We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We started staying here for one night and was very impressed with the rooms and the staff that were delightful. Unfortunately my husband had a cycling accident and ended up in hospital in Catania for 9 days and I stayed at Una Palace Hotel for the whole time. It was a very stressful time for me but when I arrived back at the hotel the staff were so helpful nothing was a trouble. Especially the beautiful Marta. Coming back from long days at the hospital it was so nice to come back and see her smiling face. Marta went above and beyond the good service that a hotel should provide she had a warmth that in my situation was a comfort. The breakfast was outstanding also. If we get back to Catania will definitely stay here again. Great location too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenKSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    599
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
290
666
61
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catania
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect, you can even book a garage if you come by car. The rooms are quiet, the beds good. The breakfast is very good und all the staff very friendly. Once more any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irmgard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islesford, Maine
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There are some reasonably priced rooms at UNA, but they are small and stuffy. In looking over their website and reading reviews we thought that we could make it work in a standard room. We toured the rooms with a very obliging staffer, and ended up taking the most expensive. You only get free wifi by paying for an upgrade, and you only get a reasonably sized and situated room with 'Executive'. In a hotel that sells itself as 'luxury' there are simply too may added expenses. Do not 'fall' for the fancy roof top breakfast, The breakfast that 'comes with' Executive ' rooms on the second floor is very good. Drinks on the rooftop lounge are good, as are the appetizers,. It's a young hip crowd, and a bit noisy. Parking is tough to find. THe hotel lot is the best idea, though also expensive.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade. Take a look at the room reserved before committing. Stay on a floor facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank painter04646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for providing us your feedback about your stay in our Italian design 4 stars hotel, that as per other website reviews and index approval has a great appeal for the worldwide travellers’ world because of wonderful and exclusive locations and high quality and guests oriented services. So that one of our staff members, understanding your preference for a bigger room than the classic room that you booked of 20 mq. proposed you our Upgrade formula “ il cielo in UNA stanza” i.e. “Seven heaven in your room”, including also additional benefits like unlimited Wifi access and free minibar.

We apologize for the misunderstanding occurred because in all our room’s types from the classic one to the suite, the continental buffet breakfast on the first floor is included and thank you for really appreciating it. Whereas the Etnea Roof breakfast on the seventh floor is a special service with a menù à la carte, during which, enjoying also a breathtaking view to the amazing Etna and the baroque city centre, you can taste typical Sicilian delights almost made at the moment by our chef de cuisine, both sweet and savoury such as the delicious “Cannolo” stuffed with fresh ricotta cheese, “Granite” i.e flavoured ices with almonds, chocolate etc… or even the original “Arancino” which is a fried rice ball with meat sauce o cuttlefish ink etc… Lots of specialities from traditional recipes, that let our guests beginning their day with the “ taste of Sicily” and all this just with a little supplement of 10.00€ per person.

We invite you to come here again for going on to be “your best idea” fulfilling more and more your expectations and please do not hesitate to contact me at the following email address: q.palace@unahotels.it for any additional info you may need and why not suggesting our special packages and offers including additional benefits and services.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got a very good price for our suite, large enough for the four of us. It had 1.5 baths and was laid out on two floors. We were treated to a welcome drink at the gorgeous rooftop bar with an amazing view over Catania. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, courteous, and friendly. The location is very central, just a short walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would recommend this hotel for: the helpful staff, gorgeous views of Etna, central location, excellent breakfast and Happy Hour buffet.
On the minus side: the hardest mattress I have ever slept on, paying extra to use the Steam Room/Turkish bath.
Tip: The breakfast on the First Floor is absolutely superb. There is no need to pay an extra €10 per head for the privilege of enjoying breakfast on the Etnea Roof Terrace. Have you breakfast and then go upstairs and admire the view, saving yourself some money in the process !

Room Tip: Check the mattress before agreeing to occupancy of the room - ours was harder than a bed of lava on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathandeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice hotel, with awesome rooms and perfect central position. Good service and clean.
Special thanks to Marta that was very efficient and helped us during our stay with her good suggestions!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a lovely hotel...the room was very spacious with a fantastic bathtub! The hotel staff were so very friendly and accommodating to any requests we had. The best part was the breakfast (there was an additional fee for eating in the rooftop restaurant)...the weather was perfect and the views made the morning! I definitely recommend and I hope to one-day return myself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Jess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 27 September 2015
Dear Sir,

it is amazing to read on TripAdvisor that you would go back here again at UNA Hotel Palace, as our services' quality greatly fulfilled your expectations and you had a lovely stay, thanks to our our Etnea Roof terrace with stunning view and delicious Sicilian delicacies..

Besides, it is so pleasant to know that you also appreciated and noticed our team guest's oriented attitude, always attentive to your needs.This is one reason why travellers and visitors of all over the world chose to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in the UNA world.

Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing