We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location and gorgeous views of Etna”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent central location and gorgeous views of Etna”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would recommend this hotel for: the helpful staff, gorgeous views of Etna, central location, excellent breakfast and Happy Hour buffet.
On the minus side: the hardest mattress I have ever slept on, paying extra to use the Steam Room/Turkish bath.
Tip: The breakfast on the First Floor is absolutely superb. There is no need to pay an extra €10 per head for the privilege of enjoying breakfast on the Etnea Roof Terrace. Have you breakfast and then go upstairs and admire the view, saving yourself some money in the process !

Room Tip: Check the mattress before agreeing to occupancy of the room - ours was harder than a bed of lava on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathandeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    599
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
290
666
61
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice hotel, with awesome rooms and perfect central position. Good service and clean.
Special thanks to Marta that was very efficient and helped us during our stay with her good suggestions!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a lovely hotel...the room was very spacious with a fantastic bathtub! The hotel staff were so very friendly and accommodating to any requests we had. The best part was the breakfast (there was an additional fee for eating in the rooftop restaurant)...the weather was perfect and the views made the morning! I definitely recommend and I hope to one-day return myself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Jess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Dear Sir,

it is amazing to read on TripAdvisor that you would go back here again at UNA Hotel Palace, as our services' quality greatly fulfilled your expectations and you had a lovely stay, thanks to our our Etnea Roof terrace with stunning view and delicious Sicilian delicacies..

Besides, it is so pleasant to know that you also appreciated and noticed our team guest's oriented attitude, always attentive to your needs.This is one reason why travellers and visitors of all over the world chose to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in the UNA world.

Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This contemporary hotel is at the center of Catania. It was very breathe taking experience watching Etna while eating....
Parking was easy, room was very clean and foods were delicious. Hotel stuffs were very polite and friendly .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barboros71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed five nights at the UNA Palace and were very impressed with the high quality of the hotel and its staff. Our executive room was large and luxurious and afforded stunning views of the snow-capped Etna mountain from the balcony. Although this is primarily a business hotel, service was personal and friendly with very helpful and efficient staff who could not do enough for you. Rita (guest relations at reception) was exceptionally helpful and made our stay a pleasure. Our request for bathrobes was met instantly and staff in the breakfast room remembered our preferences (double expressos and bio yogurts) without having to ask. Service was like that of a five stars hotel with turndown service in the room in the evening and immaculate room keeping.
We did not try the breakfast at the Etnea Roof (charged at a supplement) as the ordinary breakfast on the first floor was so good with freshly squeezed orange juice, italian coffee, good bread and pastries and a vast choice of fresh fruit, yogurts, ham, cheese, etc, as well as cooked items.
The hotel location is perfect - midway up via Etnea and close to many restaurants, cafes, shops and the main tourist sights as well as the vibrant Feria o Lune street market.
The hotel should be ranked first in Catania as it provides superlative service, comfort, stunning views and the best location. We will stay there again if we visit Catania in future.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are worth the extra price as they are much bigger and luxurious and benefit from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for choosing to stay in our Italian design UNA hotel in Catania and sharing your superb experience with Tripdavisor ‘s travellers.

As you perceived during your stay, it is really important for us to make you feel very welcome and at your ease, so that you appreciated both our “made in Italy” hospitality and our services’ quality for our guests, who, like you, can also enjoy stunning locations, the city centre and its vibrant life, while staying in a relaxing, comfortable and pleasant “world” that you can experience in our hotel.

We look forward to having you and your husband here again as our kind guests and why not trying this time our delicious Etnea Roof breakfast, with amazing panoramic view and typical Sicilian delights prepared at the momnet by our chef de cuisine, such as the cannolo stuffed with fresh ricotta cheese or the “original arancino” i.e tasty fried rice ball with meat sauce or cuttlefish ink or the granita, flavoured ice with chocolate, almonds , fruit etc... served with the traditional briosche with "the hut".

With great pleasure, we invite you too to visit the other UNA Hotels in Rome, Milan, Venice, Florence, Neaples etc…discovering the Italian quality and beauties and for further info or suggestions, please feel free to contact me at anytime at the following email address:q.palace@unahotels.it.

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
QGuest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We liked this hotel very much. It is central, clean, stylish and serves a good breakfast.
We were in an executive room with nice view to Etna from our balcony. The room was big and beautifully furnished. We didn't mind the street noice, we are used to it in the middle of the city.The bathroom was spacy and luxurous ( separate shower and bath ). Minibar was free. The only thing I didn't like, was the bed, it was too hard. The breakfast was very good in Italian standards, fresh orange juice, sparkling wine and cappucino.
The reception was very friendly and helpful. We would definetly visit this hotel again while in Catania.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metteling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sir and Madame,
it is truly satisfied for us to read together with Tripadvisor’s travellers community, your very positive review about your enjoyable stay in our “made In Italy” hotel.

We are really glad that you noticed both the comfort and the elegant facilities of the Executive room and also appreciated our services and our staff helpful attitude, so that we were able to fulfil your expectations.

Here you find all the ingredients for a stylish stay that “fits you well “ and it is exactly for you and for all those travellers that like enjoying central location, tasty Italian food and exclusive ambiances.

Plenty of good reasons for coming here again and we look forward to having you too again, as our kind guests in the near future.

Very best regards

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

UNA hotel is right in the center of Catania, very fashonable yet with the local history touch. The reviews that this hotel has are justified, I would like to outline the staff which was very helpful with directions, recommendations and everything, especially Rita from front office. Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DanielMereuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir,
first thank you so much for providing your feedback not only in our internal customer’s satisfaction system but also here on Tripadvisor and sharing your fashionable and interesting experience with the travelers’ community, so that to highly justifying the other reviews, concerning our “made in Italy” UNA Hotel in Catania.

As per our chain’s philosophy, we propose to our guests an innovative concept of hospitality, full of details and attentions, quality services, exclusive locations and ambiances, so that you can enjoy a relaxing experience to remember when you come back home and why not to try again and go on with the discovery of the “beautiful Italy” thanks to UNA Hotels & Resorts.

It will be a great pleasure for all our team and I, to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing