We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Central location”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the center of Catania on the main street. It is well maintained and nicely modernly decorated. Friendly staff at reception! There is a roof terrace and restaurant with a nice view. Comfortable rooms. I would return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Drupilodgingtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed with a tour group. Rooms are well appointed, very spacious. With view into a courtyard.
Bathroom facilities great. Wifi excellent. Roof Top bar overlooking Catania is fantastic as was the main restaurant and breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Catania.
Foyer and reception areas very luxurious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diasey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for providing us your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and sharing your wonderful group "UNA" experience with the huge TripAvisor's travelers community, mainly appreciating the quality of our services and our exclusive ambiances, such as our Etnea Roof top loacation, where our guests can spend delicious and unforgettable moments.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences so that you can recommend us to the others for their future enchanting stays in the baroque Catania city,
But, we look forward to welcoming you in the other "Made in Italy" UNA hotels as well.

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good size room and bathroom. Central position. No noise problems. Poor internet that you paid for by hourly increments. Above average restaurant on rooftop area that has a great view of Mt Etna. Free erg basic minibar that was included in our room rate.

Room Tip: The breakfast downstairs that is included is really good and you do not need to pay extra to have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Madame,
thank you for sharing your opinion about our centrally located hotel and considering it an oasis on Tripadvisor.
We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied, next time you will stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you soon in the UNA world,

Very best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest & Quality Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

UNA was a very updated and well appointed hotel. Located on the main shopping street in Catania, UNA is perfectly situated for shopping, dining and site seeing! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! The Internet policy is for 1 hour free, but that 1 hour is for your entire stay. That said, my husband requested additional Internet time and the hotel willingly obliged.
The breakfast buffet was wonderful and we really enjoyed making our own freshly squeezed orange juice.
Another thing that we appreciated was that the air conditioning worked perfectly AND they provided feather pillows immediately upon request! We felt UNA was a winner!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Madame and Sir,
first thank you so much for loving the time spent in our Made in Italy hotel and sharing your perfect experience with the Tripadvisor's community so that to consider “UNA a winner” because you found by us all the ingredients for an amazing stay, that is to say, great location, exclusive ambiances, an innovative hospitality full of details and attentions,

It is a great pleasure for us that we were able to fulfill your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at UNA Hotel Palace and also we invite you to visit the other hotels chain.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest & Quality Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was nice and the staff was super friendly. Clean and spacious. However, the Internet was crap and an extra cost. Upon checkout I explained this to the manager that it would randomly cut off and he would only offer a slight discount on the WiFi. He then questioned me as to why I did not inform the front desk each day. Seriously, the 12 Euro extra per day was more important to him that customer satisfaction.

Another down side was the carpet in the room. Many stains and very old.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you for posting on Tripadvisor your review, whose piece of information is important for us to monitor the service that we provide to our guests and improve. We read with pleasure that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff and you liked our spacious ambiances, as those ones of the higher room category, where you stayed in free upgrade as per our those days updated rooms’ availability, in order to let you spend more relaxing and enjoyable moments.

We apologize for the temporary WiFi slow connection, due to a sudden signal overcharge and contemporary consumption, that was solved by our informatics team and net supplier technical support, as soon as we know your feedback. We always take care of our guests and their needs, and please be sure that we do our best to fulfil your expectations, therefore, the front office manager asked you so, to let you know that, when something, sometimes, can not work properly for incoming factors, we immediately do some actions to make it work more than properly .
Besides, thank you for the carpet note and please be advised that it is made up of good quality fine materials and cyclically processed to special treatments, so that the spots resulting by the passing of time usage are going to be phased out in oreder to not damage the, as per our housekeeping dept. confirmation.

We invite you to come here in the near future, why not this time for a perfect stay with “rich internet”, as experienced by most of our guests and if you may need, please feel free to contact me at anytime and then it will be great pleasure to suggest you our special web packages with unlimited Wifi access and other additional benefits included, that will satisfy you more and more, because this is what really counts for us.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini

Guest and quality Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. The location is very good-central, very close to the Piazza Duomo. on the poshest shopping street of Catania, which is very safe. The hotel staff have also parked our car for us , as it was not easy to find a car park in the dark. Special upgraded Sicilian breakfast on the hotel terrace on the 7th floor is not to be missed-the view of Etna, selection of special breakfast treats and attentive staff-perfect!
Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the bar, I had a terrible Bellini there, it tasted like flat Fanta drink. Also it was fully occupied by the tourist group listening to their leader telling them about Sicilian pensions while other guests had to sit quietly in the corner. There were no bar snacks offered to us which we found weird. As it turned out all the snacks lied out and eaten by this large tourist group was for all bar visitors...but no one bothered to explain this.
There are two restaurants in the hotel but one turned out to be specifically reserved for groups only. And second restaurant doubles as the bar (and was already occupied by the tourist group!) . Due to this we opted to dine out.
Normal breakfast on the 1st floor was good, but again, the breakfast room was mostly occupied by the huge tourist group.
Overall it was a good experience, but I felt that the organized groups get priority here

Room Tip: top floors are better to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliacat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were on a shared tour of Sicily and the tour company booked us into the Hotel UNA in Catania for a few nights. This is a fairly modern place with a great location. There is a great view of Mt. Etna from the roof restaurant (you can go for photos without eating there). Unfortunately, our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The staff made an effort to clean it but there was always that lingering smell. The staff was also slow to do things like replace plastic water cups. This was a little odd for such an upscale place. Breakfast was excellent and included eggs, really good bacon, and pastries. Our tour group had a group dinner at the hotel that was less than impressive. The hotel was fairly skimpy on serving size and limited each diner to one glass of wine. Overall we were pleased with the hotel but some things could have been better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn_B_27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Madame,
thank you for your comments on this website. Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor, if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities, we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

We are really sorry for the incoming presence of smoke in your room that the cleaning staff tries to solve it as per your sensitive perception. If we had known that this inconvenience still persisted, we would have immediately changed your room during your stay, because we always take care of our guests' needs. We have taken note of your opinion and specific preference, for your next stay with us, where you can also have your own dinner, including the beverages that you like, so , of course, different from the agreed one of your tour group.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any info or assistance you may need and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Warmest regards from Sicily,

Rita Monfrini

Guests and quality Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
803 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
258 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 49 in Catania
640 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#6 of 49 in Catania
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £89 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing