We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

UNA hotel is a great place to stay, all good reviews are accurate. We stayed
in a suite that was two levels, living room on the lower level with a toilet
and bedroom and full bathroom on the top level. Room had a balcony with views
of Etna and the town.
Mini fridge is nice to store your own drinks and picnic makings. The
breakfast is the usual buffet, mix of hot and cold items. We took
recommendations of other TA reviews and didn't pay extra for the breakfast on
the roof. One night before setting off to walk around we had drinks on the
roof. Really nice views as the suns sets. We had drinks but thought the
price was extremely high. We had planned to partake in the happy hour buffet,
until we found it was 10 Euros per person. We assumed it would be free as the
happy hour at our last UNA hotel in Venice was free.

There is a small local shop close by to buy water and other beverages, and a
large supermarket about 10-15 min walk. ( The beer and wine in the supermarket
is really cheap). If you find it's too late to go to any of the shops, you
can buy drinks at little stands/huts, just down from the hotel towards
McDonalds. You'll see this all over, the beer ones look like mini bars, you
can take away, or drink there. Local beer was 1 Euro.

Most important is the bus station, after a day or so in Catania you'll have to
find other places to go. The bus station is about a 20 min walk, make sure to
get good directions. You have to find the bus office to buy a ticket, then go
to the bus station. Old town Saracussa is worth a trip or two.

Just down from the hotel is Central Pizza, this is a must see. 2 guys work
here, one taking the orders and the other doing the cooking. Most expensive
pizza is 4.80 euro. Pizzas are cooked in a stone oven, taste great and you can't beat the price. If you can, get a seat
at the bar and watch.

Room Tip: If you can, pay for a upgrade with a balcony and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sir and Madame,
thank you very much for having chosen UNA Hotel Palace for your Sicilian vacations and for sharing your comments with the travellers' world and the other guests' positive reviews on TripAdvisor too.

We are delighted that you had a relaxing and friendly experience in our Italian style hotel. Our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations and you took advantage of our great central location and our overall services, so that you could enjoy the city but also the other important places in Sicily.

It would be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you our "Made In Italy" hospitality and guest-oriented services, for which we are known throughout the world.

We really hope that next time, you will chose to stay with us, you will succeed in trying also our Etnea Roof breakfast that even in the morning as the happy hour for the evening, gives you the opportunity to start your day with a selection of typical Sicilian sweet and savoury delights, such as, the delicious cannolo or the original Arancino.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and we invite also to stay in the other UNA Hotels & Resorts.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relations and UNA Hotel Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

It is a huge classy hotel. We were very happy with our welcoming and the room was very clean and nicely decorate but for the price we have paid, we would have expected a free WIFI access... 1,50 euro for half an hour... come on ! The same for the turkish bath ... not free.
Me and my husband decided to go to the top roof restaurant, the view is amazing: it overlooks Catania's town and you can see the ETNA really well. The restaurant was very classy too, prices very expensive ( 18euros for a tomato mozzarella) so we expected nice dishes. Finally we were very disappointed as the antipasti were extreamly expensives and not very nice: the tomato was not mature ( green) and not even nicely decorate in the plate. A real joke.
Our main dishes were nice but the price was definitly too high for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laetitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time in order to write your feedback about your stay in our hotel that has a great appeal for worldwide travellers, as per tripadvisor and other website reviews and index approval, especially for our high quality and guest oriented services.

We understand that your experience at our hotel is absolutely positive based on your comment which appreciates our welcome and rooms and hotel standard. On the other hand we are sorry you were disappointed about internet charge, which depends on room type choice, generally not included in classic standard room, although we are very flexible giving 1h free wifi, while all inclusive wi-fi and minibar for all other room type rate.

As per your experience in our Etnea Roof restaurant, we will absolutely take note of your opinion, which is highly important for us However, we would like inform you that our restaurant is one of the most renowned in Catania both for the courses' quality and service performance which justify our menu prices, absolutely reflecting same high level standard hotel restaurant in town.
A part from personal taste in terms of food, your comment, anyway, gives us the opportunity to continue to improve us in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you eat in our panoramic restaurant, maybe by choosing one of our menu offers which, for example, give our guest the opportunity to enjoy a meal and a breakfast in our Etnea roof.

We invite you to come here again in order to give us the opportunity to fulfil more and more your expectations and please do not hesitate to contact us for any additional info you may need and why not suggesting our special packages and offers including additional benefits and services.

Very best regards
Valentina Lanza
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a great stay in the Una Hotel palace. They were kind enough to upgrade our room. It was very comfortable. It is situated on Via Etnea which is the main thoroughfare so it is a relatively short walk to most attractions. The rooftop terrace has amazing views of Mount Etna. they do great cocktails also!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is pretty much the perfect location to base yourself to see Catania. You can walk to all the sites and there are plenty of good restaurants and shops in the adjoining streets. The Via S Filomena is just 2 minutes away and is a great place to go for dinner. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and we were most impressed with the efficiency in booking us in for a tour at short notice. I booked this hotel months earlier partially because of the glowing reviews about the rooftop breakfast location. It seemed like the arrangements had changed and the standard breakfast is now on the 1st floor and one has to book and pay extra for the rooftop. We did this one morning and the views and setting and breakfast were all very special but the standard buffet on the 1st floor is also very good. The room itself was a good size and well furnished with a good bathroom. A pillow menu was provided but the mattress was extraordinarily firm. I thought it might be too hard for a good night's sleep but it was not a problem and I have since found that very firm mattresses are the way they roll in Sicilian hotels. The one flaw of this hotel is its technology. 1 hour of wifi is provided for per day with a cumbersome system of a new password being provided by reception (what a waste of the staff and customers time). Then there are the two pcs in the lobby which require a different password again and are on dial up system (yes, dial up, in 2014). It took about 20 minutes to print out a boarding pass, what a pain. So 1 star has been deducted for the poor IT set-up, otherwise this is a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had a very nice stay at the Una Hotel. The entire hotel staff was very accommodating. The location was very convenient to the Duoma and the main square. Many restaurants and shops right there on the main street. Breakfast was very good, many items to choose from.
I would suggest to stay in the back of the hotel or in a quiet area because the hotel is on the main street and you hear cars, buses and people all night long.
Their computers in the lobby were terrible, emailing, connections etc. Very frustrating. Also, if you have to iron some clothes, the iron has no steam and shuts off and on at will, another frustating thing. The parking area is in the lower level of the hotel and very difficult to find, so make sure you get good directions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecastlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a very good and well located hotel, with the beautiful Piazza del Duomo a short walk in one direction and a view to Etna in the other. However the real star of this hotel is its staff. Rita did a magnificent job as a translator/mediator with a car rental problem we had and Marta and the other staff at Reception are also highly professional and charming. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is an absolute delight, with excellent staff once again. I cannot understand those who say that this isn't worth the extra money. The Sicilian dishes are beautiful, and eating lovely food served by a charming woman on a pretty terrace looking directly at Etna is a great way to start the day. The Happy Hour in the Etna Roof Bar in the evening is also enchanting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargotParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been there for 3nights,what i should say all excellent. The location is the best.Staff excellent,food delicious so all in one word VISIT.It is very relaxing nd the hotel area is full of shops and restaurants,we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: If you have small children don't opt for duplex rooms s stairs are a bit danger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
262 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
519 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 49 in Catania
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £88 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing