We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Mater
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you don't expect a five star hotel for the price you are paying (full payment in advance is cheaper!) this place is just fine! Breakfast was okay, room was fine, and the hotel has free parking (though you might have to leave your car keys at the reception so they can move cars around to fit everyone). Staff was very friendly.
Just don't try to find the place without a GPS. Absolutely impossible, I would say.

Good place to spend a night if you arrive on a late flight and want to move on the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gizmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    72
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
54
65
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I booked this hotel trough the Internet for a week. Me and my family found it good overall. There are some things that need to be better. For example, there isn't any small fridge in the room. We have a toddler and we needed a small fridge to put some milk and dessert in it and we had to go downstairs at the Reception to bring and put things in their fridge. But overall it isn't that bad. Our room was with sea-views, air conditioned, with own bathroom, TV, good breakfast, the room will be cleaned with fresh linen and towels every morning...etc Staff is great and very helpful. Apart from all of this, the most important thing was that the hotel have it's own parking inside. Can't pretend better for it's price! Very Worth it!!

Room Tip: This hotel is good if you need a room just to sleep in and hold things in your room. You can even en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toyo541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittoriosa, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

For a two star hotel the hotel was good for the money paid. A good breakfast, nice staff, room 56 was spacious and the air condition was very good. The three things that I can complain on are that we had the toilet seat broken but the staff replaced it, the view is not nice and in the evening you cannot have a drink because there is no bar

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina19324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We choose this hotel for the very good price and the private parking it offers.
The location is not central but it is very easy to reach the city center.
We enjoyed the calm of the place and the very frenfly service

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked this hotel, despite many destination experts saying we could get a better location than this. We needed car parking and we were using Catania as a base for exploring the east, so my gut feeling was that this will suit us well. I am glad we chose this place as getting to the highways from here was very easy. Yes, there is nowhere to eat around here, but Catania city centre is only 30 minutes away at worst. The staff were very helpful. They helped us so many times by making calls for us for Etna excursions and even took calls from them on our behalf and passed on the message, despite not speaking very good english. One night staff man spoke very good english and he was also very helpful. Italian breakfast is basic and we found, with that in mind, this place had the best breakfast among the 3 places we stayed in Sicily. At least there was a good choice of bakery items, some cheese and salami and very good coffee, cereals and juices. We didn't get this much choice anywhere else in our stay. And for what we paid, this was the best value for money! We even had views of Mt. Etna from our room!

Room Tip: Ask for double room else you get a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spent 1 night in this hotel and everything was OK. Helpful staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, free parking, although not central it is easy to go to the centre. I surely recommend this hotel as it very good for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josefcachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balestrate, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Room was clean, hotel staff helpful, not central to attractions, you need a car or take a bus to the city center. Shower small and fan was very noisy. Parking was free. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Zeus Residence Hotel
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#21 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#30 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#48 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Hotel Ognina Catania
Hotel Ognina Catania
#36 of 50 in Catania
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Hotel Residence La Palma
#40 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mater

Property: Villa Mater
Address: Via Vittorio Bottego 10, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Mater 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Mater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mater Hotel Catania
Mater Hotel Catania
Villa Mater Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing