We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel Nettuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nettuno
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I 've stayed at Htl.Nettuno with a group on March 2014.The hotel is in a very good location by the sea just 3 kilometres from Catania city center.Rooms are spacious and very well equiped clean and comfortable.All personel is very nice and helpful.Reception very friently.The restaurant is very good offering local dishes and different wines.Breakfast very rich and tasty.Don't miss the little canolli.Just behide is a big supermarket and a few caffeterias nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel ticked most of the boxes for a mens veterans hockey team playing in a tournament at Catania. The staff were very welcoming ( the reception staff in particular) and the breakfast each morning was excellent. Given that we tour with our own pianist , the piano in the bar area was much appreciated.
Yes, the rooms are a little dated in decor, but they were clean and perfectly confortable. You can forgive most things when you have a balcony and a sea view to die for.
I would certainly stay at the Nettuno again if I return to Catania.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollybolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We too stayed at this hotel as the final part of an escorted Saga tour to Southern Italy and felt it didn't live up to the overall standard of the holiday. The room was far too small for a double room, the bathroom was even smaller and the shower cubicle even smaller again. It was almost impossible to move while taking a shower especially as the door didn't fit and the bathroom then flooded. The room became claustrophobic especially as the furniture was dark brown and depressing; going out on the balcony gave an overall view of the next door supermarket car park. The electric circuits tripped regularly; the air conditioning was erratic and the beds hard.
Other large groups staying caused chaos at meal times with the waiting staff unable to replenish dishes at the breakfast buffet fast enough. Breakfast food not too bad but the fresh fruit was dreadful and the evening meals were at times disgusting.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in September 2013 - the final part of an escorted Saga tour to Southern Italy and Sicily. We had been told that the hotel had been recently refurbished but this might have applied to the public areas but certainly not the first floor bedroom we had. We certainly had a sea view - across a busy and very noisy main road together with the view of the funfair situated right next door. The room was 'tired' with torn wallpaper, a cracked balcony window, a shower door that allowed the bathroom floor to flood on every use, no hot water one evening and electric circuits that tripped regularly.

But far worst was the food! We had a limited selection every night - a choice from 3 starters, 3 mains and 2/3 puddings. Of the starters, the pasta was okay, but the mains were a disgrace. Uninspired British canteen food of the 1960's - either overcooked or cold with vegetables either overcooked or undercooked but definitely served cold. If they were working to a budget to satisfy the tour company they were certainly saving money.

The first part of our tour was fantastic - no complaints and I have had 7 holidays in Italy and enjoyed every one until I came across Hotel Nettuno - if I could give it a minus star rating I would award them -5*.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

3 night stay.
Good: nice friendly staff particularly reception, good views from sea view rooms, rooms nicely decorated except see below, breakfast service typically Italian with lacklustre service but adequate food.
Bad: very loud air con units on roof of hotel so high floor rooms in main block could be a problem, lifts made a crashing sound when stopping which makes it difficult to sleep, rooms need refurbishment and some TLC, location is well out of town so good restaurants are a taxi ride away.
All in all not what we had hoped for but not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjk55017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

ROOMS. The hotel reception promises far more than you get. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and we were lucky enough to get a side view of the sea from our balcony - some poor guests overlooked the social housing at the back. However the fittings and fixtures need attention. Guests on our tour found various problems on checking in i.e. electrics, lights, fridges, safes and TVs not working - our Sky TV didn't work. Staff are quick to carry out repairs but rooms should be properly checked over after each departure. Finishes were hanging off the light shades in our room and the quilt cover actually had wear holes in it!
FOOD: Although the breakfast wasn't bad, and staff kept an eye open to top up as needed, on an island where everything grows in cheap abundance where was the huge bowl of fresh fruit? We had this everywhere else we stayed in Southern Italy except here. The evening meal ranged from just about OK to awful as the old turkey slices and soggy carrots raised their ugly heads again. Unacceptable.
STAFF. Always pleasant and tried hard to be helpful.However, there is a management malaise afflicting this hotel - what kind of manager has a busy Saturday night off? Don't they want tourists to stay here?
POSITION: on a busy coast road, two minutes from the sea and nearest supermarket, about 4km from the old town.
Finally, I'm horrified that Saga send their ageing clientèle to Catania never mind this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - find a hotel with better ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniegetcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent four days at this hotel. The hotel staff were excellent from reception to catering. The food was typical Sicilian....Delisioso. The dining staff were very accommodating to our needs. Most rooms have sea views with balcony. Our room was spacious, clean, sea view and plenty of towles. The pool is wonderful and extremely clean.
Again our stay at this hotel was wonderful.

Room Tip: Great modern hotel, but not in the center of Catania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
3.6 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Catania
Plaza Hotel Catania
#6 of 49 in Catania
507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Dune Sicily Hotel
Le Dune Sicily Hotel
#37 of 49 in Catania
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nettuno

Address: Viale Ruggero di Lauria 121, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#7 Family Hotel in Catania
#15 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £73 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nettuno 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nettuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettuno Hotel Catania
Hotel Nettuno Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing