We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel basic location terrible”
Review of Hotel Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nettuno
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel basic location terrible”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We visited this hotel last week and stayed just one night - we were due to spend a week there. The hotel is situated on a main road which separates it from the sea. You can't say beach as it is just rocks covered in rubbish. The location is dreadful. No bars or restaurants just a few tatty looking panini vans. Pavements in pieces with large pot holes, surrounding buildings in poor repair. Hotel very tired and shabby. Rooms outdated, skirting boards missing, two rusty chairs on a balcony, dead plants in balcony boxes, no drawers, only tepid hot water.......just horrible in every sense.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    173
    141
    49
    17
See reviews for
49
85
21
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our italy tour. The hotel seems quite geared towards business functions and wedding receptions, not really to foreign travellers. Reception seemed constantly put out by us asking small things...where to get the bus, and we were disappointed that when we asked for a map, it was just handed over without them pointing out the are, right in the city centre that is a NO GO at night! We accidently walked into it on our first night and it was full of prstitires, pimps and men with knives in hands. and a burning car! It is just things like that which would of made a big difference to our stay here. also, in the summer the inside bar isnt open, just the pool bar is but every single night there is a wedding/function/party by the pool so didnt really feel like we could gate crash for a drink! The rooms and bathrooms to me were not 4* and not too sure what we paid extra for when we booked as there was nothing special about it. So, dont want to be all negative...pool was nice, area (once you get used to it) has a few good places to eat which are cheap and very friendly (and our italian is very basic!) but make sure you reaslise it is not touristy, so no english translations! Restaurant staff were nice in the morning and the breakfast was good.

So, I would stay here again, now I know the area, the city, etc but do realise, that this seemed to be more of a 3* hotel (in english terms anyway), and it is about 2-3km from Piazza Dunno which was about 15 euros. there are buses outside but you never know how long it will take to arrive...we waited an hour!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtownards,n.ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

i spent 3 days at this hotel in july and really enjoyed it.the location is superb,right on the sea front with private access to the lava/rocky sea shore.the taxi ride into catania is only 10 euro.our room was good with a sea view,the pool was excellent and the staff at the poolside bar were really friendly and helpful ,and surprisingly the prices were very reasonable.however the front of house staff were not really friendly .however a real revelation was the restaurant - very good-though it is a pity that not many guests used it as the food was way better than anything we had in catania.a problem though was complete lack of internet access-which was a real pain.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Nettuno for 7 days in mid-September. We wanted somewhere in/close to Catania with a beach/pool. Overall we had a good stay and the staff do put in a lot of effort. There was a sense that this could be a really good hotel if they would just sort out a few things.

I'll start with the good points. The hotel was clean, it has a decent sized pool, and it has access to a private 'beach'. The 'beach' is actually just decking on top of the rocks with steps going down into the sea. Sun loungers and towels are provided and there is a life guard. It is nice, although quite small and could probably only hold 20-25 people at any one time. The staff on the front desk were good and very helpful. The majority of them spoke decent English. The restaurant was good with views of Etna. Our room was an okay size with a balcony overlooking the sea. The decor was slightly dated, as was the TV but there was a Sky box and it had a good range of channels. The standard of cleaning was high, to the point of cleaning the hair out of hairbrushes!

The area around the hotel has a small fairground (although it doesn't open until later at night), there were a few restaurants around it, a late night market selling all sorts of stuff, and a supermarket next door.

Now the bad points - in no particular order.

Firstly, there were a number of instances where attention to detail was poor. When we arrived the TV/Sky box in the room wasn't connected and there cables where all over the place. Once it was connected we had to get the remote control from reception - except they forgot to put batteries in it. We used the plastic cups in the room and the cleaners forgot to replace them. Nothing major but enough to be annoying and give you that sinking feeling when you need to speak to reception for the 3rd time in a day (although as noted above nothing was ever a problem to resolve).

Secondly, the breakfast was pretty basic. The breakfast cereals were substitutes rather than brands and served in little tiny bowls. There was a very limited range of food, and once it was gone it was gone so you arrived late at your peril. It was surprising given that the restaurant was so good.

Thirdly, if you want to use Catania as a base and travel around this is not the hotel for you. I've read in a couple of places it's 600m from the historic centre. I think they've missed out a zero. The train station is a good 30 minute walk away (10-15 Euro by taxi dependent on whether you have luggage), and the main centre of Catania is another 15-20 minute walk beyond that. You can reach one of the main shopping streets in about 15 minutes but it's nowhere near any of the sites. There is bus stop beside the hotel and one bus that runs all day until after 11pm (No. 534). The bus takes between 10 and 25 minutes depending on the traffic. It supposed to come every 20-25 minutes but we waited as long as 40 minues for it. In a typically relaxed Sicilian way you'll betold that the bus comes 'when it comes'.

One other thing to mention is that it does promote itself as a business and conference hotel. While we stayed there were 3-4 weddings and several conferences. The main issue here is that the pool area and the reception area for weddings are connected so the wedding guests use the pool area. On one day we had to go through the wedding party (in our swimming costumes) to get to the pool.

  • Liked — Beach and pool facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DWAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Very nice room ambiance. Our room had dark wooden headpanel... which gave us a 'homey' feeling. Location (in-town) was alright... a grocery store just beside it. Might need to take a bus or drive to town (Catania). Mount Etna is close by (drive). Our room half-faced the sea, not much to see at night, but very pleasant in the morning hours. Price-wise - it was higher than we expected being in the winter. Breakfast was included, very hearty (as they usually are in Italian hotels).

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Just2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

We stayed here for a one night stopover in Catania. The room was very large compared to most European hotel rooms, would be comfortable for an extended stay. Our room had a nice view overlooking the swimming pool and the sea across the street. The hotel is north of the city center, about 30-45 minutes walking time to the main shopping areas and sightseeing. Taxi from the train station was E13,00 and taxi to the airport was about E50,00. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful, some spoke English.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 July 2005

Modern four storey hotel with nice clean pool; on the front separated by a busy road, underpass takes you to the sea, rocks and bathing platforms. No beach.
Rooms well furnished but small, quiet air con and good sound insulation. Had a balcony with sea view but no chairs, or table there!
Worst breakfast out of the four hotels we visited, buffet style as usual but almost nothing replenished.
Hotel seems geared to business users rather than vacationers.
Nothing to seriously dislike.
davidroy@davidroy.plus.com

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nettuno

Property: Hotel Nettuno
Address: Viale Ruggero di Lauria 121, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#7 Family Hotel in Catania
#15 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nettuno 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettuno Hotel Catania
Hotel Nettuno Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing