We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement!”
Review of Hotel Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nettuno
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We found this hotel to be reasonably comfortable, although situated by a busy main road. The main cause for complaint was the very poor selection of evening meals. For example turkey slices with boiled potatoes and slices carrots. Hardly a Sicilian speciality! No imagination shown at all. Breakfast was chaotic with far too many people chasing far too little food. On several occasions there were no cups, plates, saucers available at all. The watery scrambled egg was completely cold all the time and the hot water dispenser mostly warm. The staff were under resourced but tried their best. Felt we were treated like second class citizens in the dining room. Saga take note!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertH646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights at the end of a tour of Italy and Sicily and although we had a fabulous holiday we felt that this hotel did not live up to expectations. The quality of the food was very poor indeed although we felt that perhaps other guests were getting better food as there were a number of weddings/confirmation parties taking place and we could not imagine the Sicilians eating food of that standard. The staff did their very best and were helpful and friendly but there was a distinct lack of management to aid smooth running of the restaurant - some people at our table had already finished their meal before ours arrived, as plates were always cold food had to be eaten immediately. The pool was closed although it was warm enough to have enjoyed a swim. The hotel fronts a busy main road and there were some dubious characters hanging around outside whom we saw trying car doors and boots. The rooms were clean and comfortable, however, overall we felt that this hotel could provide a better service for their guests if the catering and management were improved upon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Having stayed five days at Aga Hotel I moved over to Hotel Nettuno to a wonderful room with a balcony towards the sea. This hotal is more expensive than Aga but so much nicer and more confortable. The personnel is charming especially LATIFA at the reception! The food was very good - the chef even prepared for me the dishes I asked for.
A beautiful hotel by the Mediterrean - the big swimming pool opens only on the 1st of May and there is some traffic at night if you have a sea view, but enjoy the Mediterrean! Behind you have mount Etna.
My compliments to the hotel!

Room Tip: Do you want the Mediterrean and some traffic at night or Mount Etna and silence?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlandMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were here for 6 days. We found the hotel to be spotless & all the staff very friendly & helpful.

We would however suggest that you don't request a room with a view of Etna. These rooms are at the back of the hotel. Etna can be seen (at a distance) but you do get a good view of the local supermarket!

The buffet at breakfast was excellent, good choice always available whether it was start or end of service.

We would say the hotel is within walking distance of Catania. There is a wonderful cafe/bar less than 5 mins from the hotel entrance. There are also a couple of small restuarants about 10 mins stroll away which we found to be excellent value.

At this point I am begining to wonder if we were in the same hotel as the previous reviewers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I am staying at this hotel at the moment unfortunately. Waste of money. The staff have no idea what is going on in the hotel, one minute the beach is open, the next its not. Facilities in the rooms are out of date or non existent. Its in the middle of a motorway or very busy noisy road with cars day and night. I had to pay a single supplement and got two twin beds when I wanted a double, its a really really bad hotel.Breakfast staff couldn't be bothered to put cutlery on the tables for breakfast or fill up coffee etc. Go elsewhere for better value. If in a conference group probably ok, if a tourist, no way. A 2 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was here for four nights as part of a group tour on a half board basis. Breakfast was just standard and if you weren't down before 9.15 then you missed out because when food starting running out it was not replenished. Dinner the first night was fine but the second two nights were revolting. They say they are four star but not for food in my books...by a mile.

The location is a €20 taxi ride from the old town. Busy road in front but a nice view to the sea. There is a "hop on-hop off" sightseeing bus that stops close to the hotel which is only €5. There are few coffee shops and bars close to the hotel.

Room was clean and nicely furnished. Reception staff were professional but the restaurant staff were quite off-putting and it seemed like being a guest was a real ordeal for them.



...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest
We thank you for commenting your experience during your stay at the Hotel Nettuno on Tripadvisor.

Our main objective is improving day by day our service in order to satisfy better our guests through their experiences and their reviews.

We regret if in some occasions your experience with our breakfast and dinner service was not up of your expectation, although you confirmed that the first dinner was fine.

Unfortunately sometimes when there are more groups eating at the restaurant at the same time, it’s hard to keep the buffet fully replenished and with the rest of service, so we apologise if that happened in some circumstances.
Our restaurant waiters are always attentive and polite, probably the restaurant fully booked by groups at the same time created some difficulties in the service.
Please also do not underestimate the problem of communication in a foreign language (like English) that sometimes, during peak hours, for young waiters, may become a real ordeal for them, in terms of misunderstanding, confusion and waste of energy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We visited this hotel last week and stayed just one night - we were due to spend a week there. The hotel is situated on a main road which separates it from the sea. You can't say beach as it is just rocks covered in rubbish. The location is dreadful. No bars or restaurants just a few tatty looking panini vans. Pavements in pieces with large pot holes, surrounding buildings in poor repair. Hotel very tired and shabby. Rooms outdated, skirting boards missing, two rusty chairs on a balcony, dead plants in balcony boxes, no drawers, only tepid hot water.......just horrible in every sense.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Catania
Plaza Hotel Catania
#6 of 49 in Catania
493 reviews
3.6 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
3.6 mi away
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Dune Sicily Hotel
Le Dune Sicily Hotel
#35 of 49 in Catania
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Catania Excelsior
Mercure Catania Excelsior
#18 of 49 in Catania
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nettuno

Address: Viale Ruggero di Lauria 121, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#7 Family Hotel in Catania
#15 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £74 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nettuno 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettuno Hotel Catania
Hotel Nettuno Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing