We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nettuno
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were here for 6 days. We found the hotel to be spotless & all the staff very friendly & helpful.

We would however suggest that you don't request a room with a view of Etna. These rooms are at the back of the hotel. Etna can be seen (at a distance) but you do get a good view of the local supermarket!

The buffet at breakfast was excellent, good choice always available whether it was start or end of service.

We would say the hotel is within walking distance of Catania. There is a wonderful cafe/bar less than 5 mins from the hotel entrance. There are also a couple of small restuarants about 10 mins stroll away which we found to be excellent value.

At this point I am begining to wonder if we were in the same hotel as the previous reviewers!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    183
    152
    53
    22
See reviews for
56
98
22
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I am staying at this hotel at the moment unfortunately. Waste of money. The staff have no idea what is going on in the hotel, one minute the beach is open, the next its not. Facilities in the rooms are out of date or non existent. Its in the middle of a motorway or very busy noisy road with cars day and night. I had to pay a single supplement and got two twin beds when I wanted a double, its a really really bad hotel.Breakfast staff couldn't be bothered to put cutlery on the tables for breakfast or fill up coffee etc. Go elsewhere for better value. If in a conference group probably ok, if a tourist, no way. A 2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

Youghal, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was here for four nights as part of a group tour on a half board basis. Breakfast was just standard and if you weren't down before 9.15 then you missed out because when food starting running out it was not replenished. Dinner the first night was fine but the second two nights were revolting. They say they are four star but not for food in my books...by a mile.

The location is a €20 taxi ride from the old town. Busy road in front but a nice view to the sea. There is a "hop on-hop off" sightseeing bus that stops close to the hotel which is only €5. There are few coffee shops and bars close to the hotel.

Room was clean and nicely furnished. Reception staff were professional but the restaurant staff were quite off-putting and it seemed like being a guest was a real ordeal for them.



...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hotel Nettuno, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest
We thank you for commenting your experience during your stay at the Hotel Nettuno on Tripadvisor.

Our main objective is improving day by day our service in order to satisfy better our guests through their experiences and their reviews.

We regret if in some occasions your experience with our breakfast and dinner service was not up of your expectation, although you confirmed that the first dinner was fine.

Unfortunately sometimes when there are more groups eating at the restaurant at the same time, it’s hard to keep the buffet fully replenished and with the rest of service, so we apologise if that happened in some circumstances.
Our restaurant waiters are always attentive and polite, probably the restaurant fully booked by groups at the same time created some difficulties in the service.
Please also do not underestimate the problem of communication in a foreign language (like English) that sometimes, during peak hours, for young waiters, may become a real ordeal for them, in terms of misunderstanding, confusion and waste of energy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We visited this hotel last week and stayed just one night - we were due to spend a week there. The hotel is situated on a main road which separates it from the sea. You can't say beach as it is just rocks covered in rubbish. The location is dreadful. No bars or restaurants just a few tatty looking panini vans. Pavements in pieces with large pot holes, surrounding buildings in poor repair. Hotel very tired and shabby. Rooms outdated, skirting boards missing, two rusty chairs on a balcony, dead plants in balcony boxes, no drawers, only tepid hot water.......just horrible in every sense.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our italy tour. The hotel seems quite geared towards business functions and wedding receptions, not really to foreign travellers. Reception seemed constantly put out by us asking small things...where to get the bus, and we were disappointed that when we asked for a map, it was just handed over without them pointing out the are, right in the city centre that is a NO GO at night! We accidently walked into it on our first night and it was full of prstitires, pimps and men with knives in hands. and a burning car! It is just things like that which would of made a big difference to our stay here. also, in the summer the inside bar isnt open, just the pool bar is but every single night there is a wedding/function/party by the pool so didnt really feel like we could gate crash for a drink! The rooms and bathrooms to me were not 4* and not too sure what we paid extra for when we booked as there was nothing special about it. So, dont want to be all negative...pool was nice, area (once you get used to it) has a few good places to eat which are cheap and very friendly (and our italian is very basic!) but make sure you reaslise it is not touristy, so no english translations! Restaurant staff were nice in the morning and the breakfast was good.

So, I would stay here again, now I know the area, the city, etc but do realise, that this seemed to be more of a 3* hotel (in english terms anyway), and it is about 2-3km from Piazza Dunno which was about 15 euros. there are buses outside but you never know how long it will take to arrive...we waited an hour!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtownards,n.ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

i spent 3 days at this hotel in july and really enjoyed it.the location is superb,right on the sea front with private access to the lava/rocky sea shore.the taxi ride into catania is only 10 euro.our room was good with a sea view,the pool was excellent and the staff at the poolside bar were really friendly and helpful ,and surprisingly the prices were very reasonable.however the front of house staff were not really friendly .however a real revelation was the restaurant - very good-though it is a pity that not many guests used it as the food was way better than anything we had in catania.a problem though was complete lack of internet access-which was a real pain.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Nettuno for 7 days in mid-September. We wanted somewhere in/close to Catania with a beach/pool. Overall we had a good stay and the staff do put in a lot of effort. There was a sense that this could be a really good hotel if they would just sort out a few things.

I'll start with the good points. The hotel was clean, it has a decent sized pool, and it has access to a private 'beach'. The 'beach' is actually just decking on top of the rocks with steps going down into the sea. Sun loungers and towels are provided and there is a life guard. It is nice, although quite small and could probably only hold 20-25 people at any one time. The staff on the front desk were good and very helpful. The majority of them spoke decent English. The restaurant was good with views of Etna. Our room was an okay size with a balcony overlooking the sea. The decor was slightly dated, as was the TV but there was a Sky box and it had a good range of channels. The standard of cleaning was high, to the point of cleaning the hair out of hairbrushes!

The area around the hotel has a small fairground (although it doesn't open until later at night), there were a few restaurants around it, a late night market selling all sorts of stuff, and a supermarket next door.

Now the bad points - in no particular order.

Firstly, there were a number of instances where attention to detail was poor. When we arrived the TV/Sky box in the room wasn't connected and there cables where all over the place. Once it was connected we had to get the remote control from reception - except they forgot to put batteries in it. We used the plastic cups in the room and the cleaners forgot to replace them. Nothing major but enough to be annoying and give you that sinking feeling when you need to speak to reception for the 3rd time in a day (although as noted above nothing was ever a problem to resolve).

Secondly, the breakfast was pretty basic. The breakfast cereals were substitutes rather than brands and served in little tiny bowls. There was a very limited range of food, and once it was gone it was gone so you arrived late at your peril. It was surprising given that the restaurant was so good.

Thirdly, if you want to use Catania as a base and travel around this is not the hotel for you. I've read in a couple of places it's 600m from the historic centre. I think they've missed out a zero. The train station is a good 30 minute walk away (10-15 Euro by taxi dependent on whether you have luggage), and the main centre of Catania is another 15-20 minute walk beyond that. You can reach one of the main shopping streets in about 15 minutes but it's nowhere near any of the sites. There is bus stop beside the hotel and one bus that runs all day until after 11pm (No. 534). The bus takes between 10 and 25 minutes depending on the traffic. It supposed to come every 20-25 minutes but we waited as long as 40 minues for it. In a typically relaxed Sicilian way you'll betold that the bus comes 'when it comes'.

One other thing to mention is that it does promote itself as a business and conference hotel. While we stayed there were 3-4 weddings and several conferences. The main issue here is that the pool area and the reception area for weddings are connected so the wedding guests use the pool area. On one day we had to go through the wedding party (in our swimming costumes) to get to the pool.

  • Liked — Beach and pool facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DWAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Plaza Hotel Catania
#7 of 49 in Catania
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
220 reviews
Le Dune Sicily Hotel
#38 of 49 in Catania
95 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nettuno

Property: Hotel Nettuno
Address: Viale Ruggero di Lauria 121, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#7 Family Hotel in Catania
#15 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nettuno 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettuno Hotel Catania
Hotel Nettuno Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing