We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but poor breakfast experience”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central location but poor breakfast experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked this place for one night due to its central location and the inclusion in its executive rate of a breakfast.

PROS : Clean and central. The executive room we booked was nicely designed and the bathroom spacious and luxurious. We appreciated the balcony with a view of the main street and Mount Etna. The rooftop bar was a pleasant place to unwind in to have a quiet drink at the end of a long day. Taxis to the airport arrive within minutes to the hotel (booked by the receptionist) and are only 20 Euro (fixed rate). It takes only half an hour to the airport.

CONS :

1. The UNA Palace website fails to mention that there is a bus stop right outside it. We were stuck at the railway station and there were no taxis around yet we were right next to a huge bus station. When a taxi did arrive we were charged 20 euro to travel for 3 minutes. A bit excessive! On getting out of the taxi we noticed a bus stop near to the hotel entrance and many buses going down this road. This information should be placed on the hotel website.
2. Checking in . My online booking receipt did not mention the checking in time, nor does the website. We arrived at noon (two hours early) and were asked to dump our luggage in the public space next to the receptionist desk and they would be taken to our rooms for us. We asked them (twice) to put them behind the desk so that they would be safe and were assured that they would be. They did not do this. The cases were in the public area when we returned from lunch in the city and we took them to the rooms ourselves. If something had been stolen, who would have been responsible? There needs to be better provision for people who check in early considering their check in information is not made clear.
3. The breakfast on the first floor is only bearable if you are fond of white rolls, American coffee, pastries and unhealthy boxes of processed cereals. Personally I love a hot breakfast with well made omelettes . There was a hot food area in the breakfast buffet section which offered a tureen of limp unhealthy processed meats next to a container of neon yellow (!) sludge and another container of processed frankfurters and overly smoked, extremely fatty bacon. Next to this was a bowl of dry tasting hard boiled eggs. I have to say, I was hugely disappointed by this offering and did not feel set up for the day. As someone who avoids wheat, I had to make do with yoghurt and fruit because the neon yellow sludge was inedible as were the hard boiled eggs. What on earth do they add to the sludge to make it that alarmingly neon yellow colour, I wonder?
4. The Rooftop bar terrace limitations : We would have liked to have sat outside for our evening drink but unfortunately, as is so often the case, the outside area was mainly taken up by smokers, and the area was unbearably smoke-infested. We poor oppressed non-smokers often have to retreat indoors because of this. It is a great shame that people with asthma or who are pregnant cannot enjoy the evening fresh air on the rooftop in the hotel area and smokers (indulged by hotel policy) are allowed to rule the roost. Smoke does not dissipate easily (if at all) in a small open space on hot, stuffy nights!

This hotel has a lot of potential. If it works on improving on its website information, check in procedure, and the quality of its cooked breakfast on the first floor then it would be a more pleasant experience for guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bow B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you first for considering our hotel with a lot of potential and for your advices as well your detailed feedback, which represents a source of information helping us to monitor the service’s quality that we provide to our guests, who, as you noticed, can enjoy and well stylish design rooms and exclusive locations, like our panoramic Etnea Roof garden.

At the same time, we are really sorry to read that you did not like our continental buffet breakfast, whose fresh variety of sweet and savoury products, is well appreciated but our guests, but it depends on personal tastes and preferences and as you said you love more hot breakfast. And for guests like you who have this preference we usually suggest our Etnea Roof breakfast, where only with a little supplement you can also eat and enjoy typical Sicilian specialities from a menù à la carte, which are made at the moment by our chef the cuisine.
Concerning your web site reservation we invite next time that will have the pleasure to host you to book directly on our website where you will find and get all the details and info that you need about check in time, transportation, connections, tours, external city services because there is a special section through which you can contact us directly and we will be happy to assist and reply to your requests and answer to all your doubts.

Our main priority is to satisfy our guests needs as per your preferences and we really apologize if during a huge concentration of demand probably due to only a misunderstanding you bags were kept apart behind front desk area anyway well controlled because there are cams and monitors but of course it would have been suitable to find then inside your room as always, that is why we have already talked to the personnel on duty for luggage moving and delivery.

We were pleased that you pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments give us the opportunity to continue to improve our services
in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose to stay at UNA Hotel Palace.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    625
    109
    16
    10
See reviews for
307
719
64
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Probably the only luxury hotel option in CTA.

Positives:
1) Location
2) Staff
3) Breakfast
4) Rooftop view
5) Value

Negatives:
1) Bathroom layout was a little cramped (normal for Europe)
2) Most uncomfortable bed I've ever experienced. Despite the 'pillow menu' - absolute pain.
3) While the view was a 10/10, the food on the rooftop was awful.

Overall, despite the uncomfortable bed, I'd give them a B+/A-.

Would return.

Room Tip: Get a room w/ an Etna view. I think they call these Executive Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinaia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very good location exacly in the center, on the shooping street and also very good breakfast, disappointing that you have to pay for the wi fi in the room.
Their parking car it s very expensive, but there is a public parking right in front of the hotel at 0.75 eur per hour

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rebeca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We took the "free mini bar and WiFi package " and it was worth it - the mini bar was restocked every day and we used the water on our daily trips. Staff was friendly and help full and attentive. Breakfast is good with only one drawback - awful coffee which in Italy is a crime .....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb100002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Una on our flight nights in and out of Sicily. We had pre-booked the rooms well in advance and so received the usual punishment for doing so (£100 each night). The hotel is certainly style over substance and once the veneer is chipped off (Rather flaky), it becomes quite apparent that 4-star is not the order of the day.
Our first room was an 'upgrade' (Upgrade is usually the term used for poor rooms), as we had paid for a triple room and received a double bed for adults and a pull out sofa for my child. We were also directly under the 'gym' (Not a gym but a bike, running machine and 'multi-gym' - garbage).
We decided to eat and so sauntered up to the roof to try and grab a bite - Utterly rude staff and prices that were literally through the roof did not impress so we made an exit and went out onto the main street to grab a bite at a local eatery (We did and we enjoyed - Etna Rosso).
We went back and the lights would not go out and kept flickering all night. We slept on awful beds and left in the morning after a truly shocking buffet breakfast to venture to Gioiosa Marea.

Our second stay for our return journey was equally as disappointing and in fact even more so as the room stank and had stains all over the floor....Again we had the pull out sofa for our child....Awful when we had expressly paid for a triple room.....

I was hoping for more out of a '4-star' hotel but sadly it was not to be.....It was also our son's first holiday abroad and so this shed an even more disappointing light on things....

Room Tip: A different hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It is trough constructive criticism that we can take corrective actions to fulfil more and more your expectations.

We take care of your opinion and the level of service we offer to our guests is of utmost importance to us. That is why in our Italian design hotel, whose style can be liked or not, it depends on personal tastes, you find exclusive locations and bright ambiances, which are always very appreciated by our guests. So believe us that we are really surprised to read your words especially for the Etnea Roof terrace with amazing panoramic view and our American bar and renowned restaurant, with glamour ambiance and delicious “Made in Sicily” delights and courses.

Concerning your staff perception at the terrace, we ensure you that this does not reflect our standard and that we will follow up the situation with our team if necessary. At the same time, we understood that probably being our exclusive location, very crowded with lot’s of internal and external guests, during a sudden moment of “crowd excitement” as the personnel was busy with the others, you preferred going to somewhere else that you know better than ours, instead of waiting for the first colleague available for you, providing all the attentions that all our team usually gives to all our guests.

Moreover, we have also checked with the housekeeping dept. your mentioned points and be sure that in your free upgrade room, a higher room’s category and bigger than your booked classic room, the carpet was cleaned and the spots area is only the result of its clear material consumption. On this matter anyway, please be advised that its substitution is already planned and at the same time we are sorry if during your night stay you felt a different smell coming from the external central city area were they were working for public works on the municipal water and sanitary system.

We apologise for all the points that did not reflect in any way the service we would like to provide to you as our valued customer. We understand that this for you and the travel to Sicily had to be more than a superb experience especially for your child. We usually are very appreciated by family as we offers services for the oldest and the tiniest.
We really hope you will come here again for another longer experience and in the meantime please we stay at your disposal for any info you may need and why not, personally addressing and meeting you to the best room’s type choice for all your family providing the stay that fits you very well.

Best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation & UNa Hotel Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Be careful when booking through their website. If you refresh the page the date always goes back to the current date rather than the date you already selected. We were caught out by this. After arriving and learning about the mistake we explained that it was a genuine mistake and that the reservation had been placed at 10 pm the previous night. We were still asked to pay 50% of the rooms we had booked plus paying for the rooms we then occupied after arriving. A very expensive stay at a very ordinary hotel .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sir ,
every time we receive a feedback especially if it is the one that we usually get from our guests, we immediately investigate in order to find out the reason of it.

Then, after checking in details, we read with a certain surprising interest your review and we are really sorry that even though the colleagues’ attentions that you got expressively for you case, at the end, there is still your promised not positive review, and so we would like to point out some elements that are fundamental for us in order to reconstruct the unusual event, both for you and the other travellers.

We are really sorry if you exceptionally experienced difficulties during you three rooms web reservations, booking and confirming a wrong arrival date, but unfortunately without getting contextually neither an email for your booking mistake nor a demand for changing your 03 rooms and of course they were duly kept for you even with full occupancy and due to your no-shows, they stayed empty and not sold, definitely already in total penalty.Anyway during your postponed stay a solution was found and you agreed with the colleague for the 50% per cent no show payment, also they applied to you an additional discount of 40.00€ for the parking so that saving more and reducing even the penalty for one of your three booked rooms.
To tell the truth, we thought that you would not been kept your “promise” of publishing such a review on TripAdvisor for which our hotel Management is going to ask for a reliable cancellation.

In the meantime, we stay at your disposal for any additional info or clarification you may need and please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime and I hope will have the chance to meet each other the next time, you stay with us.

Best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relations & UNA Hotel Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent position, in the city Center. Easy access, beautiful view from the roof Restaurant. Rooms are well furnished, but unfortunately no LED TV. We had the sicilian breakfast on the roof top, magnificent view of the Etna and of Catania city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
776 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
544 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing