We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been there for 3nights,what i should say all excellent. The location is the best.Staff excellent,food delicious so all in one word VISIT.It is very relaxing nd the hotel area is full of shops and restaurants,we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you have small children don't opt for duplex rooms s stairs are a bit danger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    583
    104
    15
    9
See reviews for
279
648
60
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the center of Catania on the main street. It is well maintained and nicely modernly decorated. Friendly staff at reception! There is a roof terrace and restaurant with a nice view. Comfortable rooms. I would return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drupilodgingtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed with a tour group. Rooms are well appointed, very spacious. With view into a courtyard.
Bathroom facilities great. Wifi excellent. Roof Top bar overlooking Catania is fantastic as was the main restaurant and breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Catania.
Foyer and reception areas very luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diasey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for providing us your positive feedback on Tripadvisor and sharing your wonderful group "UNA" experience with the huge TripAvisor's travelers community, mainly appreciating the quality of our services and our exclusive ambiances, such as our Etnea Roof top loacation, where our guests can spend delicious and unforgettable moments.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences so that you can recommend us to the others for their future enchanting stays in the baroque Catania city,
But, we look forward to welcoming you in the other "Made in Italy" UNA hotels as well.

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good size room and bathroom. Central position. No noise problems. Poor internet that you paid for by hourly increments. Above average restaurant on rooftop area that has a great view of Mt Etna. Free erg basic minibar that was included in our room rate.

Room Tip: The breakfast downstairs that is included is really good and you do not need to pay extra to have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Madame,
thank you for sharing your opinion about our centrally located hotel and considering it an oasis on Tripadvisor.
We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied, next time you will stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you soon in the UNA world,

Very best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest & Quality Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

UNA was a very updated and well appointed hotel. Located on the main shopping street in Catania, UNA is perfectly situated for shopping, dining and site seeing! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! The Internet policy is for 1 hour free, but that 1 hour is for your entire stay. That said, my husband requested additional Internet time and the hotel willingly obliged.
The breakfast buffet was wonderful and we really enjoyed making our own freshly squeezed orange juice.
Another thing that we appreciated was that the air conditioning worked perfectly AND they provided feather pillows immediately upon request! We felt UNA was a winner!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Madame and Sir,
first thank you so much for loving the time spent in our Made in Italy hotel and sharing your perfect experience with the Tripadvisor's community so that to consider “UNA a winner” because you found by us all the ingredients for an amazing stay, that is to say, great location, exclusive ambiances, an innovative hospitality full of details and attentions,

It is a great pleasure for us that we were able to fulfill your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at UNA Hotel Palace and also we invite you to visit the other hotels chain.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest & Quality Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was nice and the staff was super friendly. Clean and spacious. However, the Internet was crap and an extra cost. Upon checkout I explained this to the manager that it would randomly cut off and he would only offer a slight discount on the WiFi. He then questioned me as to why I did not inform the front desk each day. Seriously, the 12 Euro extra per day was more important to him that customer satisfaction.

Another down side was the carpet in the room. Many stains and very old.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for posting on Tripadvisor your review, whose piece of information is important for us to monitor the service that we provide to our guests and improve. We read with pleasure that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff and you liked our spacious ambiances, as those ones of the higher room category, where you stayed in free upgrade as per our those days updated rooms’ availability, in order to let you spend more relaxing and enjoyable moments.

We apologize for the temporary WiFi slow connection, due to a sudden signal overcharge and contemporary consumption, that was solved by our informatics team and net supplier technical support, as soon as we know your feedback. We always take care of our guests and their needs, and please be sure that we do our best to fulfil your expectations, therefore, the front office manager asked you so, to let you know that, when something, sometimes, can not work properly for incoming factors, we immediately do some actions to make it work more than properly .
Besides, thank you for the carpet note and please be advised that it is made up of good quality fine materials and cyclically processed to special treatments, so that the spots resulting by the passing of time usage are going to be phased out in oreder to not damage the, as per our housekeeping dept. confirmation.

We invite you to come here in the near future, why not this time for a perfect stay with “rich internet”, as experienced by most of our guests and if you may need, please feel free to contact me at anytime and then it will be great pleasure to suggest you our special web packages with unlimited Wifi access and other additional benefits included, that will satisfy you more and more, because this is what really counts for us.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini

Guest and quality Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. The location is very good-central, very close to the Piazza Duomo. on the poshest shopping street of Catania, which is very safe. The hotel staff have also parked our car for us , as it was not easy to find a car park in the dark. Special upgraded Sicilian breakfast on the hotel terrace on the 7th floor is not to be missed-the view of Etna, selection of special breakfast treats and attentive staff-perfect!
Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the bar, I had a terrible Bellini there, it tasted like flat Fanta drink. Also it was fully occupied by the tourist group listening to their leader telling them about Sicilian pensions while other guests had to sit quietly in the corner. There were no bar snacks offered to us which we found weird. As it turned out all the snacks lied out and eaten by this large tourist group was for all bar visitors...but no one bothered to explain this.
There are two restaurants in the hotel but one turned out to be specifically reserved for groups only. And second restaurant doubles as the bar (and was already occupied by the tourist group!) . Due to this we opted to dine out.
Normal breakfast on the 1st floor was good, but again, the breakfast room was mostly occupied by the huge tourist group.
Overall it was a good experience, but I felt that the organized groups get priority here

Room Tip: top floors are better to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliacat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking and TravelUp so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing