We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous location but hotel was an oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hotel La Ville
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Catania
neilyates@aol.com
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dangerous location but hotel was an oasis!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having two encounters with people trying to steal my wife's bag and being told to stay in the hotel by a local shopkeeper due to people with knives who may target tourists, I would strongly advise people to avoid this area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JWaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    38
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
24
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night, arriving late in the evening and transferring to Taormina the following day.

Positives:
- Walking distance from Bus Station
- Quiet
- Clean

Others have commented the hotel is in a dodgy area. We have travelled quite extensively including developing countries and I can say that at no time did we feel unsafe, even arriving late at night. Yes the area is run down and generally dirty, but hey, that is Catania (and most of Sicily actually!!)

Would recommend this hotel for a brief stopover, or for anyone unfortunate enough to have to spend more time in Catania!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very good ,quiet hotel
Nice property recently renovated ,near of places
with interest.
Good insonorisation in rooms and proper furniture
And bads of good quality.
Internet and tv works very well.
Bathroom as well good quality
Beautiful lounge and restaurant
Only 14 rooms but good quality

Room Tip: Room 203. Is very quiet and good dimension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDORODRIGUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is a good value for money, decent breakfast, nice staff, internet working.
The city of Catania is not a safe one, though: my girlfriend had her hand bag snatched out by a man on a scooter as we walked from the hotel to the bus station in the morning, 9 am (3 min walk). Really shocking experience which make think twice about coming back to the city. My recommendation is not to walk around with things that can be stolen in this way, but to place valuables in a solid backpack that can be fastened tightly.
Catania is probably not a place I would recommend for staying. Rather grim, not safe and with not much to see. Stay outside and visit on a day trip by public transport (traffic jams and parking problems make driving unpleasant).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _Wanderer__24242_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I would def stay at La Ville again! We actually booked this room on the way down from Palmero that day and we were very surprised. It was close to the train and bus station which worked well for us. It was a little confusing for us to find but after we found it, we were so happy. We checked into room 103 and it was HUGE. The bathroom was HUGE as well. We were on a mission to get to Mt Etna and we did that day. The lovely receptionist called the tour group for us and set it all up. They also had a computer for us to book our next rooms( we were on the road without a computer). The rooms were clean. Clean towels and sheets. The area is a little scary if you are not used to the city, but we were fine. The receptionist showed us where two stores were. We came back with a bottle of wine and they opened it for us. (corny but really nice). The night time desk guy was super nice as well. He printed out the train and bus information for us. My girlfriend and I were very happy with this hotel and would def stay here again.

Room Tip: The street is very quiet so we had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamisou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is smallish and gorgeous - high Sicilian vaulted ceilings, earth-tone colours, terrifically well maintained. The staff are helpful and will make you a cappuchino on request! Importantly, it is close to the major pedestrian mall (oh la la - the shops and restaurants!), old market, museum, and tourist buses. Sicily is full of friendly, easy-going people and one feels safe anywhere in Catania and in this hotel in particular.

Room Tip: Sunshine pervaded our room and every ray was welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We booked through Expedia because of positive reviews and proximity to the train station. We arrived in Catania late at night (10:30pm) and planned to travel the next day. We were met at the airport by a friendly taxi driver, which made it much easier.
We were delighted by the size and comfort of the room and the modern fittings. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were able to walk with our bags to the train station the next day, although the area is a bit rundown. It seemed quite safe, although the bus depot nearby seems to be a good place to avoid at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Agathae
Hotel Agathae
#29 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#22 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art & Jazz Hotel
#10 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#27 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel La Ville

Property: Residence Hotel La Ville
Address: Via Claudio Monteverdi 15, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel La Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Hotel La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Catania
Residence Hotel La Ville Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing