the panoramic roof garden “Papavero Blu”, the gourmet restaurant “ Coriandolo”, with its intimate and refined atmosphere. The “Posidonia” restaurant ideal for banquets, gala dinners ,and business lunches.A great balance between elegance and modern technologies in the plenary meeting room with a capacity of 330 seats and control room. Exhibition areas, and eight break out rooms all equipped with blacked out modular panels , modern and comfortable in their style.Romano Palace hotel is the ideal place where to satisfy your wishes and needs: Come and find out the pleasure to be cuddled in a luxury Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Romano Palace Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romano Palace Luxury Catania
Hotel Romano Palace Luxury
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing