We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Principe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Liberty Hotel(Catania)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal(Catania)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
459
427
139
59
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
427
139
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationnice hotelexcellent locationthe hotel staffnoisy at nightpiazza duomopastriesthe main squarestandard roomstayed two nightsrental carvia etneathe heart of the cityfish marketthe air conditioningbuffet breakfastwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the Principe hotel for 4 nights and had a very good time. The people at the reception desk always try to do their utmost to please their customers. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations on restaurants in the surroundings as well or get tours organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Europeantraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

For our last night in Sicily, facing an early-morning flight to Rome, I chose Il Principe Hotel because I wanted to squeeze in an early evening "passeggiata" in downtown Catania as a last bit of tourism in our very tight five-day swing through southeastern Sicily. The choice turned out to be perfect. First of all, location: The hotel is situated just a couple of blocks - a few minutes - from the magnificent baroque Duomo and its piazza; the area is partially pedestrianized at night; and there is a wide selection of restaurants nearby. As for the airport, in early morning light traffic, it was only half an hour away. Second: the hotel itself is excellent, professionally run as well as very comfortable. Although it is centrally located, Il Principe is set back slightly from a busy small street, at the foot of a broad stair-street, so it is quiet (although we didn't need quiet since we spent just a few hours there given our early-morning departure). Our room was at the rear in an area that has been carved out of a neighboring building, so access was a little complicated, involving a ramp and stairs - not good for someone with mobility issues - but the room itself was very pleasant and elegantly furnished, with a comfortable, well-designed bathroom. Our travelling companions had an even better room in the main building, facing the street, with a large bathroom and tub (Room No. 201). Our rental car was valet-parked and positioned so we could leave at 5 am without any problem the next morning. Overall I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone wanting to spend time in downtown Catania: judging by what we saw in our short time there, we definitely plan to give the city more than just a few hours the next time we're in Sicily, and would definitely try to stay at Il Principe Hotel. As for the booking process: I contacted the hotel directly online after researching choices through TripAdvisor, and received an immediate, courteous response in English with a good price. To our delight, the final price we paid on checkout was slightly lower than that we had been quote: it came in under 100 euros per night per room. My ONLY complaint has nothing to do with the hotel: we were driving, and it is very hard to make your way from the autostrada to central Catania and the hotel. I was the designated driver because I speak Italian and have great eyesight for the miniscule signs that point - more or less - to the center if they are not pasted over with advertising. Thankfully, at a certain point we picked up signs for the hotel itself; otherwise it would have been very difficult to find, given the maze of one-way streets, lack of clear signage, and swarming traffic in the old city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sybil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for the review!
We always do our best to guarantee to all of our guests the most pleasant stay.
Our location is ideal for visiting the city of Catania on foot (the best way) and as starting point for organized excursions discovering the beauties of the surrounding: Mount Etna (the highest active volcano in Europe), Taormina and many other destinations.
Our young team is made of special individuals all working together for a common goal: to take exceptional care of you!
As you well said, book directly with the hotel reservation department is the best way to find the lowest price and it is very easy, quick and safe.
I really hope that you will come back for visit us again.
I’ll be glad to welcoming you personally with a special drink.
Sincerely

Marco De Pinto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were a party of three and took a suite in mid-October for two nights. The service, the room and the breakfast were good. The place is a little bit difficult to find if you go on your own, so it is better to take a taxi to arrive there, but it is well located in the center of the old city.
I would highly recommend this hotel for families on vacation
Octavio-M

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I'm writing this while staying at the hotel, such is the need to put the experience in to words. We booked a suite with a view over the church, as we're on honeymoon and this would be fitting. We have been given one overlooking a service entrance and then were given short shrift when questioning this at reception. No bathrobes, extra pillows or water in the room which required not only a visit to reception but also several follow-up phone calls to rectify.
Seem to cater to the well-heeled while well-dressed set - turn up with a fortune in jeans and the service will be downgraded accordingly...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southsidestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear guest,
I'm very sorry for the not positive experience during your stay at Il Principe Hotel.
We take care of all our guests from the first contact till the departure.
Regarding the room, I assure that all the suites have bathrobes, extra pillows and obviously water and, in the rare cases of oversights, our staff is ready to re place it at all time.
Probably in this case something didn't work and I apologize with you.
I hope you'll come back to visit us soon.
Regards

Marco De Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you are visiting Cantania, Sicily, then you must stay at the Hotel, Il Principe, its one of the best hotel's in Catania. I booked this hotel from reading reviews on the trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. Beautiful hotel-really lovely decor and furnishings, rooms were comfortable, clean with a great sized bathroom. Our room overlooked the one of the old churches in Catania and it was lovely hearing the church bells ring. The hotel is located on via Alessia, which is around the corner from the Duomo Piazza, its also about 5 mins walking distance to via Etnea-where all the shops are located-the shopping on via etnea was great, we found some excellent bargains. Giovanna at reception is so lovely-she was helpful, friendly and always greeted us with a smile. From Catania, Giovanna helped us organise a tour to Siracusa and mount Etna-which are a must! Ask for Marco-he was our private tour guide-he was fantastic-very knowledgable about his Ancient Greek and Roman history-he made our tour of Siracusa and Mount Etna fun-he is also a really great guy who we developed a friendship with. Giovanna was also fantasic in helping us organise transfers around sicily. Breakfast at Il Principe was ample and fresh, the coffee was great. The Bar in the Hotel had some great snacks and drinks if you are feeling peckish. We also recommend the trattoria outside the hotel, just up the stairs from IL principe-the best food in Sicily-seafood was fresh and typified sicilian cuisine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 112Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews